Entire home/apt

8 Guests

4 Bedrooms

6 Beds


Entire home/apt

8 Guests

4 Bedrooms

6 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
8 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Fantastic sea view property in the Irish countryside. On a rough day watch the waves as they break over the Sleeping Giant. On a calm summer day sit outside listening to the sound of the sheep on the hills and the buzz of insects gathering pollen.
This is a self-catering property. We do not provide breakfast. The house has central heating. If you wish to use the fireplace we provide a starter pack of wood and firelighters.


The space
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 4
Beds: 6
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $17 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee: $22

Description

Fantastic sea view property in the Irish countryside. On a rough day watch the waves as they break over the Sleeping Giant. On a calm summer day sit outside listening to the sound of the sheep on the hills and the buzz of insects gathering pollen.
This is a self-catering property. We do not provide breakfast. The house has central heating. If you wish to use the fireplace we provide a starter pack of wood and firelighters.

Nestled into the hillside next to the ancient church at Kilmalkedar, Atlantic Cottage looks out over Smerwick Harbour and the Atlantic to The Sleeping Giant, one of the Blasket Islands. Sitting in the cosy kitchen you can watch 50 foot waves rolling in from America battering the cliffs. The beach is a 15 minute walk and if on a hot sunny day there are more than 20 people, we'd consider it crowded. The Pilgrim's Way runs up behind the house allowing you to climb the mountain and look out over 360 degree views. The area has been a centre for calm, spiritual retreat for hundreds of years and we look forward to inviting you enjoy the peace and tranquility of the area.

Guests have access to the whole house.

This is a self catering house and though we might meet guests we will not be there ourselves.

The view, the view, the view. Swimming from the beach as the tide comes in on a summers day. Being in the middle of the countryside next to a working farm. Watching the sheep being brought down from the hill side, the odd chicken that wanders in to the garden. The wrens and robins that nest in the fuchia hedges. Fabulous neighbours and the Irish craic.

There is no public transport but hitching is easy and safe .

This house is in the country and probably not suitable for anyone with an animal allergy. It is very dark at night as there is no street lighting - hurrah you can see the stars in the Milky Way. While it is perfectly safe to sleep with the windows open, having the lights on will attract moths and other insects.


House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM

We expect Airbnb guests to be fairly self reliant and to behave in a respectful way. This is not a hotel, it is a simple but well equipt holiday cottage.
We do not accept smokers.
We to accept pets but must be told you are bringing them with you. You will be responsible for cleaning up after them.
We cannot be held responsible for internet outages or speed.
This is a self-catering cottage. We provide basics supplies such as washing up liquid, toilet roll for your arrival.
Guests must not feed the local cats. They are farm cats and our lovely neighbours need them to hunt in their barns. They are feral and you should not try to adopt the kittens or take them home with you.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Mar 1 - May 31, 2017 the minimum stay is 2 nights.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

34 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Anne User Profile
April 2017
Cosy, spacious country house in a stunning part of Ireland. Very short drive to beaches and villages, all with lovely views. Great location for walkers and for exploring Dingle Peninsula. Bedrooms airy and clean. Louise is very friendly and great communicator. Her friend Linda was also very helpful with any information needed.

Anna User Profile
March 2017
Such a warm, cosy and comfortable home. Spent St Patrick's weekend surrounded by the rolling hills that were fifty shades of green and views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoyed every minute with our group!

Lauren User Profile
December 2016
Enjoyed my stay here with my family. There is only one toilet, 4 people is the most I'd want to share one toilet with. :) As other reviews stated DO NOT find this home in the dark, I should have taken their advice. I'd say we drove around for 30 minutes searching for the home, all land marks listed are not visible in the dark. Overall positive experience here, especially the sheep outside your bedroom window!

Ivan User Profile
December 2016
Great little hidden cottage just outside Dingle village. It was exactly how i imagined. If you are looking for relaxing time,book this place.

Deirdre User Profile
November 2016
The view from this cottage was incredible. We arrived after dark, so waking up to see the view was probably the best part. It was a bit cold, but we were able to use the fire place & the heating. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, and it was a perfect place for the 8 of us. It's not walking distance to the town, but there are plenty of taxis and it was nice to be a bit away from it all.

Dom User Profile
October 2016
lovely cottage. great place for our family for the weekend.

Eileen User Profile
September 2016
It's the little things that make an Airbnb stay a great one, milk in the fridge, insider tips about the local area, a friendly message from host checking all is ok, etc. Unfortunately this stay had none of these extras. Kitchen was so bare of supplies not even salt and pepper provided! The wi-fi is problematic with host insisting it is a provider problem when it is quite obvious a booster would resolve issues. We arrived on a cold windy rainy afternoon and let ourselves in to a cold, bare house, with few of those lovely welcoming touches we have experienced in other places. We bought briquettes and sticks, detergent for washer and dishwasher, left milk and butter for next guests. Very disappointed.
Louise User Profile
Response from Louise:
The guest texted me on arrival to tell me how lovely and warm the house was and describes the sun shining in. When I checked back with them later they sent another text repeating that everything was great. Salt, pepper and other condiments were in the cupboard by the stove. A starter pack for the fire was provided as per the details in our listing. This a self-catering property and we do not leave food or milk for guests.
September 2016

This host has 228 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

England, United Kingdom · Joined in February 2013
Louise User Profile

I live in England but spend every spare moment in our house in Dingle. We run Writer's Retreats at the house and now want to open it up to other people so they can discover the hidden Dingle we have explored over the past 13 years.
We have a dog, Zip and a 3 legged cat Mimi. Zip loves being taken for walks by guests. I'm a keen walker. My husband Chris, has Parkinson's and has to take things more easily but loves sharing stories with guests. We are both writers and you will often find us working away on our latest projects.
My favourite thing to do in Dingle is fish, and then share what I have caught with other people. I love cooking and there is always a home made cake on the go.
When I am teaching or in rehearsals it may not be possible to respond to you immediately.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours