Skip to content
view of church opposite. Leafy Whalley Range!from the front garden
Large room in vegetarian family home, females only
Large room in vegetarian family home, females only
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 shared baths
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 shared baths

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Single bed in large ground floor room of vegetarian family home in a leafy suburb of Manchester (female guests only). Less than 30 mins on the bus to Manchester Piccadilly/city centre, or walk to the University (25min).
Help yourself to breakfast in our kitchen. Cereals, fruit and fresh bread always available. Microwave, fridge and kettle available in room.

The space

Bright, large room with comfy single bed and couch on ground floor of friendly family home in Whalley Range, Manchester. Extra bedding and towels provided. Desk and chair for working. Nice view of church from window.
Microwave, fridge and kettle in room for your use. You can also borrow things like oil, herbs etc from our kitchen - just ask, we will say yes!
Breakfast, wi-fi, bedding and towels included.
It's a family home, so expect some noise, and then quiet after bedtime! No guests or noisy music etc for this reason, and please be considerate when chatting online etc to friends and family in other time zones!
If you come in late, please ensure the door is locked with both keys, and that the safety light on the front door is switched off behind you.
We have 2 house rabbits, but they are confined to the back living room.
I do housework, or read/work in the evening.
We're vegetarians (actually vegans), and try to eat healthy, organic food. We try to live sustainably, and walk, ride bikes, get buses, recycle, etc. You can borrow a bike to use locally if you want. I can show you the local bus routes. The nearest town is Chorlton, which is nice to hang out in - bars, cafes, library, sports, shops etc. Local bus services into the centre: 5 minutes walk then 10-20 min journey to centre, and train connections to rest of UK.
Whalley Range itself has a few shops, and doctor's, chemist, Post Office, just round the corner from us. Whalley Range is well-known for being a tree-lined area of South Manchester, with many big old c19th houses.

Guest access

The shared kitchen is vegetarian only. We are vegans, but guests can cook/eat eggs and dairy. **This means no meat or fish products can be stored or cooked in the house**. You have a microwave fridge and kettle in your room for heating up ready meals and making drinks. It is expected that primarily, guests will use the microwave for cooking, especially at 'peak' times when I am cooking in the kitchen!
**Please do not use the cooker between 10pm and 7am for safety reasons**
The toilet and bathroom (shower) are upstairs, but there is a downstairs WC which is mostly for you own use. **Please do not use the upstairs bathroom when the family is asleep! If you need a shower at busy 'peak' times, please ask me when the best time will be!**
Washing machine in kitchen and drying rack in room.

Interaction with guests

It's a busy house, but I'm always willing to give you directions, advice and occasionally share a cup of tea in the day time!
I hang out in my kitchen after the kids have gone to bed, and am usually working or catching up on podcasts and stuff while I wash up.
We're up about 7am on school days, 8-9am at weekends; bedtime for me is between 10 and 11pm - please don't shower between 11 and 7! There is a WC downstairs near your room.

Other things to note

This is a vegetarian, non-smoking household where children are living.

We are female-only and LGBTQ-friendly (and just generally friendly, too!)

We have 2 house rabbits in the back room (in their own space!)

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Family/kid friendly
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Prices
Cleaning Fee $7
Weekend Price $41 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 2PM - 9PM
Check out by 11AM

This is a strictly vegetarian house! No meat or fish in the house please.
You will need to be child-friendly, also not be noisy after bed-time.
No smoking inside or outside the house, and no candles.
I only host non-smokers, as cigarette smoke tends to linger...

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Shower is upstairs
Potential for noise - The house has children living in it.
Pet(s) live on property - We have rabbits and a hamster in the play room downstairs
No parking on property - Parking is on the road in front of the house
Some spaces are shared - The kitchen is shared, but you will have a microwave fridge and kettle in your room.
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Availability
1 night minimum stay

22 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rosa User Profile
July 2013
Mary's home is a lovely place in a leefy and tranquil area near Chorlton, that i love. I really liked to be in a family house, with lovely children around, always very respectful and sensible with guests and with Mary being an attentive and careful host. I would definitely recommend Mary and her house!

Cordelia User Profile
September 2017
I had the pleasure of staying with Mary and her girls for a month while house hunting. I was made to feel very welcome throughout my stay. The room is big and really thoughtfully equipped (tea, coffee, microwave, extra blankets, fresh flowers etc), and the house is about a half-hour walk from the city centre. It's on a very quiet, leafy road (really quiet at night, which is nice), and a couple of minutes away from a little Tesco, independent grocery shops, Co-op etc. Can't recommend highly enough!

Jessie User Profile
August 2017
I'm just leaving the room after 6 weeks here. It was a perfect long stay in Manchester. Mary and her daughters are friendly. All is welcoming : cleaning, flowers and fresh fruit. I am not vegan but I loved her home-cooked meals and cakes too ! After tasting the breakfast, I've been very happy to discover the Unicorn Grocery in Chorlton (at 10 min by bus). Bus station is very close to the house and well deserved to go to the center in less than 25 minutes. I advice you to take a system one travelcard in a travelshop (for example at Piccadilly Gardens): about 13£/week & 44£/month for a student to travel with all companies. Manchester is a lively city. I've experienced the museum of science and industry, the John Ryland library, the Affleck's Palace (where ice creams coming from Ginger Comfort Emporium are excellent), the Trafford Center to do the shopping. The pub called The Warf in Castlefield was very nice ! The streets near Rufford road are very nice with their big houses and large trees. It's unbelievable to find such a good place for this price. Je viens tout juste de repartir de la maison après avoir passé 6 semaines ici. Ce long séjour était parfait ! Mary et ses filles sont adorables. Tout est super accueillant : ménage régulier, jolies fleurs dans la chambre et fruits frais à volonté. Je ne suis pas vegan, mais je recommande ses excellents plats maison que j'ai adoré. Le fait de prendre mon petit déjeuner tous les jours avec son excellent muesli m'a donné envie d'aller jusqu'au fournisseur : Unicorn Grocery. C'est une super boutique et je vous conseille aussi de tester les salades :). La station de bus n'est vraiment pas loin de la maison et est super bien desservie, ce qui vous permet d'être au centre en moins de 25 min. Je vous conseille aussi de prendre la carte "systeme one" achetée à un travelshop (à Piccadilly Garden par exemple) avec laquelle j'ai pu voyager avec toutes les compagnies pour seulement 44£ par mois et 13£ par semaine (tarif étudiant). La rue est aussi très jolie avec de grands arbres et de superbes maisons. Je n'en reviens toujours pas d'avoir trouvé un endroit aussi génial et si peu cher. N'hésitez pas une seule seconde ;)

Rebecca User Profile
June 2017
Spacious room overlooking a church, with a gorgeous wild front garden in-between. Friendly and welcoming, with a lovely family, but also a sense of space - they were so quiet I slept until 10am! I hope to visit again.

Felix User Profile
June 2017
I had a really lovely stay at Mary's house over 4 nights. The house is in a wonderfully quiet and leafy corner of Manchester, very close to bus stops and shops. Mary made me feel very much at home and it was a real privilege to stay in such a lovely house and amongst such a warm, welcoming and thoughtful family plus the rabbits are amazing! The room was great; incredibly spacious, light and comfortable and the desk made it ideal for when I had work to do in the evenings. Would highly recommend!

Holly User Profile
June 2017
Marys house is a proper homestay in a family home. It felt very homely and comfortable. Mary wasn't home when I stayed but everything was clean, bed was comfortable, fresh fruit was available in the room, and the rabbits were there to keep me company. I travelled in and out of the centre by bus (£2.60 single and a 10 minute ride) and by uber (£4-6 from door to door) both very easy to get and came within minutes. Local shops had a good variety of supplies including a tesco express a few minutes walk away. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Charlotte User Profile
May 2017
See below - still here, still very content. Would absolutely recommend the place to anyone.

Manchester, United KingdomJoined in April 2013
Mary User Profile

I'm a single parent with three daughters living at home. We are vegans, and we try to live a low-impact lifestyle. We cycle and use public transport, and try to eat organic food. I am a PhD student at the University. I like films, cooking, walking and singing.
I will welcome you into my home and provide your breakfast. I can show you the quickest way to get into Manchester, and lend you maps etc.
Manchester is an interesting city, with plenty of contemporary and historic places of interest.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings