Room and Bikes in Hip Brunswick!!!

House - Private room · Evans Street, Brunswick, VIC 3056, Australia

We are an Aussie couple in our late 20's/ early 30's and we live on a quiet street in Brunswick with our 2 cats.
Stay in our comfy, spacious spare room and make yourself at home! Easy tram access to the city or you can make use of our spare bikes!

The Space

We live with our 2 very friendly cats in a 2 bedroom, 1.5 bathroom house.
There are floorboards through out and lots of natural light, a large kitchen you can use for cooking (please leave it as you found it after you are done), a full bathroom with toilet and also a 2nd toilet, washing machine and dryer (just ask us if you'd like to use them).
We have undercover areas out the back and out the front for smoking (no smoking inside).
There is free parking on the street.
The kitchen, dining and lounge is all open plan with an AC/Heating unit which works well.
There is free parking on the street.

Guest Access

You'll be staying in our large spacious spare room which has a double bed, ideal for 2 people.
We have 2 spare bikes which you can use, along with helmets and bike lock.
The room does not have an AC/Heating unit but we provide you with a fan and electric heater.
There is a speaker system set up that you can plug your iPod into to listen to music, and also a dvd player and some dvds.
We have a 2nd fridge which is all yours to use, a cupboard in the kitchen which is for you to use and we'll supply you with a few breakfast items.

Interaction with Guests

We have lived in Melbourne for over 3 years and love it! We're happy to help you out with any tips you need on good food, pubs, bars, events and attractions while you're in this great city!
We are usually at work during the day and often out on weekends so we want you to just make yourself at home when you're staying with us.

The Neighborhood

Brunswick is a vibrant, artsy part of Melbourne and we are right in the heart of it! I wouldn't want to live anywhere else!
Half way between Lygon St and Sydney Rd we are surrounded by many great bars, music venues and eateries, all within a 5 or 10minute walk. There are 2 supermarkets nearby, one is under 5minutes walk and the other (much larger one) is a 10minute walk away.
We supply you with a map of our local area, marked with all the good spots within walking distance to eat, drink or shop.

Getting around

To get to the city you can easily jump on a tram (number 1 or 8), the tram stop is only a couple of minutes walk from our house and they run often. You can also get a train, the Brunswick station is a 10minute walk from our house, they run every 20minutes.
It's about a 20minute taxi ride from the airport which will cost you about $40 or $50.
You can also use our spare bikes to ride around. It's a 20min ride to the city or a 15min ride to the lively Fitzroy area.

Other Things to Note

There is free parking on the street.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $384 /week
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We had a wonderful time at Gayle & Bo's place, they are a wonderful couple, very warm and welcoming, made us feel at home since the first day of our stay. If you are looking for a place to stay in Melbourne, this house has everything you need! Beautiful decoration, large bedroom and bathroom in an open plan victorian house with garden, lovely hosts that will help you with everything you need. You will also find detailed information about the city in your bedroom. The house is located in one of the best neighbourhoods in the centre and the tram is 2 minutes walking distance away.
    Enjoy your stay!

    April 2014
  • We would definitely recommend Gayle and Bowl's place! They were both really easy going hosts and very flexible. Unfortunately we had to miss our flight and delay arriving in Melbourne until the following night but Gayle and Bowl were really good about it and were there to meet us when we arrived. The room and house are lovely and breakfast was left for us to enjoy. Brunswick is a great location and is really well connected to the city/St Kilda by tram. Gayle and Bowl gave us some great recommendations for local places to shop and eat, I can especially recommend Ceres and op shopping at Savers! We would definitely stay again. Many thanks Gayle and Bowl!

    April 2014
  • Trying very hard to find any faults....and....there were none. Room was spacious, well appointed and clean. Very comfortable bed! Gayle and Bowl were lovely. They had a great list of places to check out for dinner/drinks, and included us in a few drinks with their friends for Bowl's birthday! Didn't spend too much time in the house, had too much fun exploring Brunswick and the city. Very close to Lygon street and about 4-5 mins walk from Sydney road, this place was central! First time using Air BnB and these guys are definitely good ambassadors for the service.

    March 2014
  • Gayle and Bo were great hosts! The accommodation is in a central location, close to all amenities.

    March 2014
  • Gayle and Bowl are a lovely (website hidden) I always felt welcome in there home.Their cats made me welcome to.

    February 2014
  • Gayle & Bowl were brilliant hosts. The room was perfect, and their home is lovely - it had everything we needed for our stay. The location was really good: not far to walk to the tram into the city and a short walk to lots of shops, bars and restaurants. We would recommend to anyone travelling to Melbourne.

    February 2014
  • Gayle and Bowl and their cats were friendly and welcoming, and the their accommodations were lovely and warm. We had a great time in Melbourne, partly due to them. However, this place would not be suitable for someone with dust allergies.

    December 2013
  • Awesome hosts with a great room/house :) very friendly recommend for all

    December 2013
  • Gayle and Bowl's place was really conveniently located, perfect for what I needed to do. I was made to feel very welcome and couldn't have asked for any thing more.

    Thanks Gayle and Bowl :)

    November 2013
  • We had a fantastic stay with Gayle and Bowl in Brunswick and their home is lovely. We absolutely loved our accommodation and location, and our hosts were super friendly and helpful. Their cats Minka and Rufus are adorable and it's very easy to get the tram to and from the city and elsewhere. This location is perfect for anyone who (email hidden) like a local' experience and there's so much to do in and around Brunswick too. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again!

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$62
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 163 times
Languages
English
About
We are late 20's/ early 30's and we live in Melbourne with our two cats, Minka and Rufus. We are pretty laid back and easy going. We love travelling, cooking and trying new foods, seeing live music, having dinner parties or drinks with friends and just having fun! Bowl works in the music and events industry and plays keyboard and guitar. Gayle works for Australia's best chocolate company, Haigh's, and dabbles in dress making and art. We are originally from Adelaide, we have travelled through USA twice together and spent 6 months in Austin, Texas. We have also travelled through Vietnam, Spain, Israel and of course Australia.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
yesterday

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings