Sitting area/kitchen looking toward back lanaiLiving area from kitchen looking onto front, screened lanai
Entire home/apt
3 Guests
0 Bedrooms
2 Beds
Per Night
675 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Less than 1000 ft from a beautiful sand beach, this studio apartment with screened lanai boasts a bit of an ocean view and a lovely mountain view. Close to the island's most famous beaches and hiking trail. Five miles from charming Hanalei town.

Sitting area/kitchen looking toward back lanai

Sitting area/kitchen looking toward back lanai


The Space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1 (Private)
Bedrooms: 0
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $89
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The Space

A studio apartment with full kitchen and king bed, plus a screened lanai with a peek at the ocean. The lanai features a punee (single bed) for relaxed enjoyment, or an extra person, and a table for dining. Premium cable TV/DVD, gas barbecue, wireless internet. At the end of an intimate cul-de-sac less than 1000 feet from a sandy beach. There is a coffee shop/art gallery, Mediterranean-style restaurant for fine dining, and the Hanalei Day Spa for massages and facials virtually across the street. Located about two miles from the Kalalau Trailhead, and five miles past Hanalei town, you'll find yourself in the nicest most scenic part of the island of Kaua`i. Public transportation stops at Hanalei. No children under 12, please.

Guest Access

Beach gear, gas barbecue, TV and Bose CD/sound dock/alarm/radio.
"Keurig K-Cup Brewer" and a small assortment of K-Cups for start-up. (A traditional coffee maker is also available)

Interaction with Guests

It is entirely up to the guest. We and the owners are available most waking hours.

The Neighborhood

The proximity of beaches and hiking trails, and the ambience of Kauai's unique North Shore, which can be found nowhere else.

Other Things to Note

Although the listing says a minimum stay of 1 day, we will only consider a reservation fewer than 3 days, either adjacent to another reservation or very near an arrival date.

+ More

House Rules
Check-in is after 3PM

Limited to three people, no children under 12. Although the listing says a minimum stay of 1 day, we will only consider a reservation fewer than 3 days, either adjacent to another reservation or very near an arrival date.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay
Living area from kitchen looking onto front, screened lanai

Living area from kitchen looking onto front, screened lanai

Your Host


Christine

Christine

Hanalei, Hawaii, United States · Member since June 2012

I love to dance the hula, swim and look for treasures at the beach.
I am from Germany, but Rome is one of my favorite cities. During my studies in Germany, I was able to spend one year in L’Aquila with the Erasmus Program. At that point my Italian was pretty alright but I haven’t used it a lot ever since… and we all know what happens after that. I love Italy and the Italian way of life and I probably would live there by now, if I wouldn’t have found Kaua’i, which IS paradise!
After high school, I spent one year in South Africa and volunteered in a children’s home for orphans. After that experience I decided, not to have my own children, but rather support children in need that are not as well off as I was growing up.
I travelled a lot in Europe, went on an extended trip to Brazil and was looking for the next travel destination when my co-worker suggested Kaua’i: Tropics, Mountains, Beaches and no serious poverty – that was my wish-list and I found it all….
Therefore it was on my first trip to Kaua’i in 2009 during which I met my future husband Mark. A year later, I moved…. this turned out to be one of the most live-changing decisions I ever made and I am very grateful that since ever than things are falling into place for me. I have found a wonderful ‘Ohana (Hawaiian for extended family) in my Hula Sisters and most of all in Sandy, who is not only dancing Hula with me, but is my landlady and my husband’s friend since 1981. She is a real estate broker and handed the management of her vacation rentals over to me after she retired.
My husband Mark is an artist and has his own website (markpearsonart) to display his work. I love his artwork – check it out if you have time! In Germany, I used to work with Towers Watson in Frankfurt as an actuary. Now I am a property manager, housekeeper, Hula dancer and much more. You will find me quite often dancing at Tahiti Nui in Hanalei on Wednesday, when my Kumu (Hula-Teacher) sings and plays wonderful Hawaiian music.
Currently, the purpose of my travels is to connect with my and Mark’s family and friends in Germany and at the East Coast. But who knows, maybe one day we will cross the country in a VW-Bus, but this is along ways down the road….

+ More
Response rate: 100%(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts