The hallway outside the guest room. Bathroom is straight ahead. The guest room is to the right.
Private room
2 Guests
2 Beds
R682 ZAR
Per Night
131 travelers saved this place

About this listing

One of two rooms available in my home in an older and quaint part of Modesto. I provide everything you need for a comfortable stay including two comfy twin beds, Continental breakfast, coffee/tea, wi-fi, fridge, microwave, and electric kettle.

The Big Yellow House - Twins

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: R152 ZAR / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: R76 ZAR
Weekly discount: 11%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

Modesto is a great central location between the Bay Area and Yosemite. This is a beautiful part of Modesto, with older unique homes and tree-lined streets. It is also a good location for traveling nurses, business people, and other travelers. My home is a lovely place to stay where you will be treated special and yet feel at home.

The house is one story. The guest room faces the backyard. There are two single beds in the room with hardwood floors. The bathroom is right next to the room.

Parking is on the street.

You will be sharing a bathroom with another guest, possibly. There is a double sink so each guest has their own sink and counter space. I provide hand soap, Dixie cups, and towels. Guests should use their own personal items such as shampoo, lotion, comb/brush, hair dryer, etc.

I have one dog who stays outside in the back yard all the time. We go to great efforts to keep her from barking at night and into the morning. However, sometimes, in spite of our best efforts she still barks from time to time. Please be patient.

I try to be around to greet my guests when they arrive. However, sometimes I am not available or if the guest arrives late, I will leave a key in a lock box on the front door handle and guests can let themselves in. I will leave directions to find the correct guest room. For the most part, guests are free to come and go as they wish. If you need to contact me, texting or calling work the best.

Breakfast is continental help-yourself fare such as yogurt, muffins, cereal/granola, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, juice, tea and coffee. In the hallway outside the room there is a refrigerator where you can find the breakfast items. There is also a microwave. I provide paper plates, napkins, utensils, mugs, salt/pepper, sugar, coffee and tea. There is an electric kettle and coffee/tea press. Guests may eat in their room, the kitchen, the front room or the porch. I prefer guests NOT use the kitchen to prepare their own food.

There is public transportation a block away. I highly recommend walking or riding a bike.

Guest Access

Guests have access to the front room, kitchen, bathroom, the guest room, and the front porch. I prefer guests NOT use the kitchen to prepare their own food.

They also have access to WiFi.

Guests should respect the space and property of others. Guests should not enter the room of another guest or the private bedrooms of me and my family for any reason.

The Neighborhood

My neighborhood is in an older part of Modesto with beautiful tree-lined streets. The houses are all unique and have their own personality. The Virginia Corridor is a great bike/walking path only a block away. Roseburg Square is in walking distance where you will find a grocery store, Mexican restaurant, sushi/Chinese food, pizza, and frozen yogurt. My house is very close to the downtown area which has the Gallo Center for Performing Arts, two theaters, terrific restaurants, the farmers market (Thursday and Saturday morning), and the library. Modesto Junior College and Doctors Medical Center are in walking distance, and Memorial Hospital is about a 10 minute drive.

Parking is on the street in front of the house.

Other Things to Note

I now rent out two guest rooms in my home so guests may have to share the bathroom with the other guests. Please be respectful of other people's time, space, and property. I provide hand soap, Dixie cups, and towels for use in the bathroom; other than that guests should use their own personal hygiene items and not use any other items you find in the bathroom unless it is labeled "AirBnb".

I generally do not serve breakfast to guests staying 7 days or longer due to the reduced weekly and monthly rates.

+ More

House Rules
Check-in is after 12PM (noon)

Be respectful of other people in the house and their property.

Guests may hang out in the guest room, living room, kitchen, front porch, and back patio only. Guests are not allowed to smoke anywhere on the property. Limited alcohol is acceptable, but drunk or rowdy behavior is not. Guests should not enter any private bedroom or the other guest's room for any reason. I prefer that guests NOT use the kitchen to prepare food.

Guests need to provide and use their own personal hygiene items such as soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay
The hallway outside the guest room. Bathroom is straight ahead. The guest room is to the right.

The hallway outside the guest room. Bathroom is straight ahead. The guest room is to the right.

118 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 48 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Judy

Judy

Modesto, California, United States · Member since May 2013

I am a single mother and self-employed. I was a teacher most of my adult life. About four years ago I started a new business called Dragonfly Tea Room. My long-term goal is to have an actual tea room in the area. For now I sell loose-leaf tea at the local farmer's market and I do "in-home" tea parties. I am interested in all things having to do with tea and "having tea." I am also very active in my church and my Christian faith is an important part of my life. If you have a need you would like me to pray about, please feel free to let me know.

I enjoy traveling when I can, but for the most part as I am kept pretty busy with my business. Now that my daughter is going to school in New York, I expect I will be traveling there several times a year. I grew up in Denver and lived in Colorado until graduating from college. I lived on the East Coast (Massachusetts and New York) for 14 years. I moved to Modesto in 1999, dragging my feet, but I've learned to appreciate the area, especially the weather, access to great produce, and the many places to visit in California.

I have two children living at home. My middle child, Luke, is 23 years old and works for ASAP HVAC. My daughter, Leah, is 18 and is attending New York University so she is only home during vacation. I have an older son, Noah, who graduated from Sac State, recently married, and lives in Sacramento.

I started as a host for AirBnb at the end of May 2013. It has been a very positive experience so far. It has been fun meeting people from all over the world. I enjoy making people feel at home and making them feel special at the same time.

My life motto: the Golden Rule - Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts