Work area, room equipped with fast WIFILarge room with queen bed and extensive travel resource library.
Large, Private Bernal Heights Oasis
Hosted by Rachael And John
Rachael And John is the host.Rachael And John is a superhost.
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 private bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

Are you visiting San Francisco and want to stay in a charming, sunny and convenient neighborhood? Our Bernal Heights home includes the perfect place for you: a large private guest suite with its own bathroom and entrance. Gourmet breakfast included.

The space

Are you visiting San Francisco and want to stay in the charming, sunny neighborhood of Bernal Heights (with plenty of nearby cafes, markets and parks) while still having easy access to the entire city and surrounding region? We provide lots of amenities and privacy for guests along with a gourmet breakfast every morning.

Are you a couple with one child, or a new grand-parent or in-law and want a cozy kid-friendly place--outfitted with toys, books and games for kids over three?

Are you visiting San Francisco for work and want easy public transit connections to downtown, the convention center or a business office--but want to come home to a quiet retreat outfitted with every convenience like wifi, work desk, coffee maker and iron where you can hear the birds and enjoy nature while you work or rest?

We have the perfect place for you in Bernal Heights.

Our home includes a wonderful large (240 sq. ft./21 sq. meter) private guest suite with natural light bordering a garden; it has two private entrances (one through the garage and one through the garden) and its own bathroom. The main room includes work desk, sitting area, window seat and a brand-new queen bed with a mattress that can be adapted to be soft or firm. There is also a single futon (for a third guest) which is available. This room includes an extensive DVD collection (including films set in San Francisco), travel reference and San Francisco history library, games, and TV. Street parking available. The room is outfitted with coffee maker, electric tea pot and a mini-refrigerator stocked with treats for your arrival. Gourmet breakfast served upstairs between 8:30-9:30 a.m. including homemade granola and pastries, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, etc. Perfect for a couple, two/three friends, a family with a child or a solo traveler.

We are a couple with a grown Rome-based daughter who has inherited our travel genes and global curiosity. We have all lived and travelled internationally and welcome anyone interested in exploring San Francisco and environs.

We are long-time residents of San Francisco and love to share all its offerings, from street art to high culture, from off-the-grid food trucks to some of best restaurants serving international cuisine. We are also avid hikers and adventurers around the Bay Area so we can give you suggestions on where to explore or which dance class to take at the nearby ODC Dance Commons. We are always happy to answer any questions and make recommendations, over coffee or a glass of wine.

There is a library of books about San Francisco and California in your room. There is also an extensive film collection. Lots of old classics, some newer films, many Italian and foreign films. And…a number of San Francisco films, including:
Maltese Falcon
Dirty Harry
Thieves Highway
Lady from Shanghai
The Rock
Escape from Alcatraz
Invasion of the Bodysnatchers
Bullitt
Milk
House on Telegraph Hill
Parrots of Telegraph Hill

Guest access

Guests have two private entrances to their room. The easiest-to-use entrance is through the garage as there is a self-locking key pad so you don't need to worry about keys. And there is also a door through the garden in back. I am personally available in the morning and evening. I am always available by phone, text or email to answer any and all questions. However during the day (10 a.m. until 5:30) I work with coaching and consulting clients in our living space so the general house upstairs is not available to guests then.

Interaction with guests

I thoroughly enjoy making breakfast (latte or tea, home-baked muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt and home-made granola) for our guests and serving it in our sunny kitchen. And I love coming up with off-beat suggestions of things for you to do based on your interests. My husband and I live in this home and are around in the mornings and evenings to answer any questions. I am available all day long by text, phone or email if any questions arise.

Other things to note

The room is on the ground floor at the same level as the garden. This means that, despite all the best screens and weather-proofing available, that a few harmless garden bugs sometimes make it into the room on hot days. However we clean the room thoroughly between guests and can attend to any issues you might have during your stay. (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)

License or registration number

STR-0000182
Learn about this number

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Breakfast

Prices
Extra people $30 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $50
Security Deposit $120
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years) - Guest suite is not baby-proofed. There is a bookcase that toddlers can pull themselves up on that can fall.
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

We do our best to provide a quiet environment for our guests at all times and would appreciate that you do the same; please respect the quiet hours between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m.
No smoking on the property.
No pets allowed.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - Ancient Tibetan Terrier who sleeps most of the time.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

144 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Michael User Profile
October 2017
Rachael and John's place had a nice balance of privacy. We could exit and enter through the garage as we pleased and had everything we needed in our first floor room. We saw our hosts in the morning for coffee and conversation and they were a great resource for us whenever we needed them. Beds and were comfortable and bathroom/shower was clean. Great space!

Wally User Profile
October 2017
Perfect, cozy spot

Elizabeth User Profile
August 2017
The stay at Rachael and John's was awesome. The breakfast and conversation in the morning were great. We loved the location. The place was nice and clean. I recommend climbing the hill in the park to watch the sunset. :)

Steve User Profile
July 2017
This is a terrific value!!!

Laurel User Profile
July 2017
This was the best first Airbnb experience I could've had. Rachael (and John) are extremely kind and great hosts. They are extremely accommodating and great to talk to, with good advice for exploring San Francisco. My dad and I stayed here, and I was on the mattress on the floor. It worked well for me and we had plenty of space. The bathroom is great, too. The bus stop is less than a minute walk away that takes you to more bus stops, BART, and downtown mission. We use this bus often and it worked well. The breakfast Rachael made was absolutely delicious and very fresh. She generally had granola/ cereal, greek yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade muffins or scones, juice, milk, and coffee. It filled and fueled us well for the day. The neighborhood felt very safe and family friendly. Within walking distance to a park and a couple cute cafes, one which we ate at. About a 25 minute busride to union station. (which is short for bus rides in San Fran) I have absolutely no complaints about this Airbnb. The hosts are amazing, accommodating, kind, and helpful. The space is clean, spacious, and comfortable.

Sarah User Profile
July 2017
This place is perfect. Comfortable, clean, amazing hosts. Definitely would stay again!

Helviz User Profile
June 2017
The place is as is described, even nicer. super well located, breakfast is delicious, and the hosts are the nicest people ever!

San Francisco, California, United StatesJoined in May 2013
Rachael And John User ProfileRachael And John is a superhost.

We are a professional couple, parents of a lovely 27-year-old daughter who recently returned after living in Italy for four years. The photo above shows us at restaurant in Rome in the middle of a long Christmas feast.

We have lived and worked overseas, love to travel and enjoy anyone else who does as well. We tend to travel and explore close to the ground, opting for house exchanges or small rental apartments so that we can enjoy the rhythm of daily life wherever we are.

Our house is filled with books, music, movies and laughter. John is a film buff and has amassed a large collection of genre films from noir to musicals, and everything in between. Rachael is an avid dancer and would be happy to introduce you to one of many great dance studios in the area. We both love to provide specialized tips for our guests, about places and activities that will make their stay here truly special--whether they are interested in the best vintage record stores, the most outrageous places to surf, or the best Chinese dim sum restaurant. We love to share a latte in our kitchen in the morning with guests while they munch on Rachael's muffins or scones (different every day), fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereal. We both work at home so are available via text and phone if questions arise.

We are the guardians of a sweet old blind dog. He is around if you want to have animal time but keeps to himself if not. We look forward to sharing this lovely spot in San Francisco with others.

We love to host guests and we love to travel. When we travel, you will be well taken care of by Rebecca Dienner, our guest host. Rebecca brings her love of fine cooking and gracious hosting to the job. She is inspired by the many colors and flavors of California’s abundant fruits, vegetables, herbs, and flowers. For her, hosting guests is the perfect avenue for sharing good food and the best adventures, meals and natural beauty the San Francisco Bay Area has to offer. When she is not a guest host, she keeps herself busy as a personal chef and floral designer.

Languages: Bahasa Indonesia, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings