Daintree Valley Cottage

House - Entire home/apt · George Rd, Forest Creek, QLD 4873, Australia
Marie
Your host, Marie
4 Reviews
Response rate: 75%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Daintree Valley Cottage is a one bedroom cottage, offering outstanding views of the three mountain ranges, and 12 layers of the Daintree Valley. Sit back on the extensive decks of the cottage and enjoy sweeping views of the Daintree valley and the most ancient rainforest in the world. The cottage is set on five acres of land giving the ultimate privacy and tranquility , although offering a majestic scene to your front view. Being self sufficient and one with the eco system to our area, the cottage runs soley on solar panels and watertanks, however electric power in the house offers full electricity with light and fans along with the availability of running a bath spa tub for your relaxation and enjoyment. The cottage would suit a couple looking for a romantic and secluded getaway, a writer looking for that special place to create, birdwatchers, or anyone with the need to sit back and enjoy the beauty of nature surrounding you.

The cottage is unique and beautiful, built with love by its boatbuilder owner, his sons and wife. Hardwood floors, full kitchen and living room are all equipped with all the necessities for your comfort. The open planned living room has a range of books, 32 inch HDTV and a DVD player. This leads to the dining room, with a dining table seating for six. The kitchen has a 5 burner gas stove, gas oven and grill, electric fridge, and a range of appliances. Wake up to watch the morning mist flow through the Daintree vallery from your spacious bedroom. The bathroom features a jacuzzi with large windows opening out to rainforest views. Being run on solar power and rain water, the system is fully automated offering full electricity and ample water, however, the usage needs to be respected. The deck to the front of the cottage is extensive, some of which is covered and some being open. Be at one with nature as you experience an open avery to all the music of the rainforest. Laze your days away on the covered or open deck. A 3 seater couch can open to a futon, which can be used for sleeping or lazy afternoons. The are also two lounge chairs to enjoy the views and relax. We also have a dining table with settings for four. This leads to an open deck where you can see the beautiful valley as you relax in the sun lounges. At night view the stars like you have never seen them before.

The rainforest is directly behind you and a slow undulating property in your front yard opening to your scenery. At given times of the year the valley mist along the river floods with low moving mist that can offer a different view and movement daily.

Daintree Valley Cottage has a very soothing and relaxing atmosphere, and even though we are in a remote area we are just 5 minutes off the Daintree River and ferry crossing which allows you a simple drive to our nearest attractions such as the cape trip drive and nearby hotels and or restaurants. River tours are available on the river which can add to your adventures as Crocodiles are often seen sunning themselves on the river banks, and fishing trips can also be arranged. Daintree village is just minutes away with Café’s and hotel restaurants and small shops, and the road north offering further locations of interest. We request that visitors are aware that we are in the rainforest, so to keep in mind that the natural ambiance is surrounding you and that no domestic animals are allowed, preserving our wildlife in the area. At times special sighting have occurred of our natural wildlife with much enjoyment. We welcome all guests with the respect to the property and environment.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $1463 /week
Security Deposit: $484
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Flexible
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • My husband and I spent a beautiful and peaceful weekend at the Daintree Cottage. Despite some wet weather we were able to enjoy the view and spend some beautiful time together before the arrival of our first baby!
    We shall be back!!
    A special thanks to Geoff for the wonderful hospitality.

    July 2014
  • I experienced a wonderful four nights amongst the trees at the Daintree Valley Cottage. Marie was very generous with the information she provided about the local area and the events, activities and natural environment on offer during communications prior to arrival and this was supplemented by a folder of information in the house. The house and grounds are beautiful, such a stunning part of the country! However, I was disappointed that this property did not provide any breakfast provisions. I have stayed in many and varied airbnb properties both in Australia and overseas where breakfast supplies have always been provided to last the duration of the stay. Tea and instant coffee and 200ml (for four nights??) of UHT milk were provided but no bread and spreads, cereals and milk, juice, yogurt and fresh fruit (as I have received in all other airbnb accomodation). The geographical location of this house does not lend itself to just popping down to the corner shop for a litre of milk and a loaf of bread... I was also disappointed to be told that neither of the bedside lights worked, so no bedime reading was possible without main lights on. Further disappointment to learn that toast needs to be made in the lounge room as there was not one working powerpoint in the kitchen!

    March 2014
    Marie
    Response from Marie:

    So glad you enjoyed the cottage and all the beauty that surrounds it, it is truly a beautiful place and we always wish our guests are comfortable and enjoy it to the fullest. I would like to mention that in our compendium we do inform our guests that there is coffee and tea and milk and the essentials needed for your stay, and in 3 years have never found this to be a subject of complaint, however if some jam and butter will satisfy some needs we will be happy to try to provide it in the future, but individuals will need to bring their own yogurt and fruit. I also believe that Geoff our manager also at times surprises our guests with his fresh farmed eggs which is usually commented with such pleasure in our guest book. We also welcome our guests with a lovely bottle of wine to enjoy your first sunset and also to express our thanks in choosing our place to stay. I would however like to comment on the power where just before your stay we had a blown breaker for our first time ever which has been fixed. Our manager claims he had mentioned this to you upon arrival and was told you expressed no concern of this being a problem and that you weren't really going to read, all the other lights in the house were working. It was also mentioned that the manager was living just a few doors down if you ran into any problems and had not received any calls in reference to any situation, as that breaker must have tripped as well, for this we do apologize, but we are glad you were able to just move it to a working plug and made the best of it. Thank you for your stay.

    March 2014
  • This is a beautiful cottage that was obviously built with a great deal of care and attention to detail. The views over the surrounding rainforest and mountain ranges are spectacular and we really enjoyed the open floor plan and seamless integration of indoor and outdoor spaces - we felt a bit like we were on an elegant wooden ship floating in a sea of trees! We stayed in April and had great weather and a beautiful full moon so most of our time was spent reading and relaxing on the decks overlooking the rainforest. The spa tub is also a treat and the kitchen is incredibly well-equipped -and with the stunning views from the kitchen windows even washing dishes is enjoyable! If your idea of heaven is curling up with a good book or a glass of wine (or both) this is the place for you! The only serious drawback is the mosquitoes. We asked about this in advance because my husband and I were planning to sleep outdoors on the futon on the deck and were concerned that mosquitoes might be an issue at night. But, Marie said given the time of year (and with the various insect sprays and coils provided) we probably wouldn't have too much difficulty. However, we used bug spray and coils and little plug-in mats and we still got attacked. It's a shame because the deck is truly lovely and would have been quite peaceful if not for the mosquitoes. That said, I have already recommended the cottage to friends looking for a Daintree escape and hope to return myself next time I am in the area.

    April 2013
  • Frank and Marie's cottage was great. The photos of their treasure don't do it any justice. We loved every minute of our stay and found it very hard to leave. Will be back again.

    January 2012
Per Month
From
$232
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 57 times
About
We have three beautiful places in the world that we call home, and this is one of them as well as our yacht somewhere abroad, and the USA. We travel the world, we love to relax, we love being happy. I hope you enjoy our Cottage, and be able to relax in it too!
View full profile
Response Rate
75%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings