About This Listing
English, Portuguese and Spanish
We are an American/Brazilian couple living in Amsterdam for the last 15 years and we love this city so much!
Private entrance independent room with bathroom next to it on the second floor.
We live on the top two floors of the building and the room we are renting is on the top floor. It has an independent entrance (you don’t have to go through the part of the apartment where we live to get there).
We would love to welcome you to our place. We like to exchange cultural and personal experiences as we like to travel and meet people too. We will be delighted share what we know about Amsterdam with you - good places to eat, microbreweries, great café terraces and brown cafes, clubs, and neighborhoods, etc.
Our apartment is in a building designated as an architectural monument in Amsterdam. The room is a large bedroom with a small balcony with flowers and a modern bathroom (recently renovated) with shower. Bedding and towels are provided and a fast wifi connection is available free of charge. You are welcome to store things in our refrigerator (a bottle of proseco perhaps, some nice dutch cheese you find in a local market) and there is an Albert Hein grocery store close by.
We serve a nice continental breakfast with a selection of cheeses, meats, dutch pancakes, bread, juices, coffee and/or tea free of charge.
We are well located for seeing the sights in Amsterdam. We are located in Amsterdam Zuid (South), in a neighborhood built in the style of the Amsterdam School of Architecture, on a quiet street just off the well-known shopping street - the Beethovenstraat.
On Beethovenstraat there are several restaurants (including Fidelios - our favorite with an excellent dinner menu and a nice outdoor seating area!), three good coffee cafes (including a Starbucks), bakeries, nice shops and boutiques stores.
Our apartment is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam’s museum of Modern Art), the Concertgebouw, Vondel Park, Beatrix Park and the Albert Cuyp street market in the Pijp neighborhood.
For those of you coming to Amsterdam for business, we are also only a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam South train station, the Amsterdam World Trade Center, the Amsterdam Rai convention center, and the Hilton Hotel.
Getting around by public transportation
We are well located for access to anywhere in Amsterdam and to Schiphol airport by public transportation.
There are 2 trams on Beethovenstraat - the number 5 and the number 24 - that take you to the city center. Its only a 10-15 minute ride to the famous Dam square. Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein, Amsterdam central train station, and the many other places and neighborhoods to see and explore in and around Amsterdam city center.
Getting to our place from Schiphol airport
To get to our place from Schiphol airport is easy and quick. Take any train going to Amsterdam South (Zuid) train station - they run every 10-15 minutes from platforms 1 or 2 at Schiphol. The first stop will be Amsterdam South - a 7 minute ride by train. From there take the number 5 tram headed in the direction of Amsterdam city center (take the north exit out of the train station and walk across the plaza - the tram stop is up the stairs on the left on the bridge). Get off after two stops - the Stadionweg stop (OK if you miss it - just get off at the next stop - the Beethovenstraat stop). Our apartment is about 50 meters down a side street from either the Stadionweg or Beethovenstraat tram stops. Alternatively you can walk to our place from Amsterdam South train station in about 12 minutes. Either way, generally it will take you no more 25-30 minutes to get to our place direct from Schiphol airport. But be sure you take the train to Amsterdam South station, not Amsterdam Central Station! If you catch the train to Amsterdam Central Station by mistake, no problem - you can take the tram 5 or tram 24 from Central Station to the Stadionweg tram stop and voila - you're there.
For those of you coming by car, we are close to both the Amsterdam South (Oud Zuid - S108) and Amsterdam Rai (S109) exits off the A10 - the ring highway around Amsterdam. There is paid parking in our neighborhood. The best deal is the parking site at the old Olympic Stadium which costs 8 euros/day (see map and information at (website hidden)) and includes a free ticket for use for public transportation for the day. The Olympic Stadium is just off the A10 Amsterdam South exit and is about 800 meters or 3 tram stops from our apartment along the Tram 24 line (you would need to get off at the Minervaplein stop). Alternatively,you can park on our street or nearby streets but the cost is higher – € 3 euros per hour between 09.00 and 21.00 hours on Monday through Saturday. Parking at night and on Sundays is free.
We will be very happy to welcome you and do everything to make your visit to Amsterdam a comfortable and enjoyable one. And if you want to drop your luggage off early or leave it with us for a later pick-up after you've checked out, no problem - we'll make arrangements.
-Not using the Kitchen at all
-No friends over
-Continental breakfast served from 9:00 to 10:00 in the morning
-We ask you to be reasonably quiet after 10:pm
Rosie and Matt were very welcoming, and made us feel at home. The room was exactly what we were expecting, and we had everything we needed. It is in a quiet neighborhood, with easy access to most of Amsterdam. A block from the tram stop, a 15 minute walk to the South Railway Station, 30 minutes to the airport. A few minutes on the tram, or 1/2 hour of walking will get you almost anywhere you want to be in the city. The two flights of stairs were a little daunting when we arrived, but we got used to them quickly, and appreciated the view from the upstairs room. We enjoyed visiting with our hosts over breakfast--that was a treat!! I would definitely recommend this listing. Thanks Rosie and Matt
This is a great place to stay in an unbeatable location. The tram and bus stops are very close to the house, so it's easily accessible. It took me about 20 min to get there from the airport. The room is very clean, bright and spacious, with an independent entrance. Rosie was very easy to communicate with. I did not meet her, but her daughter let me in and was very helpful too. No breakfast was offered because Rosie was out of the city, but there are plenty of options on Beethovenstraat. I would totally recommend this place!
Local de fácil acesso ao centro e pontos turísticos, bairro residencial, quarto bom como esperado, banheiro compartilhado com outro hóspede, mas quanto a isso nenhum problema. Anfitriã brasileira comunicativa e que nos deu várias dicas da cidade. O inconveniente era a descarga do vaso sanitário, que fazia muito barulho e inibia o uso durante a noite, e a cobrança de uma taxa extra de 15 euros/dia não prevista no airbnb.
3 lances de escadas para subir com malas, mas como viajávamos com malas leves, isso não foi um problema. A internet wifi nunca conectou. Por sorte tinha um Starbucks a duas quadras, onde conseguíamos conectar normalmente.
Le logement de Rosie est bien placé géographiquement. Le tram est à deux pas, donc pas de souci pour se rendre au centre d’Amsterdam.
Toutefois, il y a beaucoup à redire ! Quelques semaines avant notre arrivée, nous avons été informé que nous n’aurions pas de petit-déjeuner (PDJ) deux matins sur trois. La cause : Rosie préoccupée par la fête du Roi (King’s day) et la grande braderie ! Déjà, ça partait bien !
Nous avons eu une cafetière et une bouilloire dans la chambre auxquels elle a rajouté deux paquets de biscuits !!!!
Le troisième PDJ : rien d’extraordinaire ! Une seule petite cuillère par personne en tout et pour tout (pour la boisson chaude, le sucrier, les confitures, …) !! ; pas de fourchette ni de couteau pour manger une crêpe ; une feuille de sopalin (donnée à notre demande) comme serviette (pour s’essuyer les doigts après avoir mangé la crêpe) ! Franchement, PDJ préparé à la va-vite ! D’autant qu’ayant reçu des amis la veille et ayant fait du bruit jusqu’à tard dans la nuit le PDJ n’était pas prêt à 09h15 quand nous sommes descendus déjeuner. Rosie nous dit de revenir dans 10 mns. 15 mns plus tard on revient, et elle nous dit de remonter dans la chambre pour 3 mns !!!! car le café n’était pas encore fait.
La chambre est juste à côté de la salle bain, où le système de la chasse d’eau est plus que bruyant. Cela ne se voit pas sur la photo mais le lit est plaqué contre le mur, alors il faut enjamber soit le pied du lit ou se coucher avant l'autre personne si l'on ne veut pas avoir à faire la même chose.
Rosie, nous a bien « briffés » : « si vous cassez quelque chose, il faudra payer », « ne laissez pas le robinet d’eau ouvert » ! Non mais franchement !
Sans parler des « loups » sous le lit qui ne dataient pas de la veille !
Louer pour louer, plus de 130 commentaires, franchement il y a bien mieux !
Location chère pour le service rendu.
Overall, this was not a pleasant experience. The host not very responsive, but very strict.
We booked the place for three days, but due to a change in personal plan, we asked if we can cancel the first day. That was more than 40 days before our trip. The host said she would look into this after her travel, and a few days later, she replied that we could not cancel a day because strict policy applies. I asked the host to do us a favor, but also inquired which part of the policy says the booking couldn't be cancelled by part. The host did not point me to the relevant policy, but impatiently stated that it was complicated to cancel a day, and asked us to either cancel all or leave the way it is, and she is "fine" with either. I asked, if we cancel all, whether she would charge 50% cancellation fees. This time she ignored our message and never replied. We ended up for paying for three days, but we do not blame her for the additional day charge as we chose not to push further on this point.
The host was also very particular about house rules. For example, the host told us the breakfast starts at 9 and she would knock on our door when it is ready. We waited until 9:12 and decide to go downstairs to say hi. Before we finished the "good morning" greeting, she demanded us to return upstairs, because she clearly told us that she would "knock out door when the breakfast is ready". I indeed remember this instruction, but didn't expect her to be so strict about this, especially when it is her who was late for breakfast after we indicated our willingness to leave for museums as early as possible to avoid long queue and we did not mean to chase her at all.
By the way, the toilet was shocking noisy, which would likely wake up your roommate if you use it in night.
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with this reservation. As I indicated, you had the option to modify the reservation if you had wished. The penalty is part of the airbnb cancellation policy. I am surprised that you didn’t raise your concern with me while you were staying at my place. I enjoyed meeting you and your husband and I hope this message clears up any misunderstanding. Rosie
Rosie Gianni était absente; sa fille nous a bien accueillis. Son fils aussi pour le 2ième petit déjeuner.
Le descriptif ne précisait pas que la salle de douche incluait des toilettes électriques, salle commune à 3 chambres.
Une photo de la douche à l'italienne serait bienvenue!
La rue est entre deux séries d'immeubles.
This host has 80 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Rosie
I am American/Brazilian living in Amsterdam for the last 17 years and I love this city so much!
I`m a easygoing person. I love to travel the world and meet people and exchange ideas. I am very attracted to different cultures. I am also a very sporty person, I go to the gym regularly and I`m on my bike everyday and love nature, hiking etc.
I love the experience of hosting and meeting so many interesting people from all over the world. To me this is almost like traveling in my own house.