The beds are  put together as a double bed here, they can also be set apart from each other.Two Chairs and a table placed by the window


Private room

2 Guests

2 Beds

Private room

2 Guests

2 Beds

Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
91 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A room, 10 sqm wide, in a well equipped house. 2 90 cm beds. Shared use of 2 bathrooms, a backyard garden, kitchen, living room with other guests . 50 meters to hiking trails , 250 meters to bus line, 12 min to the city. Quiet area, free parking.


The space
The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 1PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Amenities

Prices
Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $15
Cancellation: Flexible

Description
Description

The space

This room faces the backyard garden of the house. The daylight is let in through two big Windows. It is equipped With two 90 cm wide beds, two Chairs and a table. The door is lockable With a unique key, and the door is also of a fireproof quality. The garden and the Kitchen is only two steps away and one of the bathrooms in on the same floor.

Guest access

You will have Access to the entire house, with the exception of the other sleeping rooms, as well as a backyard garden With Chairs and a table. This backyard garden is well placed, With afternoon sun, and is protected from Windy conditions from most directions, it can be really a good spot to relax or enjoy a meal on Nice summer days. There are two roomy and modern bathrooms in this house, they are each equipped With a shower cabinets, wall mounted toilet, a mirror and a bathroom Furniture with a zink. The floor is heated. There is also a common Kitchen in this house, equipped With what You need to store, prepare and serve Food. On the ground floor there is also a roomy living room.

Interaction with guests

As long as time permits it, I will be helpful With taking You to the house from the airport, the Railway station or the harbour when You arrive. During this trip I will inform You about practical details in the neighbourhood, the nearest bus stop, the grocery store, short cuts to the city centre and starting point for hikes etc, and of course answer any questions that You may have. Priority will be given to guests staying for more Nights. During the summer season taking care of my guests is my full time occupation, and I am prepared to go a long way to contribute in away so that my guests feel that their stay becomes a memorable one. I am also aware that many of my guests are traveling on a tight Budget, and I am therefore always in search for attractions, ways of getting around etc, that one can experience, without spending too much money. In the house You will find a wide range of information making it possible to plan Your visit well, also before You are able to visit the tourist Office downtown, where You also risk waiting in line to be served at busy hours. We will provide You With brochures and maps, showing the attractions in the city, in addition to timetable for the Public transport in the area.

The neighborhood

Our experience so far, housing guests who come to Bergen, is that many of You want to do some hikes in the mountains around the city, as well as visiting the city itself. This house is situated in a way that is well suited for the combination of hiking and visiting the attractions downtown. The start of one of the paths, taking You upwards and out in the mountain area, is less than 100 meters from the entrance of the house. The path is quite steep and rocky, so good shoes are required. Within a few minutes of walking You already get to see a Nice view of the neighbourhood and the city. Also well within walking distance from the house there is a park area along the lake. You can walk on smooth gravel road along the lake, the area is accustomed to both barbecue and swimming and diving in the lake at warm summer days. There is a grocery store within five minutes of walking from the house. Please look at the map for exact location of this store.

The area is in general of an established character, where local patriotism is very much alive. You will find a mix of Young famlies with children staying here, a Nice sports park Close to the house provide good opportunities to take part in the local Soccer Club for them- And as well, You will find retired People, still sticking to their home, where they may have stayed for many years. You will also experience that it is an area of Bergen where newcomers from abroad has settled down, adding an international mixture to this neighbourhood.

Getting around

The local bus line, nr 19, taking You downtown, has its nearest stop about 250 meters from the house. The frequency Monday- Friday is every 15 -20 minute from 6.05 a.m, until 8.40 p.m. Aft(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) p.m the frequency is every 30 minute until (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) p.m., and every hour until midnight/00.30 a.m, when the last bus leaves for/from the city. The ride to/from the city centre takes 10-12 minutes. On Fridays and Saturdays there are also buses taking You back from the city at 1.30 a.m. and 2.30 a.m. from the city centre, they will be charging an extra fee if You travel on these late trips. On Saturdays, the frequency during daytime until (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) p.m., is every 20-30 minute, . On Sundays the buses run every hour from 6.00 a.m/7.40 a.m until (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) p.m. The name of the bus company is Skyss, You will find timetable and other useful information at their web page (URL HIDDEN) English text is also available. Walking down to the city centre is also an option, it is downhill most of the time. If You fancy some uphill walking, You can of course do the same when You return from the city centre. If You arrive from the airport, there are good Connections with higway tunnels most of the distance, making it into a short trip, and without having to go through the city centre.

Other things to note

This is a house where several rooms are let out to guests. The owner of the house is not living there himself, but is very much present, welcoming guests, cleaning rooms and putting clean sheets on the beds etc. The character of the house gives possibilities to get to know other Travelers, picking up hints about what to do (and not to do) while You are here. With two bathrooms it will work out fine, given of course that one shows consideration and respect for other guests, by having effective routines around this room. One shared Kitchen beteween some guests, needs some planning to work, even if Our experience from receiving guests other Places, shows that Our guests also have meals out of the house. Tables where one can sign in for use of the Kitchen is put up, securing that everybody gets Access when they need it. We dont expect You to take part in the general cleaning of the house, this will be done by us. We expect You to leave Your room in good order, that is all. When You arrive, Your room will have been cleant since the last guest, clean sheets and towels will be in its place.


House Rules
House Rules
Check-in is after 1PM

Please:
no pets
no outdoor shoes inside
no smoking inside the house
no visitors from the outside
no loud Music after 10 PM
if something is broken, let me know, I will be glad to fix it


Safety features
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
Availability
1 night minimum stay

Hosted by Håkon

Davanger, Norway · Member since March 2015
Håkon

I am a 58 year old Norwegian, born and still living in the outskirts of Bergen on an island called Askøy. I am married and have three grown up children together with my wife. Being educated as an economist, my career has been divided between working in the public sector and in the private sector. Both as a private person and in connection with my work, I have been traveling around, mostly in Europe, but also in the US. I feel therefore that I know a little about being a guest in a city away from home, and what matters when You meet Your local host.

I have particular interest in wine and art, regarding art, most of the time visiting galleries to see the old masters, like Monet, Van Gogh and our own Munch. Actually, You dont have to go far to see nice pieces of art, Bergen has some galleries which is worth visiting. I enjoy physical activity, biking or walking around, when the time allows. I reckon myself as being able to talk and write English at a sufficient level to deal with most issues that could come up, German is also part of my Language reportoire, but there are certain limitations to what I am able to explain in Germanm, but understanding more than I myself am able to ekspress.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Explore other options in and around Bergen

More places to stay in Bergen: