Urban Oasis w/ International Flair!

House - Private room · 4th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55408, United States

Isn't it the greatest feeling when you're traveling (especially internationally) to know someone in the place you are going to? That is how I want you to feel when you stay with us. You have a friend in Minneapolis!

The Space

Come and enjoy our world famous hospitality, the cutest dog you'll ever meet, whatever fresh garden produce happens to be in season, and easy access to many popular Minneapolis/St. Paul sites!!

What you can expect:
1) An ubercomfy bed/clean bathroom (once described as spa-like :)
2) Great urban location
3) A welcoming, peaceful space

I love Minneapolis and am excited to share it with you! Or if you want some peace and quiet I won't make a peep and will just show you the necessities.

You will have a private bedroom where you feel as though you have stepped into Paris! A guest has described the double bed as "heavenly."

You will have access to an elegant bathroom which is shared with myself, my husband and another very clean lady (my roommate of 10 years). I do have a roommate (friend of 7 years) in the basement who I myself rarely see. You are free to use the kitchen and there is space in the fridge or cupboard for any necessities. I have at least one bike that can be used and there are NiceRides (bike rentals) close by. You are free to use the dining room/living room space, as well.

There is a bus stop on my block. This bus connects to downtown, Uptown, and the light rail which can take you to the airport, Mall of America, and lots of other wonderful places!

My dog Molly is tons of fun! You can pay as much or as little attention to her as you like.

We are world travelers and speak Spanish and French fluently and welcome stories, new cultures, and new foods!!

FAQs
Is there street parking? Yes, lots of unrestricted parking
Is there a bus that goes to the Minneapolis Convention Center in downtown? Yes, it passes right in front of my house and takes about 15-20 minutes
How much is a cab from the airport? ~$40; Super Shuttle is cheaper; bus is a bit complicated but even cheaper!

***I give you lots of information about myself and my household in my profile to make you comfortable with staying in my home, so please do the same in your profile before requesting a reservation so I know who I am welcoming into my home. Some verifications and reason for your visit are required**

Guest Access

Kitchen, two bathrooms, dining room, living room, hammocks, garden

Interaction with Guests

As much or as little as you like. We are generally home when guests are here, except for work hours.

The Neighborhood

Our neighborhood is diverse, lively, urban, and well-situated

Getting around

If you are driving we are 3 blocks from interstate 35, 15 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes from downtown
Public transport doesn't get easier: on the bus route to downtown; express bus to downtown is 3 blocks away

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 2
Extra people: $5 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $285 /week
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I had a great time at Christie's. If you are looking for a nice and quiet accomodation close to downtown, that's the place to go. In addition, Christie was the perfect host: She gave me rides from/to the airport and we also went out for dinner together.

    April 2014
    Christie
    Response from Christie:

    Thank you! Can't wait to visit you in Germany ;)

  • The reservation was canceled 34 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    March 2014
  • A pleasant stay. Casual and low stress and room was comfortable. Very accommodating to my needs. Molly the dog and everyone easy to get along with. Classy.

    March 2014
  • Christie and her adorable dog Molly were vey welcoming! The location was perfect for our visit. Close to great food, museums and shopping. We felt very comfortable staying and would definitely seek her out should we return for another visit!

    March 2014
  • Christie's place was nice. It was set in nice part of Minneapolis that was close to some fun restaurants, the MIA, as well as other locations one would would possible want to see while in town. The parking on the street outside was open and easy to find a spot right in front. Her dog was super sweet and cute and fun and cuddly and fun and sweet. Play with/pet the cute dog while you are there. We weren't there for long(only over night to sleep while out and about in the city), so we didn't get too much time with Christie, or her husband, or her roommates, but they they all seemed very nice.

    We would rate this airbnb as a 5 star if it was just her and her husband. We just wanted to bring to attention that she does have two roommates who also share the space with you. This did not detract from our experience as we were just looking for a place to crash on Friday night and were out the next morning early. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean(and a nice tub that I wished I could have used, the sheets were clean, etc. No complaints at all. Thanks again for letting us stay at your place and for the tips on locals restaurants, etc. Good luck with all that snow!

    March 2014
  • I had a wonderful time at the Urban Oasis with Christie and company. Not only is the home in a wonderful location, near restaurant row, it is just minutes to downtown. The home was comfortable and cozy, the dog Molly is a sweetheart, and I felt comfortable and welcome. I highly recommend staying here.

    February 2014
  • We stayed at Christie's for our short trip to Minneapolis and it was perfect. She definitely made us feel at home...and the dog, Molly as well! :) Her home is also very close to the bus stop which took us right downtown to the restaurant we ate at and the target center. I would highly recommend staying at Christies!

    February 2014
  • Fantastic stay.

    February 2014
  • My friend Liana and I enjoyed our stay with Christie and her awesome dog Molly. The house was nice and warm when we arrived it was quite welcoming inside as well. Would recommend this place for anyone staying in the twin cities area. Great location too!

    January 2014
  • Christie was very accommodating and her place was convenient and very clean. Will stay there next time I am in Minneapolis.

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$45
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 124 times
Languages
English, Español, Français, Português
School
University of Minnesota School of Dentistry
Work
Apple Tree Dental, General Dentist
About
I'm a Minneapolis transplant from Wisconsin where I grew up. I went to school in Minneapolis for 9 years (biology and then dentistry). I am now a dentist and have been for nearly two years. I work with mostly special needs patients and the elderly. I work four days a week in different nursing homes and assisted living communities. My husband Wilger and I bought this, our first house, in 2009 and completely remodeled it. I love to host and make people feel as if they are at home with all the little conveniences and more! I have travelled quite a bit and my best travel experiences have always occurred when I stay with people who are familiar with the area. In the past two year I've been to Ecuador 10 times with my husband. I've also lived in Senegal (naka nga def?!) and Guatemala, traveled to Bolivia, Mexico, France, El Salvador, Honduras, and Costa Rica and aspire to travel much more. My greatest travel experiences have been with people who know the area. I'm totally willing to pick you up at the airport (if my schedule allows), give you tips on the best places in the city, maybe even take you there :) I love to play with my dog, get addicted to tv shows, garden, exercise, travel, read, and learn new languages. The most recent movie that I have seen was Argo and I loved it! The most recent language I have tried to learn is Portuguese because I want to travel to the World Cup in Brazil to watch Ecuador win! I used to compete in inline skating marathons I love dogs! I've always had English Springer Spaniels (including my current dog Molly) I love wine and cheese (Moscato and goat gouda at the moment) and am always looking for someone to share a cup and a slice with!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings