Skip to content
Entire house

Downtown garden house.


Downtown garden house.

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Great location100% of recent guests gave this home’s location a 5-star rating.
Great check-in experience95% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.
Air conditioningThis is one of few homes in this area that has this feature.

A studio garden house in the center of Reykjavik.
Fits perfectly for two people, it is like a small hotel room with a kitchenette and a bathroom with a nice shower.
It is totally private but I live next door in the main house.
Everything both cultural and entertaining is practically just outside the door for my house is in the middle of the city although in a private street mostly away from the city noise.


Air conditioning
Hair dryer

House Rules

Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM


162 Reviews

Adam User Profile
June 2018
Helga’s garden house is a great place for a short stop over in Reykjavik. Helga is warm and welcoming and gave us a great recommendation of a thermal bath nearby that all the locals go to. The garden house is quite small, but very pleasant and centrally located, with easy acces…
Laura User Profile
June 2018
Beautiful open space concept, plenty of light and is in a fabulous location to every single attraction in Reykjavik! Helga the host was fast with her response times, and super friendly when we met her! The home was absolutely meticulously cleaned, she even made the outside patio …
Ryan User Profile
May 2018
We absolutely loved staying in this garden house. You couldn't be in a better location and the house had everything we needed. Helga was very responsive and a great host. Check-in and out was a breeze. We would definitely stay here again!
David User Profile
May 2018
Fantastic stay in Reykjavik. Perfect location, close to the city center and bus pickups. Nice private space with a great host! Would come back for sure.
Joe User Profile
May 2018
The apartment is well situated. The space is small and while it is not unclean generally, it just needs some TLC.
Ellen User Profile
May 2018
Great location and price for two people traveling to Reykjavik! Very small and cozy but enough room for what we needed.
Justin User Profile
May 2018
Don’t do it! I stayed in Iceland for over two weeks and this was by FAR the biggest disappointment. No circulation, it’s so muggy inside and there are only two tiny windows. Dirty sink (other people’s toothpaste), empty shampoo and conditioner bottles in the shower that should’ve…
Helga User Profile
Response from Helga:
Hmmm..... *I am so sorry that you feel this way, and more sorry that it went this way. The people there now just let me know right away about the forks and I brought them forks right away. Maybe you should have let me know. Also if there is a leak in the bathroom you should have let me know, because that is a serious matter that needs attention, but I checked, and it appeared not to be any leek. There has been a raining spree in Iceland, a lot of rain and even snow in the spring time and perhaps the air gets damp in there and the door needs to be open or maybe I should put up a fan, I wish you told me about that also. About the zink, it was not dirty when I left it, if there where white spots in it it is the chysillic in the water, the same stuff is in the blue lagoon. It happens, its Iceland. But if it was something else I am very sorry of course, but could have explained if you had mention that to me. I have never had this problem with the stove and am wondering if this is an electrical problem, it would have been good to be informed then, I know it turns off the light to let know that it has reached the heat that you put in on, and it keeps the heat there, but If it is turning off it is a real problem, thanks for letting me know, I can not know that without anyone telling me because I am not cooking there. But I will definitely check that out. I am very sorry for not seeing these toothbrushes in the closet I assume, There is a toothpaste there, I don't throw that away, why should I, and I don't throw shampoo or conditioner away either, that is just a policy of mine, maybe that is wrong but the policy is according to general waste. Well, about the pot and the pan, I am really not sure why that was dusty and am so sorry for that. But I have been running Airbnb both in my house and in the garden house, and in this neighborhood, here downtown I am rather fair on prices I am told, that is because my house is rather old and my lifestyle a bohemian one. Everything here downtown is so expensive that one night in a hotel room is not half of the price I charge for the garden house, which is a small studio with everything without being a Hotel though. Again, I am sorry for this experience of yours, but can take comfort in that many people like the garden house. Good luck to you, wish you all the best.
May 2018

Hosted by Helga

Reykjavik, IcelandJoined in February 2013
Helga User Profile
893 Reviews
I am a film maker, writer, and a family woman, my family is very involved in the arts. I love music and my favorite food is seafood and lamb and I love the restaurants in the neighborhood, especially the seefood restaurand on skólavörðustígur, "Sjávargrillið" "Seagrill". I hav…
Languages: Dansk, English
Response rate: 94%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings