About this listing
A studio apartment with AC, Wifi and a garden terrace, located by St Peters basilica. Neighbourhood is very quiet and safe at night.
***The property has had a de-humidifier installed :) ***
Great apartment located on the ground floor on Via Delle Fornaci (THE PROPERTY IS ON A HILL AND TO REACH IT, GUETS HAVE TO CLIMB 55 stairs), its a few steps away from San Pietro railway station and close to St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museums. It is comprised of one double bedroom with an en suite bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen and living area. It also has a large private garden patio, ideal to eat in the open air to relax in the sun.
The apartment is furnished in a modern way and is equipped with a LCD television, air conditioning, wi-fi and a couch that folds out to a double bed. Its central position and the excellent connections provided by an efficient public transport network make it an ideal solution for a wonderful vacation in the Eternal city.
You are also available to park on the street which will help out many of you that are driving through italy.
The property is between the Vatican and Trastevere, amongst one of Rome’s most affluent and sought after areas. Here you will be surrounded by a plethora of restaurants, bars and a large supermarket. It is also next door to a gym for those of you that need your daily kick start.
You can also walk from here to Piazza Navona in 15 minutes. Everything is just a stroll away, including the Vatican museum, St peters basilica (you could be at mass in 5 minutes), Campo dei fiori and Pantheon also in walking distance.
Bus services are available in the immediate area and St Peters train station is also a short walk away. Being connected wont be a problem.
You can even get to Santa Severa Beach from here by way of train (40 min).
Please note that when staying in Rome, tourists have to pay a Tourist tax of €3.50 per person per day (for the first 10 days) [Applies to anyone over the age of 10]. Please search online for further information "Rome tourist tax".
Cleaning fee is €40 and must be paid at the check in.
1.Always keep your front door fully closed and locked when leaving your apartment.
2.Avoid disturbing your neighbours. Be considerate of the people that live in your building.
(website hidden) PARTIES. If things go missing or get damaged, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE.
4.Throw your daily trash in the main trash bins in the building entrance or on the street as indicated at the entrance of your building.
5.Keep TV & Music Volume low before 8am and after 10pm.
6.Keep your apartment clean and tidy to help keep pests to a minimum. Rome is an old city and it has cockroaches, mice, rats and scorpions !
7.Linen and towels (if provided) must only be used for their specific use.
8.Feminine products and other items must be thrown in the trash and NOT IN THE TOILET. If the toilet blocks or the sink clogs it may be due to what you are putting down there.
9.CLOSE your shutters and windows when you are not in your apartment.
(website hidden) not SLAM the doors in the apartment as it causes paint to crack around the doorframe and disturbs your neighbours.
(website hidden) NOT attempt to make any calls using the apartments phone line. Any calls registered during your stay will be charged to you.
*Please note that a Late check in/out fee of €20 applies for check ins after 8pm/ €40 after 11pm... and €20 on sundays and anytime on Public holidays.
*Cot rental €5 per night
* If you arrive at the check in 45 minutes late €20 fee will be applied. Please call us 1 hour in advance if you are running late :)
Cleaning fee is 40euro for 2 guests and 50 euro for up to 4 guests.
Alessandro and his brother were very kind.
The apartment is well located near the Vatican, so you're in Rome very quickly.
As mentioned in the description, there's a big stairway, but it's totally manageable if you're prepared.
After confirming we would arrive at the exact appointed address at 2 pm, which we did, not only was there no discernible apartment but rather a store front on a busy street, AND no one was present from our host to receive us. Finally we called the number on the reservation from a neighborhood gymnasium and no one was there to answer the phone!!! Some minutes later they did return the call after which we waited another 30 minutes on the street. Finally we spotted a couple guys half a block away gesturing and yelling that they had been waiting for us for 20 minutes! I didn't feel like calling B.S. at the time, as we needed a place to sleep but they were about 45 minutes late at that point. The two fellas grabbed our bags and hauled them up the 57 (that's right FIFTY SEVEN STAIRS) to the "GROUND FLOOR APARTMENT". It was apparent from the start that neither of these two dudes wanted to waste a moment of their precious time explaining anything about the place but went thru the motions and after a quick "this is this and that is that,blah, blah, blah, blah they quickly collected their additional 70 Euros bringing the total for 5 day in a dingy, paint pealing, spider ridden lightbulb broken hole to over 650 Euros. All in all these guys should be put out of business if this represents what AIRbnb is about.
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Via delle Fornaci. We take our clients reviews seriously and strive to maintain the highest quality of customer satisfaction possible. If you had an issue during you stay, I wish you had called us immediately so that we could resolve any and all issue you had as quickly as possible to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. That being said, I, as well as my employees who checked you in, have a few issues with both the content and accuracy of your review that you left of Via delle Fornaci.
Lets start with the scheduled check in time: My employees arrived early at 1:50 for the scheduled 2pm check in. They were on time and ready for your arrival at the scheduled time. The 45 minute delay was entirely YOUR OWN FAULT as you arrived and remained at the wrong address at least a city block from the appropriate and designated check in/meeting point. The meeting point, like you pointed out and as indicated in the booking confirmation and on the house rules, is indeed a store front (V.D. Fornaci 141) as the apartment is located off the street up a set of stairs. Furthermore if you were upset with the presence of the so noted "fifty seven stairs" up to the apartment, maybe you should have not booked an apartment where in the description explicitly states the presence of two large sets of stairs to access the property; your lack of attention to detail when planning your own vacation is not within our control--we can not change the structure of the building access--only adequately advertise as we thoroughly and explicitly did.
Regarding the check in, if you found anything out of order, broken, not up to your cleanliness, or felt that your check in was not thorough enough, these may certainly be credible feedback and if so are duly noted. In property management (we manage over 90 properties) sometimes little things break from normal wear and tear or are damaged from previous clients. Please note that little things like these are easily and quickly resolved with a simple email or phone call (regardless of your lack of bringing a phone on holiday with you). We are always more than willing to send one of our agents back over to assess and fix any situation, or to have the cleaners swing past and give the apartment another clean if you so wish.
However please realize that as a professional property management service, our employees perform over 10 check ins per day scattered across Rome and are booked back to back every day in high season. Your tardiness and clear inability to show up at an explicitly stated and easily accessible location on a moderately busy street with clearly labeled street markings in broad day light directly effects the speed at which our agents need to perform their job. Because of your mistake, you not only wasted my employees time but you also inconvenienced the clients waiting at their next check in as they were already 15 minutes late for their next appointment.
If you take a look at our profile, you will clearly note the overwhelmingly positive nature of the vast majority of our clients reviews not only on AirBnB but the many other sites we list on. We bring in on average over 5000 visitors to Rome per year through our listings and the near universal satisfaction rate of our clients speaks volumes more about our quality of service than your single inaccurate and potentially slanderous review does.
That being said, if you are ever in Rome again, we are more than happy to accomodate you with another apartment should you so wish. All we ask in return is that your review, like all other--negative or positive--reviews on our profile are accurate and not characterized by hyperbole and mischaracterizations of explicitly and accurately advertised properties on AirBnb. Its a shame you didnt handle this situation like an adult.
Très bonne situation. Attention, appartement pour 2 personnes car petite surface et aucune séparation entre les pièces. Aucune luminosité contrairement aux photos sur le site. Accessibilité au logement très difficile car au moins une quarantaine de marche à monter (enfant + bagages ...). Machine à laver qui fonctionne mais pas de quoi étendre le linge ni de le repasser. Ménage intérieur fortement à revoir et pour l'extérieur, nous n'avons pas pu profiter de la terrasse puisque table et chaise très sales et des fruits pourris sur le sol. Cependant, nous avons eu un dégât des eaux, et Alessandro a très vite réagi et nous a reloger dans un autre appartement.
because of the rain we have had, the outside furniture might have got dirty. I also cant help if fruit falls off the tree during your stay. The line to hang out your washing is outside but you never asked. Also the stairs are mentioned in the description. Thanks, Alex
The Appartement was perfectly located. Less than 5 Minutes to the vatican :) Check in and out was easily. We ha da really good Time!
When we first arrived we were shocked to see the dingy location of the apartment, set way back from the street behind everything in a very unsafe feeling area. When we finally got inside after waiting for a while due to issues with the front door key, we were greeted by a very musty smell and realised that the pictures online were very deceiving. The area was small. We later turned on the shower, which caused the toilet to flood with sewerage water, which filled up the bathroom and into the bedroom very quickly. By now it was midnight and we didn't know what to do. The smell continued to get worse by the minute so we had no choice but to call the host. We then thought it couldn't get worse, but Then we found a scorpion in our bedroom. After trying to explain what was happening, the host was very stubborn and told us to stay there the night, but this was not possible. He then agreed to move us to a 'better' Apartment. He then told us to walk to the apartment; which we were not prepared to do as we had a lot of luggage and did not know the city. By now my boyfriend was getting very frustrated and annoyed. After this, he then told us to catch a taxi at a taxi rank that did not exist, at this time there were no cars around. After deliberation, he agreed to call us a taxi, which he said he would pay for but never payed the full amount, By now it was clear that this was the worst airbnb host/agent we have been with, if we knew this was an agency we would have not booked. Leaving the apartment they moved us into which, we must admit was a million times better than the original apartment, we thought was the end, but he then wrote a terrible review about us, making false accusations and admitting to meeting us; when we never met him. We met his brother. He was also very immature about the situation. We strongly recommend not staying with these people. I cannot fairly rate it as we did not stay in this apartment.
Nice spin on things Emma, unfortunately for you other people can read the other happy reviews guests have left us. This kind of response is expected after i exposed you as the worst tenant we have ever had. As for the apartment being different from the photos, you saw it at 10:30pm when it was dark, as for unsafe....this is just ignorance as its a property located 100m from St Peters Basilica (probably one of the most policed areas I know of) and the musty smell was from the recent change of weather from 15 degrees to 30 degrees C over the space of a few days. The new property obviously was a "million times better" because its a more expensive property per night.
Great apartment! Well located, spacious and modern. Very convenient to the Vatican and the center of Rome by bus. Aside from mustiness (expected from a garden apartment), the place could not have been better!
This host has 470 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Alessandro
my brother and I manage holiday apartments throughout Rome and would love to help you find a suitable apartment for your holiday. Our agency was built on an Australian work ethic, our staff are all friendly and knowledgeable. We can give you advice on where to eat like a local, what tours to go on, what bars to visit, nightclub table service or even organise a driver for you.
We guarantee that all our apartments are as you see in the photos provided and we look forward to checking you in for an unforgettable holiday.