Your room has a spacious desk, with WiFi, high-speed internet, room for your laptop and handy outlets for all your electronics.Bath - towels, shower gel, shampoo and creme rinse supplied.
Private room
1 Guest
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
84 travelers saved this place

About this listing


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Pull-out Sofa
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room
Amenities
Prices
Cleaning Fee: $15
Security Deposit: $200
Cancellation: Moderate
Description

The space

Private Room, Shared Bath.

I have just put this room back on Airbnb after an absence of almost 2 years. The reason for the absence? I had a long-term guest - for 22 months!

Please note: I have 2 other listings on Airbnb as well as this one. All are named "Comfy, Cozy & Affordable" with a number 1,2 or 3 appended. If you don't like this one, you might like one of the others.

As your host, my goal is to make your stay with me the very best possible, whether you're staying in an Airbnb for the first time or have stayed in one before. I hope you will let me know if there's anything I can do to make your stay better.

The first thing every guest says when they arrive is "You have a stunning view of the valley". My house is on a hill above Silicon Valley and provides beautiful, panoramic views of all of Silicon Valley. Note: You will need a car. Public transportation is about 2 miles away, down a hill, so unless you really like to walk, you'll need a car.

There’s an Ikea sofa bed in this room (see Beddinge on Ikea), that can be a twin bed or open into a full-size bed. An ample closet has plenty of space for hanging clothes and for your suitcases, packs and other things you’d like to have out of the way. A desk with chair and a bookcase complete the room. It’s on the 2nd floor of my home and shares a bath.

There's high-speed internet and WiFi, and you have use of the common living areas: dining room, living room with TV and cable, and yard.

Amenities provided include: linens, towels, hand soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner; if you need something else let me know and I will try to provide it. All you need to bring is yourself and your suitcase.

My home is in a quiet residential neighborhood in the foothills of San Jose. There are fields surrounding the neighborhood, and abundant wildlife - it's like living in the country but only minutes away from everything in the valley. Guests are often enchanted by the variety of wildlife that can be seen from my house, and surprised by how quickly they can get places.

If you’re interested in hiking, trail running or even a little mountain biking, check out Alum Rock Park which is quite close to my house. It’s a beautiful park in the foothills that reminds me of a little Yosemite – there’s even a stream running through it. You can do a web search and get the official park info, and Yelp has great reviews where people have added 470! photos.

I do have a dog, he's a big, friendly, lovable goof, and he's not allowed into the room.

You will need a car. Public transportation is about 2 miles away, down a hill, so unless you really like to walk, you'll need a car.

I look forward to welcoming you to my home.

What Your Reservation Includes:
• A Warm Welcome.
• A Clean, Comfortable Room - Cleaned Just Before Your Arrival.
• Fresh Towels and Bed Linens.
• Free WiFi and High-Speed Internet.
• Desk and Bookcase in Room.
• Closet with Ample Storage Space.
• Use of Living Room with Cable TV.
• Use of Dining Room, shared with host and other guests.
• Kitchen: use of microwave, toaster oven, hot-water kettle are included; use of stove and pots and pans is NOT included.
• Use of Washer and Dryer.
• Iron and Ironing Board available.
• Linens – fresh on your arrival and weekly thereafter if you stay that long.
• A notebook with information about the house, an annotated list of places to go and things to see in a day or less, and recommendations for restaurants nearby.

Although I don't serve breakfast, I always provide coffee, tea, oatmeal, milk and fresh fruit.

The room is cleaned before each new guest, and once a week if you stay longer. I feel it's my duty to provide you with scrupulously clean accommodations.

Other Features and Attractions:
Only 15-20 min. to
• Downtown San Jose
• San Jose Airport
• North San Jose and the Cisco buildings.
• Apple/Cupertino and many other high tech companies.
• Great America Amusement Park
• 99 Ranch + other Asian markets
• Many Restaurants and Stores, of Many Cultures, Nearby – my guests, who are from many different countries, are constantly telling me about restaurants where they’ve eaten and I keep a list of the good ones, plus menus for many of them.
• Access to Freeways; light rail and buses are about 2 miles down the hill.
• Close to Parks, Hiking, Biking.
• Great Bicycling – We’re on the Amgen Tour of California
• Santa Cruz is just a lovely drive over the hill, about 40 minutes.
• San Francisco is about an hour away, close enough for a day trip or a night out
• Monterey, Carmel and Big Sur are maybe 1.5 hrs. away and make wonderful day trips

My guests receive my personal annotated list (8 pages and growing), with map, of places to go within one day or less of my house. These are places I've been to, or someone I know has recommended.

House Rules
Check-in is after 3PM

HOUSE RULES

I do want you to enjoy your stay; however, because you’re sharing my home there are a few rules:

• Check-out - by 11 AM.

• No smoking, either inside or outside.

• Please keep the common areas clean.

• Kitchen: use of microwave, toaster oven, hot-water kettle are included; use of stove and pots and pans is NOT included.

• Be respectful of others in my home: no loud music, loud conversations, or use of common areas between 11 PM and 7 AM.

• No guests without prior OK from me, and no guests between 11 PM and 7 AM unless they are overnight guests (see next bullet).

• No overnight guests except those booked through Airbnb or otherwise approved by me.

• When you leave the house, lock your windows (if on ground floor), turn off the lights and lock the door.

• No pets – sorry, I’d love to allow them but my dog doesn't get along well with other pets.

Barbara, Your Airbnb Host in San Jose

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
First aid kit
Availability
2 nights minimum stay

28 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 125 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Your Host


Barbara

Barbara

San Jose, California, United States · Joined in June 2012

I love having guests and I'll do everything I can to make sure you have a wonderful stay in my home. I'm especially proud of my status as a Superhost and I work hard to maintain that (we're re-evaluated every 3 months).

For those guests new to Airbnb, I want to make sure your first experience is a complete success; and for those who’ve stayed in an Airbnb before, I want to make sure your stay with me is the best you've experienced.

A little about me. I'm sort of retired, after 20+ years as a software engineer, and a couple of other careers as well.

Things I like to do: travel, hike, cook, garden, bicycle, train dogs, go to art galleries, of which we have many in the Bay Area, opera, ballet and the theater, and spend time with friends and family. I especially like DIY projects on my own home.

I've been interested in California native plants for a while and I'm beginning to add them to my yard, and recently I've become a Master Gardener so these days I spend a lot of time outside, often in Alum Rock Park on plants and gardening. Another of my passions is working with rescued dogs, especially German Shepherd Dogs.


My experience with Airbnb has been fantastic! In addition to meeting lots of new people from many different cultures, I'm learning about those cultures and countries, and finding out about ethnic restaurants nearby that I've never tried. All my 230+ guests, from 23 countires, have been wonderful. I've been very lucky and thank Airbnb for their part in making my experience such a good one.

Several of my guests have found permanent homes here in Silicon Valley and I love to get together with them.

I’m looking forward to meeting you.

Response rate: 100%(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections
You won’t be charged yet