Scenic Allure is a secluded home that's close to numerous wineries and just a mile to the river. The house boasts beautiful and private forest views yet basks in the sun as its situated in a clearing near the top of a hill. If you're looking for an affordable wine country and river getaway, Scenic Allure is an excellent choice!
Besides being stylishly furnished, the floor to ceiling windows make this living room bright and cheery while the patina on the open beam wooden ceilings and wood/iron furniture remind you of that old world charm.
The comfy living room with the large, overstuffed sofa and cozy gas "wood" stove, also sports a flat-screen TV, Blu-ray/DVD player, wireless internet and an iPhone/iPod docking station with cd player and radio.
The dining area is conveniently situated between the kitchen and living room, giving the house an airy, open feel and making for a lively dining spot for socializing and playing games.
The kitchen is fully stocked and well laid out, with plenty of room for a few cooks. The crank-out windows allows for food pass-through to the deck for barbequing on the charcoal grill and outdoor dining.
The front patio offers another area for outdoor dining, socializing and relaxation while enjoying the trees and the herb garden. A perfect spot to reflect and sip morning coffee or tea.
A luxurious spa experience awaits you under the quiet, starry skies to relax the muscles at the end of a fun-filled day in this large hot tub with its surrounding redwood privacy fence.
The richly decorated master bedroom is spacious with a queen size bed, vaulted open beam ceiling and surround of windows that look out to the trees and beyond, yet the room still has a cozy feeling with its gas "wood" stove and warm colors. There is a full bath en suite. The second bedroom has a full size bed, and bold decor, as well as easy access to a second full bathroom. There is no sofabed, so Scenic Allure sleeps 4 total.
2 bed/2 bath
1 queen bed, 1 full/double bed
2 full baths
2 sunny decks
gas "wood" log stoves
stainless steel appliances
skylights and huge picture windows
close to dozens of wineries
very quiet location
automatic coffee maker
unlimited domestic long distance phone
satellite HDTV w/ HBO
iPod/iPhone CD Player/Radio
iPod/iPhone Alarm Clock
iron and ironing board
one mile to river beaches
dozens of wineries
2 person kayak
3 person canoe
PRICING & AVAILABILITY DETAILS:
- Pricing does not include 11% Sonoma County Tax. Please inquire and we will provide you with the appropriate quote (including all fees & tax).
- Calendar is unfortunately not up to date so please message me regarding availability.
- One week minimum during high-season (Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day weekend) & holidays.
PLEASE NOTE THAT WE HAVE A ONE WEEK MINIMUM IN THE SUMMER AND MAY NOT BE ABLE TO RESPOND TO REQUESTS FOR SHORT STAYS DURING THAT TIME.
Other Things to Note
Watercraft available and river access possible only seasonally depending on river levels, which is beyond our control.
No outside noise from 10 pm-9 am per Sonoma County Vacation Rental Ordinance.
I wavered between a 2 and a 3 star review. Not everything can be perfect, that's just a part of life, so how you deal with issues matters a lot! Based on the lack of support from the host, I then had no choice but to give 2 stars. Here are the positives: * The place is really cozy and charming * The two fireplaces are cozy * The wood trim all over gives a warm ski house feel * There road up to the house from the main road is quaint. It's up big hill on a winding, narrow, steep trail with trees all around. Makes you feel like you're a million miles away SF! * Russian River Pub is a mile and a half away, has good food and drinks * There are so many wineries closeby, with a handful of them within 5 miles. Korbel is great, and less than 5 miles away * The Forestville area as a whole is idyllic. It definitely feels like a trip off the beaten path. Great experiences at the smaller wineries, as compared to the busier parts of Sonoma county * Downtown Healdsburg is super cute and less than 10 miles away Here are avoidable negatives: * The WiFi didn't work. Yes yes, I know, you don't come to a get away property for internet. But we were planning to Chromecast something, and specifically booked this place over a cheaper place because it had WiFi and a TV with a USB port. So when you pay for something, you expect it to work * The combination lock to the hot tub would not open * Both of these issues could have been addressed by an eager host. I would not expect hotel quality service at an Airbnb house, but I also wouldn't expect apathy. Like I said earlier, stuff happens, but it's how you deal with it that matters. Getting a text saying "Please only use this number for emergencies. Thanks for understanding." when you have no other number to call doesn't help. Neither does not getting a response when you text "XXXX for the hot tub? It is not working" Here are some downsides that can't be changed, but potential guests should know about: * There are neighbors -- it's not completely secluded * The hot tub is not entirely enclosed. It's in the front yard about 10 feet away from the house and has a partial fence * There are lots of little bugs! Don't be surprised if you wake up itching in the middle of the night * The junior bedroom does not have complete privacy. The path to the main bedroom goes past the junior bedroom and there is only a divider separation Overall, this is a good place. If you don't run into the issues I had, you might even say it is a great place. But I did experience those issues, and they were not addressed, so I would describe mine as an unsatisfying...
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I just wanted to take a moment to clear up a couple of things.
I'm sorry that your stay wasn't quite perfect. We're always happy to help as we want you to have a great vacation. However, we're not available around the clock unless it's an emergency. For example, the hot tub combo that you texted the emergency number for was both emailed to you in the directions we sent prior to your arrival and also in the in-house guest handbook. Despite that, we texted it to you again, and also sent a gentle reminder that the after-hours/emergency number was for emergency purposes - since we had received numerous texts from you up until that point. Our business line is the way we should be contacted during the day.
Our houses are also professionally inspected prior to guest arrival, and there wasn't any evidence of bugs before or after you stayed. There also hasn't been any other guests that have had a similar experience. That said, the homes aren't impervious to insects and we are in very forested and rural area.
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the house and neighborhood overall though. Like you outlined, it has quite a number of wonderful features.
The house was as expected, 5min car drive away from the river. The mattresses were not comfortable, but that's maybe personal preference.
Scenic Allure was a perfect weekend stay for two couples. It's tucked away in the woods about a 5 minute drive up a hill from the Russian River, and it has a little patio and two decks. The kitchen is very well stocked, and after a bit of a drive to get there, the hot tub, ready and the perfect temperature, was divine. One of the bedrooms has more privacy, but both have a bathroom and are very comfortable. A great place to stay!
Although the neighbors were a little closer than I expected it was fairly quiet neighborhood, occasional traffic. The house was enjoyable, decks off both bedrooms made it a good place to sit and relax. I loved all the light throughout the house. The kitchen was very well stocked, although a little short on paper products throughout the house. The store is a short drive for groceries and supplies. Convenient location to river activities and area highlights.
Lovely spot! Welcome bottle of wine waiting in the fridge. Hot Tub was clean and ready for us and we used it everyday! Very peaceful spot in the trees. You are not walking distance to anything really, but its nice that way. BYO Truck or SUV if you wish to use the kayak and canoe. Slight glitch with the cleaning service as it didn't seem they had finished preparing for our arrival. (Master Bedroom not made up and pile of towels in bathroom) but we let them know about it right away and just finished the laundry ourselves. They refunded our cleaning fee as a result. We were satisfied with that.
This is a great house in a beautiful, secluded location. The please is clean and modern and the private outdoor hottub under the stars is definitely the best feature.
The layout is a little funky, as you have to walk through one bedroom to get to the master, but there's a screen for privacy.
The internet did not function at all, which was a problem for me since I had planned to do some work while there, so beware of that.
Overall it's a great place to stay.
Star was very prompt in booking. The layout of the property is awesome; however, you will not find the river in walking distance. You will have to have a SUV to get the canoe and kayak about a good half mile down the mountain. There isn't any AC so be sure to leave all doors and windows shut early on and through the day or you will burn up. Definitely needs some yard work done had to weed whack my way to the hot tub, but the view of the stars at night is amazing. The patio are is very nice and I liked the fact that there is a deck of off each room. The back bedroom is pretty sound from the front of the house so sleeping in is certainly not a problem. All in all I enjoyed it just wasn't exactly what I thought by the listing.
This host has 117 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews