AustraliaVictoriaBrunswick East
Room in Deco Apartment in Brunswick

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
556 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A large room with king size bed in a vintage apartment stocked with interesting vintage items! Located next to a tram stop direct to the city 15 minutes away. Located in an area known for its underground culture, music and ethnic foods.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check Out: 4PM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $11 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 7%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The space

The apartment is Deco/Edwardian in style and has polished floorboards and ornate ceilings and wooden blinds. Your room has polished floorboards, a king sized futon bed, furniture and is 4.3 metres by 4.2metres in size, quite big enough to hang out in all day.

The rest of the flat is more 'cosy' in size - a small kitchen a bit like a ships galley, a compact 1940's style green tiled bathroom with a shower bath and a long loungeroom with vintage furniture and bric a brac.
The flat is located next to two major public transport routes. Tram 96 is just 30 metres away and takes you south to the city centre in 15-20 minutes or all the way to St Kilda beach in 45 minutes. Bus stops take you east to Bundoora and west to Pacoevale. The Lygon Street tram line that goes past Melbourne University is 10 minutes walk west and Sydney Road and its great thrift stores, middle eastern foods and a fashion district is within 20 minutes walk. Taxi to/from Airport takes 25-30mins and 50-$60.

Traffic sounds are normal for a room next to a main street but minimised by double windows. The pub across the road can be heard sometimes but it is not loud at all and the music is mostly good :)

I like talking with guests but Im also mindful of their space - and not bothered if guests spend all their time in their room.
Please note this is a 1940's apartment,and it has a old feel and worn yet funky feel about it. If you're looking for a well maintained apartment that is contemporary and sterile please look elsewhere :)

Guest access

Wifi. Bathroom and kitchen is shared but I mostly shower at the swimming pool and use the downstairs toilet as much as I can.

Interaction with guests

I'm home mostly but sometimes I am away on working trips so I might not be there for part of your stay but conversely I am home alot when I am not away. The yoga studio runs as normal even if I am not here.

The neighborhood

This area is a crossroads between two great cultural strips of inner Northern Melbourne.
Located in East Brunswick, between High St, Northcote and Lygon St Brunswick you have the choice of some of Melbourne's best budget dining and cool bars. Restaurants range from cheap eateries to quality Lebanese and Turkish with Indian, Greek, Italian and Thai places. Around the corner Ceres Environmental Centre is set on reclaimed parkland next to Merri creek and it's convenient bike paths. Ceres has a daily organic foods market and two cafes with outdoor and indoor dining. They also have a bike shed where you can buy a second hand bike cheap - or take your own to work on. There are three coffee places within 50metres, and the Lomond Hotel Pub right across the road has good live music and there's also a pizza place downstairs.

Getting around

Easy transport options - the tram is right outside.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)

Theres a yoga studio downstairs so if you see shoes out then please keep noise to a minimum :)


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

65 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Melbourne, Australia · Joined in September 2009
Lindsay User Profile

As an artist working in animation and video I am involved in many community related projects. I manage a Yoga studio at this address, downstairs from the flat. I really enjoy Yoga, good food, good company and getting out into the sunshine whenever I can. Melbourne is a great city of arts and music - there's always something on and my flat is in a great location between Brunswick and Northcote, two suburbs with many arts warehouses and venues. Please be aware that the apartment is old yet has a funky vibe - think Berlin - it is not for those who want spick and span modern hotel style accommodation.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet