About this listing
Hidden Haven is the best of both worlds: only a short walk away from beautiful river beaches, yet so private and quiet that it feels a world away. Located at the end of a one-lane forest road, it's a beautiful house in a breathtaking setting, with all the comforts you'll desire. Two (2) kayaks and gear available for no extra charge.
With brand-new bamboo floors, comfortable furniture, and that toasty wood-burning stove, you might just want to spend all your time right here. Especially if you have a laptop, as this house has wireless internet access. That's the kitchen in the back; the dining area is out of sight on the right, and the tv/stereo are to the left. Just visible at the right is a bathroom with a lovely shower.
Both bedrooms are on the bottom floor, so they stay cool in the summer, which you will definitely appreciate. This one is a full, and the other is a queen. You'll find high-quality linens and down comforters on both beds. People sleep very well here. There's also an aerobed for the living room, so Hidden Haven sleeps 6.
two (2) kayaks and gear - ask for details
two bedrooms, one full and one queen
air mattress (in closet)
two bathrooms, one with jacuzzi tub, one with shower
5-minute walk to river/beach
large hot tub
comfortable, high-quality outdoor furniture
cable TV in living room and downstairs sitting room
VCR and DVD player
Stereo with CD player in living room
High-speed cable Wireless Internet: 802.11 standard, compatible with PCs with wireless network card and Mac Airport; can also plug in standard network cable
full kitchen with microwave, blender, coffee grinder, coffee maker,
your well-behaved dog is welcome
PRICING & AVAILABILITY DETAILS:
- Pricing does not include 11% Sonoma County Tax. Please inquire and we will provide you with the appropriate quote (including all fees & tax).
- Calendar is unfortunately not up to date so please message me regarding availability.
- One week minimum during high-season (Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day weekend) & holidays.
PLEASE NOTE THAT WE HAVE A ONE WEEK MINIMUM IN THE SUMMER AND MAY NOT BE ABLE TO RESPOND TO REQUESTS FOR SHORT STAYS DURING THAT TIME.
Other Things to Note
Watercraft available and river access possible only seasonally depending on river levels, which is beyond our control.
No outside noise between 10 pm-9 am per Sonoma County Vacation Rental Ordinance.
I’m a long time Airbnb user but this has been the toughest review for me. Both because the location and area are so amazingly beautiful, but because that vision and experience doesn’t line up with how my family and I were disappointed during a week long stay.
When we arrived we noticed quite a few things, many positive! The location is beautiful, tucked up a single lane “hideaway” road. You are IN the woods off a main road. The deck’s are amazing, and the mornings are so nice. It’s a skip away from local towns and endless wineries, not to mention a quick drive to the coast. These are big perks.
But we also noticed many small and compounding negative things:
First, the home felt un-lived in. We walked through a few cobwebs and the skylights were caked in dirt. The faucet and tub fixtures weren’t attached to the counter or tub downstairs. The wine glass closest was dust filled.
We noticed multiple plates that were chipped or cracked. One of the couch arms was broken. Many of the windows seemed untouched in a while. The “brand new” floors are entirely scuffed and marked all over the place.
Sleeping 6 comfortably isn’t entirely true, unless the 5/6 people are children, as the aero bed is at most a full and more likely a bit smaller than a full. Very uncomfortable for adults. I know from direct experience.
And finally, a “deal breaker” for this trip was making sure some of us could work remotely a few days during the stay. To ensure we had fast internet, we asked *before* booking and were told the property gets 40-60M speeds. A direct response from the host on this specific request: great news! We booked it.
But, upon arrival we saw it was actually 20M. In other words, ok for web browsing but video meetings were not possible. When I asked the host about this directly, they gave a formulaic response, saying it could be radio wave interference.
In the end we were disappointed in the host communication and comfort and condition of this property. We documented these issues to Airbnb in photos and requested a partial refund. The host company promptly denied the request and has not been in touch. Airbnb also provided ample apologies.
As a long time Airbnb patron, I always expect truthfulness in photos and descriptions, especially for the large investment that is a week long vacation stay. In this case, the experience fell short.
As a host, we hate ever having to leave a negative comment about our usually wonderful guests, but we were very surprised by Chris' behavior. The day after Chris arrived, we received this message:
"We noticed a note that said the couch bed is no longer working, and to use the aero bed in storage for the 5/6th family member. I also see the listing is now updated noting the aero bed and not the couch bed, something that was *not* previously written. We also weren't notified of the switch before arriving! Given that we've spent close to $2,000 for our stay, that's unacceptable! What can you do for a replacement third bed this week? Finally, before confirming our reservation I had a very direct question about the internet speed. Star said, '... it was 40-60M download speed... These are very attentive homeowners who take great care of the place and provide good amenities.' Upon checking this evening the internet maxes out at 20M download."
After receiving Chris' email, we explained that the Airbnb ad was unchanged; the sofa-bed had been inoperable long before we started advertising on Airbnb, and that it's always been advertised with an aerobed. We also told him that during the homeowner's experience at the house, the owner got 40-60Mps during his last stay (which Chris conveniently omitted from his quote). We explained that it's impossible to guarantee a specific speed for a guest as there are so many factors involved such as the distance to the router (speed slows as the WiFi signal gets weaker), radio interference, device being used, etc. After our reply we didn't hear from Chris again during his stay.
After Chris' departure, we received a request via Airbnb for a $500 refund for slow internet and cleaning issues that contained pictures of a scuffed floor, the end of a shower curtain rod, a skylight, and a couple of other insignificant items that wouldn't have impacted his stay. Chris didn't contact us about any cleaning issues during his stay nor did he respond to our response to his email about the WiFi. The house was cleaned by an independent contractor and inspected by one of our staff prior to his arrival. If the issues Chris deemed were so serious ($500 worth of issues), it's perplexing why he wouldn't contact us to receive assistance, but rather wait until he checked out to file a dispute demanding a refund.
We loved staying here. The house was comfortable and quiet, tucked in to the woods but close to the river and good eats. The hot tub, fireplace, and porches really made this stay extra enjoyable. The house isn't right on the river, but its just a short drive or walk to it. Guerneville is about a 10 minute drive, with lots of places to eat, rent fishing gear, and nice access to Johnson's beach. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks!
The reservation was canceled 59 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
The hot tub is probably the best I've seen in my life! The house is lovely, the forest around it is beautiful! We enjoyed the art in the house; the kitchen had everything we could think of. Each room has a heater to make it just perfect temperature. Great experience overall.
We spend 4 days on New Year at this super cozy place. Location is just amazing! If you want to hide from everything and everybody that's the best spot!! There is a hot tub outside with nice patio where u can chill and listen for the bird's singing! Oh yeah, you are getting 2 kayaks with this house and there is a river just like 5 mins from the house. Definitely will recommend it to everyone!
This host has 154 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews