JungleVilla quiet room, Sleeps 2-4

Villa - Private room · Manuel Antonio, Puntarenas, Costa Rica

Bedding: 1 king size double bed plus 1 bunk bed.
This 400 square feet room is only for guests who want to enjoy the tranquillity of the surrounding jungle. NO wi-fi,and cell phone reception here and NO television. Very quiet room.

The Space

This is the only real Jungle Villa in Manuel Antonio.
Don't be fooled by villa owners who pretend to be in the same area as our real Jungle Villa in Manuel Antonio.

Here you find maximum privacy without any neighbors seeing you and the visiting monkeys the Jungle Villa is famous for. Away from the rest of the World, just you, the jungle, the animals and the Ocean. Staying here is an experience, not just a place to sleep!

Guests of this room have full use of the kitchen*, 3 pools, pool area and 5 terraces. Guests can buy and prepare their own food and drinks in the villa's kitchen*

This room is only rented to people who can stand the quietness, the darkness at night and the sounds of the rain forest.

Experience has learned that some guests find this room too quiet, the outside too dark at night and the eternal sounds of the jungle too scary.
This part of the villa does not have wi-fi or cell phone reception.

This room is located in a very private villa in Manuel Antonio with ocean and jungle view, visiting monkeys, 3 pools, air-conditioning*, wi-fi, cable tv, 2 staff. Paradise resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio where Ocean, Jungle and Western comfort meet.
Truly the Pearl of Manuel Antonio
This villa is set in 2.3 private acres of lush tropical rainforest which surrounds the villa completely, giving total privacy to you and your guests.

Under the villa's huge 5500-square-feet roof you find a big open-air living space and bedrooms (with air-conditioning* and locks). The open-air living space has a kitchen*, living room, bar, dining area, tv room and terraces, all with wi-fi.
From here you have an unobstructed view of the jungle and Pacific Ocean: no windows, no doors, no walls.

2.5 to 3 hours drive from San Jose International Airport (SJO)
6 Minutes drive to Quepos, 12 Minutes drive to Quepos Airport
In the heart of Manuel Antonio, halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park
Manuel Antonio Park and beach are a 20-minute walk or 5-minute drive
8 Restaurants within 5 minutes walk.
Nearest grocery store is 8 minutes walk

Total size of living room, kitchen*, TV room, 5 terraces (30 seats): 4500 square feet
Total size of 3 pools, pool area: 3500 square feet
Our staff can arrange car rentals, tours, transfers, taxis, massage

* IMPORTANT: To cover the high costs of electricity and gas in Costa Rica we charge $5 per day per room for use of the air-conditioning.

Other Things to Note

Optional additional costs:
$5 per day for use of air conditioning unit.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Our family stayed there for four nights. This is the second time we visited Costa Rica. I booked this place through airbnb.com and paid it in full (over $110 per night) in advance and was not refundable. It took us over 30min to find this place after we drove (with the exact coordinates on our GPS) there because there is no single sign on the gate. We asked a realtor to locate this place for us.

    After check in, Ad took us to the room downstairs. On the way to the room, we were greeted with piles of junk. My 8 year old asked me if we had to stay there. My wife was really upset and accused me why I booked this place. After getting into the room, we smelled the bad odor immediately. The bath rooms were even worse. The towels were torn. Luckily we brought our towels for the beach. So we used our own towels for both indoor and outdoor, never used the towels from the villa. You can see for yourself from the uploaded pictures.

    The next day, I checked the property and took some pictures. After seeing the sign (Villa for sale), we know why. Since they are trying to sell property, they don't want to spend a penny and just want to make as much as possible. They do have three pool (two tiny ones and one a little bigger), but my kids refused to swim there since they are too dirty (see photos). During our 4 days there, we didn't see anyone swimming in the pools.

    After this unexpected experience, we tried to spend as much time outside this villa (we call it ABANDONED JUNK YARD) as possible. The surrounding national parks and beaches are beautiful and it helped us recover from the initial shock.

    I was going to make some suggestions to Ad before I saw the On-Sale sign. If a little more maintenance is done, junk removed and better towels provided, it could be a good place to stay. I am not complaining ants in rooms or mold in the corner because these are expected in a jungle.

    On the last day, we did see many monkeys on the property and we consider it a happy ending. I absolutely DO NOT recommend this place to any one unless you want to donate some money for the owner's retirement.

    February 2014
    Response from Ad:

    Every day we asked these guests, like we ask all other guests, whether everything was ok. Robert and his family never had any complaints.
    The villa has plenty of towels so just one question had been enough to solve this. Not something you have to wait for till after you leave the villa.
    Every guest gets before arrival the website address of our location with aerial pictures, GPS coordinates, Map location and text description how to drive to the villa from San Jose airport. This is public information and can be found by anyone searching for Jungle Villa location.

    Since 1999 we never had any burglary in the villa because we do not have signs!! No other villa in Manuel Antonio can claim this!
    But indeed you have to check our location page to find this very privately located villa.....

    No other private villa in Manuel Antonio has a 80.000-gallon pool which is cleaned 3-4 times a day by our maintenance staff.

    Our biggest problem with these guests was the language problem. This family spoke Chinese and only the father and 1 child spoke English very poorly.

    It would be very stupid not to maintain a house anymore because it is sold. A well-maintained house sells a lot faster than a non-maintained house!!
    And the extra maintenance are easily recovered by a higher selling price.

    In short, had the communication with this family been better during their stay, they would have had a much better experience in this unique villa.

  • Despite the nice view and pleasant communal area, the bedroom was not as nice as we had hoped and we decided instantaneously to move to alternative accommodation in Manuel Antonio.

    We had been warned that the room was in a quiet part of the house without much natural sunlight, which wouldn't have been a problem had it not smelt damp with poor decor. Admittedly, the place was clean, but we didn't feel comfortable.

    December 2013
  • We tended to stay only one night but Ad was such a nice host that we stayed two more. Ad never felt tired to give advices and support and would always provide you with background information about CR and this special area. Especially he showed us all the animals living around- having breakfast close to the monkeys was an amazing experience.
    The rooms are really spacious and clean and there is a hudge pool area.
    Altogether in the Jungle Villa you don't feel like a tourist but Ads guest! Thank you, Ad:)

    August 2013
  • Ad was a great host and the stay in his Jungle Villa was pretty awesome and a really great price. It's definitely the place to go if you want to experience a jungle feel and get away from the noise and crowds of Manuel Antonio but still be close enough to get to the action when you need to. Cooking in the open air kitchen right by the pool was by far our favorite part of staying there... oh and the monkey visit one morning during our stay. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

    May 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 9 times
Thomas Moore College, University Brabant
We are owner of this beautiful Jungle Villa since early 1999.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings