bedroombedroom


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Our house is an old farmers house restored following the original design, located in a rural environment (countryside). We are just 2 km from the center of Penafiel, a small but friendly town. Although very close to the city, the house sits in a very quiet place.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Discount: 14%

Description

The space

Hello! Welcome to the Rural House. Thank you for visit our page.

Our house is an old farmers house restored following the original design, located in a rural environment. Despite that, we are just 2 km from the center of Penafiel city, a small but nice and friendly town with over 250 years of history, and where you can find everything you may need (supermarkets, cafes, restaurants, take away, pharmacies, banks, post office, tourist office, etc.). Hospital is also very close (5 min.).
Although very near to the city (the house is only 5 min. of the highway tolls to/from Oporto), the house sits in a very quiet place, ideal to relax surrounded by the sounds of nature.

The house is a family house, this means we leave here, but we offer you complete privacy in the room (with 2 body-double bed) with private bathroom and separate entry door, if you prefer, in an entire and private floor, with private balcony. There's also a sofa bed for children.
Dining room, living room and kitchen are shared with the family in familiar ambient.

Our goal is that our guests feel comfortable and at home, as part of the family, but we ask for some understanding since we have our schedules (which DO NOT interfere with the schedules of our guests), our jobs, our children to care for. We are not hotel professionals. We are a family that enjpoy to receive and meet people from all over the world who in turn want to have the experience of meeting a Portuguese family.

About the town, Penafiel has a very central location to many other points of interest: 30 km from the sea, the beaches and the city of OPorto (with excellent train connections to there), 50 km from the heart of the Douro River (where is produced the famous Port wine and some of the best table wines in the world), 30 km from Guimarães (the birthtown of Portugal), 50 Km from Braga, and these are just some of the main attractions that we have around us.

Other points of interest may be:

- Winery Quinta da Aveleda, one of the biggest and most famous producers of green wine (Vino Verde - "Casal Garcia") and their beautiful and charming gardens(4 Km)

- Romanesque routes and monuments (XI-XIII centuries), variables, but we recomend route to the city of Amarante (20 km), or monastery of Paços de Sousa (10 Km)

- City of Amarante (20 Km)

- Thermae of S. Vicente (15 Km)

- Ruins of Castro Monte Mozinho is the largest Roman fort in Iberian peninsula (10 Km)

- Ruins of the Roman city of Tongóbriga, Marco Canavezes (18 Km)

- Paiva river Walkways, 8 km that provide a walk "untouched", surrounded by unique beauty of landscapes (40 Km)

- Prehistoric monuments as Dólmenes, tombs, menhirs (variables)

- Mountain nature: Marão mountain (50 Km), Alvão mountain (50 Km), Aboboreira moiuntain (30 Km)

We have also a swimming pool available in summer time. The swimming pool is a little bit apart from the house (50 meters) and belongs to a larger part of the family, but it is on entire disposal for guests.

TO HAVE OWN CAR OR TRANSPORT is not entirely necessary, but it is advisable.

Guest access

Our guests have a private room (with 2 body-double bed) with private bathroom and separate entry door, if you prefer, in an entire and private floor, with private balcony. There's also a sofa bed for children.

Our guests can also use the kitchen, the dining room and living room, but those are shared with the family.

Interaction with guests

We enjoy to meet people from different countries and cultures, and we are happy to fraternize, but we ask for some understanding since we have our personal schedules (which DO NOT interfere with the schedules of our guests), our jobs, our children to care for. We are not hotel professionals. We are a family that enjoy to receive and meet people from all over the world who in turn want to have the experience of meeting a Portuguese family.

The neighborhood

Our house is LOCATED in COUNTRYSIDE. Despite that, we are just 2 km from the center of Penafiel city, a small but nice and friendly town with over 250 years of history, and it's possible to walk till town, in a 30-minute walk. In the town you can find everything you may need (supermarkets, cafes, restaurants, take away, pharmacies, banks, post office, tourist office, etc.). Hospital is also very close (5 min. by car).
Although very near to the city (the house is only 5 min. of the highway tolls to/from Oporto), the house sits in a very quiet place, ideal to relax surrounded by the sounds of nature.

Getting around

PS - Great public transports from Oporto to Penafiel (and vice-versa), but the train station is 6 km from the house whithout public transports between it, ... but we are here to help :)

Other things to note

We do not have strict cancellation rules for reservations, but we ask people to be understandable and responsible when they make their reservation. Peolple should be sure that want to come to this type of house and environment. Therefore, we advise you to read our full description, and in case of doubt contact us in advance. We are always ready to answer any questions.


House Rules

Nós não temos regras especiais, apenas apelamos para a compreensão de que não somos profissionais, mas uma família que adora conhecer pessoas de todo o mundo e fazê-los sentir como parte da família ajudando da melhor maneira possível. Obrigado...


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

100 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Leigha User Profile
November 2016
The space is so charming! Virgilio and Anna are both warm and inviting. The room is a bit chilly, but they have a space heater and plenty of extra blankets. The room is secluded and private, but the family space is available and welcoming. Great place to stay (especially if you have a car). Highly recommend.

Brette User Profile
October 2016
Virgilio's GPS coordinates made finding the place very easy. The room itself is absolutely beautiful and charming, with a seating area outside. Virgilio and Ana were wonderful, hospitable hosts, inviting us to their own table for a delicious dinner and vinho verde and allowing us access to the kitchen to be able to make tea and have breakfast with their homemade jams the next morning. Our only regret is that we had stayed longer.

Judith User Profile
October 2016
Virgilio welcomed us into his beautiful home; everything was clean; even left breakfast for us at the table because we had to leave extremely early for a flight. Driving to the Porto airport is incredibly convenient thanks to the highway, so is driving into the beautiful Douro Valley. Can definitely recommend staying there.

Souluong User Profile
October 2016
The house was a bit tough to find but Virgilio did everything he could to make sure we did not get lost. He showed us the house and explained what access we had (kitchen etc.). We had our own room and private sitting area and the entire house was very clean. We were able to try homemade jams and jellies and we felt quite at home there.

Diede User Profile
October 2016
Communication with Virgilio went prefect. The house was easy to find on the coordinates. In a small village with a mini market and a bakery (you can walk there from the house), in between grape yards, down a small road we found the beautiful stone house. Felt really idyllic and peacefull. The house was like an old English cottage. Virgilio was welcoming and showed us around the house. Later we met Ana and the two kids. Also warm welcoming and kind. The room with veranda was on the second level, the family lives on the first. The room was neat, clean and comfortable. But it was also really dark and didn't match the perfect sunny weather. Waking up (bed was hard) with open windows and the sounds of a small river and the birds was peacefull. The first evening here we changed our plan for the rest of our few days holiday. We thought we wanted to stay at one place for 4 nights and explore the rest of the area from this place and being really active every day. We decided, now we saw the beautiful landscapes, we wanted to be more in nature. So we wanted a place where we didn't have to do anything, have lots of privacy, didn't have to leave the house, but where everything is possible if we wanted to. This house, for us, was more a place to sleep and be away the rest of the day, exploring. The mood in the house changed totally when we told our decision and cancelled the other 3 nights. Didn't feel welcome anymore. Virgilio tried to understand, but act really disappointed. When packed our bags, said goodbye and thanked for the hospitality Ana pushed the present back in our hands we gave the day before. She couldn't even say goodbye or look us in the eyes doing it. It was unbelievably rude, unnecessary and disrespectful. Left a bad taste.
Virgílio Alexandre User Profile
Response from Virgílio Alexandre:
Hi, Diede. Thank you for your very completed review, even if you have been here just a few hours. Apparently it was enough to make you change your reservation. I'm really sorry, at least as much as you are, if something went wrong. You mentioned that we were disappointed. Well, we feel sad everytime someone cancels a reservation, or stays less days than originally planned, no matter the reason but especially if it is due to something we should do better. Your case was not the first one, and certainly will not be the last, we know that. The thing is that are ways, and ways, to do things. We had our only room reserved for you for several days. You arrived at october 7 around 6:30 pm. We show you the house and everything and you were there with us, even at dinner time, but you didn't say nothing. Around 11:30 pm, almost at midnight, I received your message, by airbnb (that I saw luckily at this hours), saying that was nothing wrong about anything but, and now I quote: "As we are already in bed, I do it this way now", to change your reservation saying that you pretend to live the next day, october 8. You do not even have spoken with us, and, as you said in your review, we were just downstairs, in the floor below. We could have restricted cancellation terms, but we do not precisely to give greater freedom to potential guests. Our cancellation terms are the freest, which still means, according to the airbnb rules, that guests must cancel 24 hours in advance. We could also simply have rejected the request for change the reservation, but we did not because we do not understand this as a mere business and we understand that people should not stay here counteracted. We could have many rules in the house but we don't because we trust in common sense and responsibility of people, and in 4 years we had no problem (and is not this case that will change this situation). We take care to give all the information to the people who see our ad in the airbnb website, saying that this is a house where lives a family, which is a small town that is not very touristic itself but informing the distance to several points of interest and the best way to get there, all this so that people do not feel defrauded. Even so it is natural that not all people like the same way, but I insist, there are different ways of doing things, some better than others. So, if in some way Ana, my wife, was "rude and disrespectful" because she refused the cookies that you wanted to leave to us moments before you leaving (not "the day before" as you mentioned), if she even looked you in the eyes, I'm sorry but I have to say it that you didn't better the way you chose to change your reservation. You didn't look at us in the eyes, you didn't respect us, you not even have spoken to us, and we were there. Any way, the idea that I have is that you are a young and very friendly couple, and I just which very warmly all the best and all the happiness for you in your life.
October 2016

Lee User Profile
August 2016
Lovely home. Lovely people.

Edwin User Profile
August 2016
Virgilio was very welcoming. He showed us the house and where we were staying. We inmidiately felt at home. The room is very neat and cosy with wooden ceilings. The veranda is nice to relax with a good wine and listening to the sounds of nature.

Penafiel, Portugal · Joined in May 2011
Virgílio Alexandre User Profile

I'm from Penafiel, Porto, and I work in floriculture. I love plants, nature and literature.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.