Breaking dawn at Breakwind Farm!Farm stand and barn
#2 FALL FOLIAGE at 1790 Farmhouse, Breakwind Farm!
#2 FALL FOLIAGE at 1790 Farmhouse, Breakwind Farm!

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Charming 227 year old farm house in rural New Hampshire yet within 15 minutes to Concord, and hiking. The Contoocook River runs along our property - paddleboard, kayak or canoe and then take advantange of our hot tub and fire pit! Also we're across the street from Elm Brook Park with walking trails and more swimming and kayaking possibilities.

The space

Breakwind Farm is 226 year old 6 acre farm located in a quaint and rural community just outside of Concord NH. In the summer months we have a small organic herb and vegetable garden and sell our veggies at our stand and baked beans at the local Farmers Markets.

Our property runs along the Contoocook River where you can swim and explore by canoe or kayak in the summer and cross country ski or snowshoe in the winter. We are also within walking distance to Elm Brook Park with walking trails, swimming, picnic and recreational facilities. For skiing, scenic vistas, auto road and hiking, Pat's Peak is a 10 minute drive, Mount Kearsage State Park is 20 minutes north, and Mount Sunapee, less than 30 minutes. If you like the adventure of snowmobiling, mountain biking, dirt biking or ATV riding, bring your vehicles because we have 2 parks located near us; Clough State Park in Weare, NH, and the Hopkinton-Everett Recreation park down the street. Love golf? Duston Country Club golf club is a ten minute drive.

Our town may be rural but the capital of New Hampshire, is just 15 minutes away where you have access to shopping, restaurants and cultural events. The White Mountains, Boston and seacoast are also within 1- 1 1/2 hours by car or bus. As you can see there is no shortage of activities in the area, however if you would just like to sit and watch the garden grow, please feel free to enjoy the solitude, or we would always welcome help with gardening and picking vegetables if you are so inclined.

In the evening, relax by the fire pit and enjoy the sound of the peepers and crackling fire, or indulge in the warmth of the outdoor hot tub*.

Come and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and traffic and enjoy the country life for a few days or a week. You will feel refreshed and renewed and won't be disappointed ...like us, you'll probably never want to leave!

We usually have two bedrooms available, one with a full size bed, the other with a full and twin bed, (see our other listing under Farmhouse #1). Our bathroom is shared and is downstairs, and your bedroom is upstairs. You have full use of the kitchen, dining room, 3 season room, living room, porch, hot tub (except in July and August), grill and outdoor eating area. If you have a larger crowd, we also have plenty of space available for campers!

Website: Breakwind Farm

Guest access

If you wish to use the hot tub, please ask for instructions first to avoid costly repairs...Thank you for your cooperation!
If you have a pet that you want to travel with, just ask us first. If you have a crate or bed and/or the dog stays with you when you leave our house, we are happy to accommodate you both!

Interaction with guests

As often as you would like.

Other things to note

Please park in our dirt driveway in front of the house, or the right hand side of the paved driveway.
Ours is an old (226 years) working farm/garden and once in a while we are in the middle of projects/repairs.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $50 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 single bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM

No Smoking in house or around barn. You can smoke out back or in the winter on the porch. If you are checking in after 10:00pm, please contact us ahead of time so we can give you instructions.
We are looking forward to your stay! Please see description if you are traveling with pets.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

78 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kevin User Profile
September 2017
The house is right off the highway and very easy to get back in the morning. When we get there, Patti is not home. His friend help us to settle down. And we have everything we need. The bedroom and bathroom are both clean. More important, they do have a part of their house more than 200 years old. If you like old things like me, this is definitely the right place that you should stay.

Anders User Profile
September 2017
All that you need and more for a shorter or longer stay in the Hopkintion area. Good living and with my own choise of privacy or socializing. Everyone were helpful, kind and generous. A good start point for activities such as hiking at the White Moutains, city sight seeing in Boston or walking distance to smaller recreation area with swimming. The room fitted the description at AirBnb great!

Max User Profile
August 2017
Patti and Sam were very accommodating and we really enjoyed the fire pit. Thanks again!
Patti User ProfilePatti is a superhost.
Response from Patti:
Oh Max, I was concerned to say the least about starting a fire in the fire pit after 11:00 pm for two young adults that I'd just met who arrived hours after you stated. I wanted to accommodate your request but also had to consider our other guests who were already sleeping (including my husband who had to work on Monday) and the safety of leaving you to put out the fire, etc... Again the next morning after missing checkout time by an hour and waiting for you to vacate so we could clean the room and house for the next guests (by then, arriving in a few short hours), your request to use the canoe/kayak and/or explore the river would have been reasonable and we would have been happy to accommodated you had you woken up BEFORE checkout time, or if you arrived before dark the night before so we could have had the time to set you up. Yes, it was difficult to say no, I can say I've always been able to fulfill our guests request and this the the first time I've been put in a situation to have to say no. Your requests definitely caused me anxiety, but considering it's the first time I've ever been put in this type of situation in the 6 years we've been hosts, I'm guessing it won't be something I'll have to learn how to do in the future!
August 2017

D'Anne User Profile
August 2017
Idyllic setting. I love forward to returning

Val User Profile
July 2017
This was a very nice stay. They are very kind people and so friendly. Although a second bathroom is a working progress, futur guest will no doubt appreciate it. We will come back for sure if our futur trips are that way. Thanks a million!
Patti User ProfilePatti is a superhost.
Response from Patti:
Hi Val, We enjoyed having you stay with us as well! And yes, we can't wait until the upstairs bathroom is finished. It will be Rick's fall project this year, yay!!
July 2017

John User Profile
July 2017
Great rustic place

Philip User Profile
July 2017
The 1790s house is located on a rural farm. Patti met me after arriving and showed me around. The room had a lot of character and was quite compfy. A great place to relax. Several restaurants are nearby and Manchester is just a hop, skip ,and jump away. Patti made me feel right at home.

This host has 228 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Hopkinton, New Hampshire, United StatesJoined in July 2012
Patti User ProfilePatti is a superhost.

My Husband and I run a small organic garden and sell our vegetables at a stand outside our house.

We purchased our 6 acre 1790 farmhouse 7 years ago and have been slowly renovating the house and working on the gardens. We added solar electric and hot water in an ongoing effort to become self sustaining in the next few years. We both love to travel, especially if we can ski and snowboard, but most of our free time is spent working in the gardens and renovating. Some of the bedrooms upstairs need updating. They are all clean and cozy, but the wallpaper is peeling in spots and it does show its age, so it is rustic but quite quaint.

During the summer months we use one of our 3 spare bedroom to host helpers from all over the world through sites like Workaway, Helpx and WWOOF. Our helpers lend a hand with our gardens, farm stand and markets in exchange for room and board. We very much enjoy conversing with them and learning about others cultures and lifestyles.

We look forward to welcoming our Airbnb guests and sharing all that Breakwind Farm has to offer!

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings