Skip to content
kitchen fully equipped with the best of the best!memory foam futon bed with 600 ct linens.
Private room in house

1freeAquariumPass! 18mi2MONTEREY&PG/SC/CARMEL/KING

Val

1freeAquariumPass! 18mi2MONTEREY&PG/SC/CARMEL/KING

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 private baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 private baths
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Great check-in experience100% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.
Self check-inEasily check yourself in with the lockbox.
Air conditioningThis is one of few homes in this area that has this feature.

EVENTS&HOLIDAYS=$159anight&3NIGHTminimum/TempurepedicKING BED!20MiNCARMEL/SANTACRUZ/XTRA LRGE bathn800ctlinens! All photos are authenticated by an official airbnb photographer. New beds and appliances are not pictured. Plz read all reviews. The first was written by a woman who purchased 1 room for 2 and showed up with a family of 5 and we still accomodated them all 4 nights.She wrote this AFTERa4night stay to try to get money back.15 min2 5 counties!2 FreeAQUARIUM PASSwith2nightstay(purchase a second for $60.BOOK NOW

Amenities

Free parking on premises
Wifi
Air conditioning
Breakfast
Dryer
Washer

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Common spaces
1 king bed

House Rules

No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check-in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox

Availability

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Stacie User Profile
Stacie
June 2018
Room was incredibly cozy with a bed comfier than any I have ever slept on before. Was a great place to stay to visit the aquarium especially with included passes. It was very nice to be able to self-check in as we got in fairly late. Val was a great person to meet and she treat…
William User Profile
William
September 2017
The room and the bed were nice, but no window coverings and loud music coming from car stereos in the neighborhood was not cool.
Enrique User Profile
Enrique
July 2017
Great place
Jen User Profile
Jen
August 2015
If you value cleanliness even just a little bit, DO NOT book this home. We have stayed in airbnb homes with dogs and cats before, as well as several others that do not. This was by far **the** worst. Positives: The hosts are nice. Pets are adorable. Bed is comfortable. A…
Val User Profile
Response from Val:
Jen, you booked this less than 24 hours before arrival time. I apologize publicly for not picking up after my husband, who had just purchased a $400 memory foam topper for the bed you slept in...which, by the way was not photographed in our listing because it is a recent upgrade. Rather than the futon you thought you were getting, you got a brand new bed with a topper! I also publicly apologize for not picking up after the gardiner who had also been there the day you made the (Website hidden by Airbnb) bad...i had a very bad car accident a week before and i was very injured. I did, however, with a lot of pain spend the entire day cleaning and a gut feeling told me to take photos of my hard work...which i have sent to airbnb. I scrubbed all the floors personally on my hands and knees with great physical pain so i take great exception to your judgments about the cleanliness of my home. Honestly, i was in so much pain from cleaning frantically to get it ready, i just couldnt put the memory foam box in the recycle bin. I also chose to ignore the tools on the table outside. My husband commutes 3 and a half hours to work everyday. He was exhausted...his bad. I am an artist. My paints, canvases, etc. Are the biggest clutter in my home. I swim everyday and my back hurts a lot when i walk upstairs. I keep a suit hanging on my and i will emphasize MY bathroom door downstairs so i dont have to walk upstairs if i forget it. The truth is this jen. You couldnt find anything else on the monterey peninsula for less than $400 a night. We called motel 6 and that was their price. You purchased ONE room with a shared bath for 3 nights at $396 with a special offer from us discounting the $662 airbnb price for one room with 5 people. We do not offer kitchen or laundry privileges, but we made an exception because we had compassion for a family who clearly could not afford to come to our area. We made up the futon in our livingroom for your kids, even though it is not an area we allow guests in because of my art clutter. I told your husband you could use our oatmeal and bananas. Our kitchen was clean enough for you to use a half dozen eggs, butter, etc to cook your breakfast. You definitely used the bananas and decided to take every piece of fruit in our fruit bowl as well as our expensive avocados! Yes, you asked about a few kitty crystals that had spilled on the floor. I swept them up. I swept and mopped those floors on my hands and knees to the point you could eat off them! They were perfectly fine for your baby to crawl on. Had you called a spider to my attention, we would have taken care of it...alas, you never did...therefore, i dont believe you. Matter of fact you never mentioned any of these complaints until the day after you left. I have apologized for what we did wrong, but i want to emphasize how little you paid us, and how much you were given...lesson for you is DONT LOOK A GIFT HORSE IN THE MOUTH. You judged us for giving you more of our home than we should have. I know that when people read our other reviews, they will realize we are compassionate human beings...for gods sake! I did your laundry even though we dont offer laundry usage!! How petty can you get! Here was the previous guests response. They were here 3 days before you... a great find! Val was a lovely hostess. She gave us lots of tips around the area and more. Going to the aquarium was fantastic. Adorable pets, a warm environment, and a clean house, what more could we ask for? great find! Val was a lovely hostess. She gave us lots of tips around the area and more. Going to the aquarium was fantastic. Adorable pets, a warm environment, and a clean house, what more could we ask for?A great find! Val was a lovely hostess. She gave us lots of tips around the area and more. Going to the aquarium was fantastic. Adorable pets, a warm environment, and a clean house, what more could we ask for?ninnso much pain from the A great find! Val was a lovely hostess. She gave us lots of tips around the area and more. Going to the aquarium was fantastic. Adorable pets, a warm environment, and a clean house, what more could we ask for?nthought
August 2015
Ammar User Profile
Ammar
July 2015
Easy clean no hassles available for last minute booking
Matthew User Profile
Matthew
August 2014
The place was simple, clean, and quaint. Ken was an excellent host who clearly was there as needed, and has good, knowledgable recommendations of the area. They have two rooms they host and they have an adjoining wall, which my girlfriend and I found didn't work for us and the …
Val User Profile
Response from Val:
We don't always rent the adjoining room. That usually only happens on holiday weekends, or in august . This is a brand new home and has great insulation, but if someone is needing to escalate sounds and behavior, this would not be a good fit for either side. We enjoy getting to know all kinds of people, but we really do respect privacy as well. We think it would benefit you greatly matthew to rent a cottage next time where all four walls are your own. We wish you well in all your travels! Valerie and ken
August 2014
Rosalie User Profile
Rosalie
August 2014
Great experience. Val is awesome, she was very friendly and had good advice. The room is very nice and clean and bed is comfortable. Able to put my car in driveway which I liked. Very convenient to Monterey. I would stay there again and recommend it to others.
Val User Profile
Response from Val:
We lived having you as well! Let's keep in touch! You never know when we might be in Santa barbara!!!
August 2014

Hosted by Val

Monterey, California, United StatesJoined in November 2012
Val User Profile
97 Reviews
Verified
The pictures I have posted were taken by an airbnb official photographer and are exactly what our property looks like. Our property is completely authenticated by Airbnb. We have been doing business with airbnb for 10 years. Two bad reviews out of 70...both given by women who wer…
Languages: Dansk, Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings