traditional Donegal coastal cottage in private location with great views over the lough!
The Times: Best Irish Cottage! Pets OK
The Times: Best Irish Cottage! Pets OK
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $21 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $62
Security Deposit $309
Weekly Discount: 2%
Weekend Price $98 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 sofa bed

House Rules

Pets - we welcome well behaved pets and a maximum of 2, there is a surcharge of €20 for 1 dog, €30 total for 2 - payable after arrival.

It is VERY important that pets are kept on leads when they are not in the garden, there are loose sheep on the roads and mountainside. I have a dog myself and I know from experience that most dog owners are very careful - thank you!

Thank you for leaving the cottage tidy. I don't expect you to clean but do wash up etc and leave in a reasonable state for Mary, thanks. Great if you can strip the bedsheets to help her after, thanks.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

141 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Scott User Profile
September 2017
Beautiful.

Claire User Profile
September 2017
We had a lovely, relaxing stay in Greg's charming cottage. Just what we wanted to get away from it all for a few days. Cottage was very quaint and we enjoyed the opportunity to take the bikes out and explore. All communication was accurate and very good. Many thanks.

Mara User Profile
September 2017
Unfortunately we had a few problems and only stayed one night instead of two. The guests who were there before us did something with the fireplace so there was smoke in the whole house. Yvonne/Greg however let us know in advance and was very sorry. Mary, the host on site, also felt bad since it wasn't her fault. The place is amazing but we couldn't stay there another night. I would still recommend this place, super remote, lovely house and quiet surroundings. Only thing I have to mention is that is was not very clean (bathroom, kitchen) and the WIFI didn't work at all and we also had someone to come and fix the shower first. I guess we just had some bad luck. Whatever happens though, the host will try her best to make it up to you and it will be alright ;-)
Greg User Profile
Response from Greg:
Hi Mara, Glad you thought the place was amazing, yes it was very unfortunate the fire caused such a problem, happy to say it was fixed the very next morning! But we understand you didn't feel you could stay the second night and we were happy to give you a full refund. We're sorry that the wifi was used, previous guests, despite our request not to use Netflix, had used in excess of 20Gb, which is the maximum we can get from the provider. Thank you for your understanding and you would be welcome back anytime!
September 2017

Fanny User Profile
September 2017
This is a dream of a place. We felt at the end of the world and absolutely loved it. Everything was top notch and the decor and attention to details are stunning. Will definitely come back again !

Richard User Profile
August 2017
This has got to be one of the best little cottages in Ireland, exceptionally traditional but with all the mod-cons and is in a truly spectacular location

Roisin User Profile
August 2017
Croaghacullion is a magical place. From the moment you arrive and see this picture perfect cottage and walk through her door your senses will have a field day. The location itself commands you to switch off and chill out. There's nothing like reading your book by the blazing turf fire while the candlelight flickers pure bliss. The nearby villages of Glencolumcille (O' Briens ice-cream, great wee beach) Ardara (spectacular Glengesh, waterfall and Maghera strand) and Killybegs (Melly's fish and chips) are all worth a visit. Then there's Mrs Molloy (the housekeeper) there really is "something about Mary" she's adorable and great craic. A truly amazing experience can't wait to go back. x

Bridget User Profile
August 2017
This cottage is wonderful. It's warm & quiet and is a much needed retreat from a noisy world. You can spend days walking the local area (Port) & everywhere you look is beautiful. Greg has lots of books to enjoy while there but also a Dvd player (& dvds). There is lots to see in Donegal & it is a lovely place to come back to after touring. Our dogs loved it & were exhausted every evening - the garden is fenced in but if your dogs are interested in chasing sheep they could get (URL HIDDEN) watch them. The cottage is everything that is shown, stated in the description. Mary is lovely, we seen nobody for the 4 days we stayed while at the cottage & only a few while out & about the area. Leaving the cottage was a sad moment but we will probably return as still a lot to see in Donegal.

This host has 745 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Kraków, PolandJoined in May 2013
Greg User Profile

I'm an architectural historian and I restore unusual and historic buildings across Europe and let them for holidays.

I'm a former University lecturer from the University of Wales (archaeology/ architectural history), and have written several books and TV series on architecture. I love great views, privacy and finding the best locations, and then renovating and restoring in an appropriate style.

I speak English, Welsh and Polish, and I understand basic French. Learning Spanish.

My properties are managed by Yvonne and she speaks English and Spanish.

Languages: English, Español, Polski
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Similar listings