[SEOUL SERENE] QN BD/WiFi/privbath

Apartment - Private room · Hoehyeondong 2(i)-ga Myeongdong, Seoul, Myeongdong 100-876, South Korea

Welcome to ihouse!

All our rooms are private with private bathrooms. We have free WiFi, AC and heating.

We are close enough to Myeongdong to be part of the main scene but removed enough to be quiet - the perfect location!

The Space

Welcome to ihouse!

We just opened January of 2013 - our rooms and facilities are brand new!

(this room is a bit cheaper due to small window and no TV)

This listing is for a 1 QUEEN bed 1BATHROOM in the Namsan/MyeoungDong area. We have a total of 12 rooms available in a variety of sizes. (largest room is a 2 queen bed / bathroom).

Namsan CableCar

(great for visiting the elegant NamsanTower),

MyeoungDong shopping district
(yeah LotteDutyFree, InnisFree and Uniqlo!) and

MyeoungDong subway
(Line 4, skyblue line) are all 7 minute walking distance.

Additional nearby sightseeing destinations include
GyeongbokPalace (Korean Royal Palace) and InsaDong, which are less than a 10 minute cab ride away.

Bedroom is well-lit and spacious located on 4th floor of residential house. There are 5 other guest rooms on the floor but each room is quiet since the rooms are very solidly built and with a fireproof door.

Limited parking available.

all-in-all ihouse is an affordable, very comfortable and cozy newly built guesthouse with eager staff that await guests such as yourself! Thank you for your interest in ihouse.

basic amenities included (towels, shampoos, soaps, hair dryer etc) ; we will also try to cater as much as possible to personal requests! (additional amenities, extra chairs etc)

Getting around

LOST! WORST CASE SCENARIO (show this to your cab driver or a good samaritan on the street)

서울시 중구 소공로 6가 길 22 입니다.
남산케이블카아래 중국대사관영사부아래
현대사진관쪽으로 왼쪽으로 내려가시면
일차선 양방향길에있습니다.
상호는 i-house 입니다.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $5 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $192 /week
Monthly Price: $722 /month
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Location: near the Metro Line 4 Myeongdong, travel is quite easy, but the ramp route is relatively high, requires a certain strength.
    Space: Room space is not too small, a large bed, a desk, private bathroom, relatively simple and clean, the kitchen is shared. We live in a room without windows, there will be a musty, the landlord may want to improve the look.
    Services: The landlord for our requests for help can be timely, service is good.
    Overall: At the time you see this listing on airbnb, because the price is cheaper, more convenient location, more suitable for exercise or enjoy shopping in Myeong-dong travelers.

    March 2014
  • We had great time in Seoul!
    Very good hostel for backpackers overall. Location is very good, close to Myeongdong subway station and Seoul tower. Budget-friendly. It is an interesting experience that we didn't see James throughout our trip and he's been kind and helpful, responsive to our requests via text or phone calls, i.e. Asking for hairdryer, receiving the packages from shops etc. Room is simple, not well decorated honestly, but I cannot ask for more for that price. Cons: we had to climb "hill" to get to the ihouse and there is no elevator. That is not very convenient for elders and pp who carry large luggages.

    March 2014
    Response from James:

    Thanks for the review and glad that you had a good trip. During some periods I am busy so we must have missed each other in and out but always glad to help out with your requests!

  • The room is very near to namsan cable car n myeongdong shopping street. About this room, if u are sensitive to bad smell, u shouldn't choose this room. U are advised to choose another room that is offered by james. I don't even meet James but i met Mr. Seong that does the housekeeping is very nice. On my first day, I complained about the bad smell and james help me to solve the problem by giving the air freshner. One word to describe my stay ==> nice!

    March 2014
  • Clean and simple place to stay near the main shopping area, myeongdong.Would recommend if youre looking for basic living facilities. Host was accommodating towards late check in!

    February 2014
  • Decent place to stay near the main shopping area, myeongdong. Challenge walking up the slope when going to his place! Would recommend if youre looking for basic living facilities.

    December 2013
  • This is our second time staying at James' place. Checking in and out is easy and really convenient for travelers who can't be too sure of their arrival timings.

    The walk uphill with luggage once again, was a tremendous task, but can also substitute as a good work out, or a warm-up in the frigid winter cold.

    James' rooms have heated floors so they make for really comfortable staying. The walls are pretty thin though, but it wasn't really an issue because the guests are considerate themselves.

    Location is excellent and we couldn't ask for a better area to be in for the price.

    December 2013
  • James' house is situated way high up on a steep incline so be prepared to sweat it out if you have heavy luggage (or sweat it out in general if you are unfit, which I am).
    Otherwise than that, it's a perfect place if you're looking for a buzzing nightlife, with it being a stone's throw away from Myeong Dong.
    The N-Seoul tower is also located right above.
    The room is as seen in the photos, clean and simple.

    December 2013
  • This room is very simple, there is nothing but a bed and a bathroom, but the room and bathroom are decent sizes, for single or even for two girls like us. This place is very convenient, 5 mins walk to Myung Dung , and there is everything you need At MD. There is also A lot of coffee shops down the street just a minute away. Dragging ourselves and the luggages up the hill and up 4 floor is a little painful on winter nights. But if you want convenient location this is the place for you, the price is unbeatable.

    December 2013
  • First of all, given the prime location, the price of this place is unbeatable. The room is simple and equipped with everything you'll need: wifi, bed, desk, shower, towel, etc. It is perfect for travelers who are looking for a cheap and convenient place to stay in the center of Seoul. The subway station is literally 5min's walk down the hill, and the busiest shopping district Myeongdong is right across the street! (Imagine yourself looking for a similar place in the middle of Manhattan!!) But if you are looking for a cozy house furnished like a hotel and have warm staff 24/7, then this won't be the place for you.

    November 2013
  • Disappointing. Smell of sewage in room. No TV. Trash not picked up in common areas. No linen in room. Expensive for what it is and difficult access. Common kitchen was dirty. No one to greet you other than calling or texting the landlord. I think this is good for slobs who just want a cheap stay overnight.

    October 2013
    Response from James:

    If you had issue with the smell, or lack of TV 9was in repairs) or common area trash or linens, I would have been glad to help you out.

    BUT you never mentioned any of these issues to me.

    As for price... we pretty much compete on price so good luck in your next travels.

    No reason to lash out in a review without making an effort to allow me to assist you.

Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 531 times
English, 한국어
Phillips Academy, Cornell University
서울시 중구에 작은 게스트 하우스 운영하는 *정유균* 입니다. 명동이나 남산 쪽에 볼일 있으시면 따뜻하고 편하게 모시겠습니다. 비앤비를 통해 i-houseseoul닷com 을 찾아 주셔서 감사드립니다! i-house is a brand new built guesthouse (as of Jan, 2013) (website hidden) I am either on the premises cooking, watching movies or building some simple websites, or out and about tutoring English or shopping at Costco love movies, dining, working out always trying to be a good host - also wish there were some pets on the premises! i-house is a guesthouse with 12 rooms, a couple with long-term residents - we try to cater as much to everyone's personal needs. Please stop by if you need an affordable reliable place to stay near MyeoungDong!
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings