Private room 12 Miles West of NYC#2

House - Private room · Madison Avenue, Montclair, NJ 07042, United States

The Space

There is a 2 night minimum stay during Super Bowl Week.

This is a 5 bedroom home from which most of my 4 children have gone. I have 2 bedrooms to let, each sleeps 2 people, Each room is priced the same. Contact me about a monthly rate if needed.

This listing is for JR's Old Room. It has 2 twin beds and lots of sloping roof (website hidden) cannot fit additional people. It is on the 3rd floor which has a second bedroom, D's Room, and a bathroom which you will share if both rooms are occupied. Sheets & towels provided.

You have use of the common rooms, kitchen, living room, dining room, and you can keep food in my fridge, and cook if you like. There is FIOS internet but no TV. :( We have AC window units in each bedroom, no central air. I work a full time job so don't offer breakfast other than coffee or tea.

My neighborhood is a quiet, diverse suburb with trees and uneven sidewalks. The train station is about a 15 minute walk and gets you to NYC in 35 minutes for $12.50 round trip. There's a bus stop nearby but additional connections are needed to get to NYC. Montclair has tons of restaurants with a wide range of prices and palettes. Most are BYOB. My immediate neighborhood has a Chinese take out, pizza joint, and Caribbean take out so if you arrive starving, food is immediately available. The 15 minute walk to the main drag brings you to lots of shops, antique stores, a museum and coffee shops. There's a University at the far end of town.

I'm pretty laid back. I will make recommendations on things to see and do in NYC. I work full time but will be happy to chat at days end and hear about your adventures. I rarely see my guests in the morning and don't provide breakfast as I'm already gone. My husband and 26 year old son live here too and April, the cat.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $350 /week
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Another lovely stay at Betsy's. I love this room, the bed is so comfortable and the quilt is comfy, like a cozy nest. I always sleep well here, and I am not usually a good sleeper. Will be back!

    March 2014
  • Betsy was so helpful in my first experience with airbnb! She patiently answered my many questions about the process as well as questions regarding the area. My daughter and I basically needed a place to crash after spending the day in NYC before heading up to MSU the next day for an open house. This was a perfect set up for us and Betsy was sweet! I wouldn't mind returning to enjoy more time in the area!

    October 2013
  • Great location near the train to NYC, comfortable and clean accommodations, peaceful and easygoing vibe. Stay with Betsy and be happy!

    September 2013
  • Bed a bit uncomfortable but overall good experience.

    September 2013
  • The room was very clean and cozy, I found the bed to be very comfy. The bathroom is very nice and I love the moon and stars theme. The whole house is inviting and the neighborhood is very safe. There's a bunch of restaurants nearby and a Whole Foods. Will be back.

    September 2013
  • Everything was great.

    September 2013
  • I stayed with Betsy and her family for a month while working at a nearby hospital. The house was generally quiet, and Betsy was gracious in allowing me to use all facilities in the house. The room was exactly as described, with clean linens and towels provided. Betsy and her family were extremely warm and welcoming, and I will miss them! HIGHLY RECOMMEND for short or long-term stay!!

    August 2013
  • Betsy's home is beautiful and in a great location in Montclair! I will definitely recommend staying with Betsy and Jay to friends and family.

    July 2013
  • We had a wonderful time staying at Besty's house! She and her husband were incredibly friendly and helpful, and made our short stay as best it could be. They offered as maps and directions and helped in anyway they could. I would greatly recommend staying there to anyone who was in the area.

    May 2013
Per Month
From
$55
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 27 times
Languages
English
School
FDU Madison
Work
church
About
I am traveling and will have limited internet access until June 4th. All inquiries will be answered then. Thanks for understanding. I have hosted over 60 guests at my home through another online program. Most have been 20 or 30 something backpackers but the occasional 65 year old with a free spirit has also found their way to my home. An increased number of no shows and last minute cancellations has led me to try something new. I hope I've kept my prices low enough to continue to attract this clientele. I work full time at a church Sunday thru Thursday so I can't really show you around but I can recommend things to see and do in New York City as well as New Jersey. I have four grown children, hence the empty rooms, although one has returned for an undetermined amount of time. My husband and cat also share the hosting. We're pretty laid back. I love quilting, and pretend I like working in the yard. My husband likes sailing and doesn't even pretend yard work is interesting. The cat likes to go in and out of the house all day, but we are not neurotic cat lovers. If you are looking for a quiet place in the suburbs after a day of exploring New York City, you will be comfortable here.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings