Large dinning areaYour bedroom
User Profile Image

Riverside relaxation great location

IrelandDublinRathfarnham
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
Per Night
179 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Double bedroom, great location, close to city (15 min bus) with easy access to shops, cinemas, transport, parks, restaurants and bars. Stylish, peaceful & easily accessible. Most importantly welcoming hosts!

Large dinning area

Large dinning area


The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: $114
Weekly discount: 8%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

Double bedroom in fully renovated, stylish, peaceful & easily accessible semi-detached house on the River Dodder.

Great location, close to the city centre with great access by bus from the end of our road. It's also an easy commute to UDC, Trinity College and other colleges. For those looking for a base for more travel the Dublin mountains are nearby and it is easy to travel to other parts of the country by car, bus or train.

The house is just over 1700 square feet, around 160 square meters. It has a very large, open plan living room, dinning room and kitchen where we hang out in the evenings.

There's also another living room downstairs with TV, DVD player, open fireplace and a home office setup (with WiFi throughout the house) that you can use if you want some time to yourself.

The garden is large, south-facing and tranquil. It's a great place to sit and sun yourself, read a book or enjoy a drink or two. We have an apple tree and grow strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, gooseberries and rhubarb so you're welcome to pick from the garden and bake a nice crumble if you want. Only rule is we get to sample it :) The garden (and house) are also home to our dog, Alfie, an Irish Water Spaniel.

The front of the house looks out over the river Dodder and a bank of trees which stretch the length of the road on the far side of the river. At each end of the road are large parks with beautiful walks, Bushy park in particular has great amenities with tennis courts, football pitches, woodlands and lakes. If you want to borrow tennis rackets for a game that's no problem.

Again at either end of the road are bus routes that take you straight into town or indeed to the airport. Taking a bus to the city centre outside of rush hour takes around 20 minutes. It would take between 40 mins to 1 hour to walk. For cyclists Dublin city centre is a 15 - 20 minute cycle away, the Dublin mountains are around a 40 minute cycle or you could head east to Sandymount beach in around 15 minutes.

If you're driving there's great access out to the M50 motorway and on to all the other main motorway routes.

Dundrum shopping centre (Europe's largest) is close by too, 15 mins by bike or 10 mins by bus.

We'll have a hair dryer and fresh towels and linen ready for when you arrive. Unless we have a family member staying you'll be the only guest(s) in the house and the bathroom you see in the picture will be yours as we have our own ensuite bathroom. You can also use the washer, iron, cooker etc. so you can travel light and not stress about the little things.

We're pretty relaxed about what you do in the house, but please smoke outside.

Check in is listed as 18:30 but we'll be flexible wherever possible.

We're also very used to taking in English language students and we make an effort to try and help you practice so if you're coming to Ireland to learn English there's no where better to stay.

Guest Access

* 1 double bedroom
* 1 toilet with shower and bath tub
* downstairs toilet
* shared living room & kitchen
* second living room
* washing machine

Interaction with Guests

When we're around we like to hang out with guests, offer tips to make sure you have the best stay and generally chat about anything at all.

The Neighborhood

The neighbourhood is safe and offers a huge variety of things to do.

* Quick commute to city centre
* Great parks, riverside walks and cycle routes.
* Bars and restaurants in walking distance in Terenure and Rathgar.

Getting Around

* Buses (3 minutes from house) takes you quickly into town.
* On street parking
* Easy walk to nearby supermarket (7 minutes), pubs, and restaurants.

Other Things to Note

Please look at the map of our other listing where you'll find all our recommendations for local restaurants, pubs, walks etc...

+ More

House Rules

Smoking outside. Three of us share the house currently and we work Mon - Fri from 09:00 so weekdays tend to be quite relaxed and quiet, apart from that there's no real rules. Just respect the other people in the house and their stuff.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay
Your bedroom

Your bedroom

16 Reviews
  


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


John And Diana

John And Diana

Rathfarnham, Ireland · Member since April 2012

Easy going, friendly couple in our early 30s. We both work full-time. We love trying new foods and wines and love to travel and meet new people. We both like hiking and swimming. We're often out at the weekends but love cooking and socialising with guests on weeknights. I was born and raised in Dublin and my wife knows it well so we'll be able to help you plan a great break away in Dublin!

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Rathfarnham

    More places to stay in Rathfarnham: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums