Cozy rooms with 1.5 bath, breakfast

House - Private room · Morrell Street, Boston, MA 02132, United States

The Space

We are offering 1-2 bright and beautiful bedrooms available in a 4-bed family home in West Roxbury.

The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, and have just been renovated with new hardwood floors.
A full bathroom is right next door for your use, all toiletries (shampoo/conditioner, etc) are provided. A half bathroom on the first floor is also available.

One bedroom has a double bed that sleeps 2, another with a bed and a futon that can sleep 4, so we can accommodate up to 6 people (great for a group of friends or a family).

House
Modern, spacious and open plan-- living room, dining room, huge eat-in kitchen, laundry room, sunroom and backyard are common areas. Wi-fi and central air-conditioning throughout.
Fully equipped kitchen (with dishwasher), washer and dryer in the basement. Guests are welcome to use kitchen only for eating purpose or simple cooking, such as making sandwiches and soups. Kitchen use request needs to be part of communication before check in.
Parking: on street parking (driveway parking by special arrangement only), but we have never had a problem

Location
The house is located on a quiet street in West Roxbury, next to a community center and a church. It is walking distance to a supermarket, restaurants/cafes and a huge public park that is part of Boston's "Emerald Necklace".
It is a 2 minute walk to public transportation (bus/subway/commuter rail) that will get you to downtown Boston (Back Bay, Longwood area, Harvard/MIT,etc) in about 30 minutes.
We will provide subway cards (which provides a discount over buying once-off subway tickets), but recommend you get a weekly subway pass from the station (they are the best deal for longer stays).
We are also close to the I-95/RT 128 highways if you are driving.

Directions from the airport/train station:
The best way to get from the airport to our house is as follows (it sounds more difficult than it is):
1. There is a free shuttle bus called the Silver Line which will take you to South Station (follow signs for ground transportation). **note this is also the arrival station for Greyhound Bus/Amtrak.

2. Once at South Station, follow signs for the Red Line in the Braintree direction and check to make sure they will take you to Downtown Crossing (it should just be a few stops)
3. Once at Downtown Crossing, switch over to the Orange Line, in the Forest Hills direction. Take the Orange Line all the way to the end (Forest Hills)

From here, the #36 bus will take you pretty much right outside the house (ask to be dropped off at the Moville St stop). But we (email hidden)e Moville St. is on the west side of the bus-line while Morrell St (our street) is on the east side of the bus-line.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 3
Extra people: $15 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $10
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • My two kids (6 & 10) stayed with Nancy and her husband for three nights during the week and found them to be lovely hosts, exceeding our expectations for a great Airbnb experience. They were gracious at all times, very informative about their community and we had a very nice time chatting whenever we found ourselves in the kitchen together. They engaged the kids in spirited conversation and were very generous with offers of tea, coffee, fruit and cereal for breakfast. The rooms and bathroom were spotless and fresh and after one day with them, the kids said, "We really love it here mommy - the people are so nice!"

    April 2014
  • Our hosts were excellent. Very friendly people, who would do anything we asked or needed of them. Very informative whenever we asked questions about anything. Overall a very pleasant experience, and I would recommend staying here to anyone who asks.

    April 2014
  • The reservation was canceled 19 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    April 2014
  • The reservation was canceled 6 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    April 2014
  • I'm always extremely hesitant about leaving a less than happy review, but sometimes an unhappy airbnb stay happens. I was clear with my host (Nancy) that I would arrive around 6 pm and would leave very shortly after to meet friends for dinner across town. When I arrived at the house at 5:45 I was greeted (email hidden)-in relative (Charles) who did not know I was coming, which was very unsettling. He asked me to wait in the living room while he called Nancy but I had to insist that I be allowed to settle and unpack in my room since I was on a schedule. I was on a very quick business/personal trip, so I stayed at this house for only one night as I tried to squeeze everything into my itinerary as efficiently as possible. After he spoke on the phone with Nancy and confirmed my presence as a guest, he gave my a tour of the house and amenities. When he asked if I needed anything else I laughed, and mixed in with my regular friendly fare I told him I required only 2 things from any stay, a good nights sleep...and coffee in the morning, he shook his head in understanding. I couldn't get to sleep that night because I could hear two people engaging in a considerably loud conversation as they made other noises in the kitchen until 12:30 at night...and a printer going and going along with it in the background. I'm pretty laid back and don't require much when staying away from home since I come prepared, but I was disappointed with my experience here due to the external late night noise. But personally, the part that left the worst taste in my mouth was the next morning when I was trying to get out the door at 8:30am. Not only was there no fresh hot java flowing, but waiting for me on the counter was a pot of cold leftover coffee and a filter full of grounds...I was floored!

    April 2014
    Muching
    Response from Muching:

    HI Emily H:
    I am (website hidden) sorry for the unpleasant experience you had with us. I said in my review that we never had the chance to meet face to face, because you came late and I left early. Charles is here to study English in ESL program. My apology for leaving my guest with someone not competent enough to take care our guests. Nancy

  • Staying with Mrs Yang and her husband was an absolute pleasure. The bedrooms and bathroom were clean and comfortable, the whole home was absolutely spotless! The house was easy to find and located in a pleasant, safe neighborhood. I would highly recommend them to anyone staying in Boston.

    April 2014
  • The house is really clean and nice, me and my friends loved it!! there was an amazing breakfast ready for us in the morning, the beds were nice, and the price was really good! The only problem we had was with transportation because the house is a bit far from the metro, the bus doesn't really follow the schedule and we had really big and heavy suitcases. If you have a car is an great place for there is a parking lot right in front. If you're going to use bus and metro you might have to wait a bit, but the house is so nice that I think it compensates.

    April 2014
  • We had a wonderful, peaceful stay at Nancy's house. Everything was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great. She and her husband were very hospitable and amenable.

    April 2014
  • Ms Yang and her husband are the best airbnb hosts I have ever met. They are easy-going and considerate. We had very nice chatting. Ms yang picked us up when it was pretty late and windy, and drove us to the subway in the very early morning as we needed to catch early flight. Their home is very conveniently located. Bus stop is two minutes walk away, a grocery store is ten minutes walk away. When we took the bus downtown, we enjoyed the boston-style buildings. The room is exactly the same as described, very clean, warm and comfortable. I strongly recommend visitors staying in their home!

    March 2014
  • The hosts, Nancy and her husband, were so wonderful. They were always eager to assist us in anything and we had the opportunity to enjoy both their cooking for breakfast. We also met Charles, their relative, who was equally as helpful. No one was intrusive at all. The hosts were also great for conversation, especially Nancy's husband who was super nice and served us these sesame buns that we will never forget. They're also REALLY clean...I didn't find a speck of dust or crumb unless it was caused by me.

    March 2014
Per Month
From
$60
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 234 times
Languages
English, 中文
School
Boston Latin School, George Washington University, Boston College, Peking University, Universite de Montreal
About
I'm a frequent traveler and airbnb fan currently abroad, and this is my family home in West Roxbury, MA. The hosts are my parents, a teacher and an engineer, who have lived in the Boston area for 25+ years (we are originally from Beijing, China.) They like to garden, cook and ballroom dance. We've always had visitors and boarders and are excited to welcome you to our home.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings