in case you need to do some work ...a little nest at the top of the house

Private room

4 guests

2 bedrooms

3 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Cosy space for two or more, in quiet street, close to city centre, university and airport. Homely, relaxed, access to city and country.

Sleep well in a comfortable bed, have a tasty breakfast, stroll to the city centre or take a bus to the heart of the countryside.

I know what's on in local pubs, theatres, gallery openings and events.

The space

Homely, relaxed, close to city and country.
1 guest room with comfortable bed
1 cosy attic room with double and single futon (low ceiling)
Downstairs toilet, upstairs in-bath shower
Bed linen, towels, robes, shampoo, hairdryer, etc.

If you are a larger group, check whether there is also space available next door.

Guest access

Shared sitting room, stove fire, television. Wifi.
Help yourself to good coffee, various teas, meusli, porridge, fruit, natural yogurt, and gather round the table for a chat.

Garden to sit with a coffee.

For longer stays we may come to an arrangement about using my kitchen. You can use my spices if you show me a new recipe!

Interaction with guests

When you are booking, please send me a message about your visit to Cork, and who will be travelling with you.

I like to greet visitors and have a chat with you, but you are independent in my home and can come and go as you please.

Ask for Michelle's Meander - a tour of interesting sights, e.g. the University Campus, Glucksman Gallery, Fitzgerald Park (with children's playground), City Museum, City Gaol and Shandon Bells, the English Market and St Finn Barre's Cathedral. If you don't feel like walking, for a two-day stay the open top bus is good value as the ticket lasts 48 hours.

Other things to note

Most of my guests say "I wish I'd booked longer in Cork - there is so much to see".

If you have a choice of nights for your stay, the first Friday (of each month) is a good one - that's the night the local musicians have a "busman's holiday" with an impromptu gathering in The Corner House from 5:30 to 9ish. Some of Cork's best traditional players can be heard for free.

Every Wednesday in summer a Céilí takes place on the shores of the Lough - you'll learn the dance steps in no time!

Of course, there is always music, for example in The Oliver Plunkett, which also serves Irish-themed food. Nearby, we have Lennox's traditional Chipper where you will be encouraged to take your Fish Supper into the nearby pub for a pint of Murphy's stout or another locally brewed beer.

Alchemy Coffee Shop has a 'bring one, take one' library - I may have some books you can recycle, while nibbling their gorgeous cakes.

You should be able to check out all of these places online.

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Check In: 6PM - 8PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room


Extra people: 24 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 8
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 double bed, 1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 6PM - 8PM

Check-in time is 18:00 unless previously arranged. If you feel you cannot make this, or are unavoidably delayed, do get in touch with us, preferably by (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN), as soon as possible, so we can give you our best welcome.

We have a quiet family home, with friendly neighbors on either side, so we appreciate guests who intend to use the house as a base for sleeping and relaxing while sightseeing or studying in Cork.

So please, no showers in the wee hours. Afterwards, remove hair from the filter on the drain to prevent any blockages - or an impromptu foot bath! Close the toilet lid, both for good Feng Shui and good hygiene.

Do not leave rubbish in your room, I can give you a bag to place in the outdoor bin. No smoking.

Check out time is usually 10:00 am.

This is my home and my work space, so I'm sure that there are all kinds of little things that I don't realize yet! We can have a chat when you arrive.



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

254 Reviews

Check In
Tim User Profile
July 2017
Michelle was a fantastic host. Although our time in Cork was short, she was extremely helpful and accommodating while we were there. The walk down to the city center was a quick 25 minute jaunt and it was a nice walk. I would definitely recommend staying with Michelle
Michelle User Profile
Response from Michelle:
Thank you for the kind comments Tim! I'm glad you enjoyed the music in Charlies Bar - always good craic there.
July 2017

Cian User Profile
July 2017
Wonderful hospitality, felt very welcomed in Michelle's home.
Michelle User Profile
Response from Michelle:
Thank you Cian It's easy to be a good host with guests as nice as yourself!
July 2017

Lorenzo User ProfileLorenzo is a superhost.
July 2017
I and a colleague spent a couple of days at Michelle's place. Even if we were away most of the time, we enjoyed it there. The rooms are nice, the kitchen is big and breakfast is good. It's not a super central place, but it's quiet and close to the university and to a small lake. As for Michelle, she's definitely a welcoming and interesting person, worth having some chats with.
Michelle User Profile
Response from Michelle:
Thank you for your nice comments! It's easygoing, interesting guests like yourself that make Airbnb so worthwhile.
July 2017

Anurag User Profile
July 2017
Michelle's home is at a very good location and Michelle and her husband are a wonderful host. Both love to chat with their guests and provide very good insights about how best to enjoy your holidays in and around. Lovely and very caring couple. Be careful that the room on the ground floor is too small and the height of the room on the third floor is too low. Also, the bathroom is not independent by shared by Michelle's family.

Rodrigo User Profile
July 2017
We absolutely don't recommend this place. I stayed with my family and the hostess was not friendly. We didn't eat there. The place is not clean and the wifi doesn't work. We felt very bad in the place. Everything very messy and musty smelling. Really bad... Nós absolutamente não recomendamos este lugar. Eu fiquei com a minha família e a anfitriã não foi amigável. Nós nem comemos lá. O lugar não é limpo e o wifi não funciona. Nós nos sentimos muito mal. Tudo muito bagunçado e cheirando mofo. Realmente ruim...
Michelle User Profile
Response from Michelle:
Oh no, Rodrigo! When I read your review, I was shocked and I thought, "maybe he mixed up my house with another". I checked the other places you stayed and noticed they are much more upmarket and stylish than my little 'shabby chic' arty home (more expensive too, of course!). Perhaps you expected a traditional, commercial Bed & Breakfast? You didn't have the breakfast I offered of juice, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, toast with jams and Nutella, hot chocolate, coffee or tea. I am sorry if my humble offering did not come up to your usual standard. What a pity you didn't come directly to me and allow me to sort out any problems, such as that with the wifi, if it didn't work for you - you never mentioned it and most guests have connected fine. I've NEVER been called unfriendly before so I wonder if you feared I would give you a bad review because you arrived so late? I would not do that, especially as you explained your children caused the delay. I hope they enjoyed the books they got from my son's room and have a good memory of their time in Ireland Michelle
July 2017

Ross User Profile
July 2017
Michelle is a lovely host with great recommendations for things to do in the area. A bus ride from town center and an inviting atmosphere :)

Emily User Profile
July 2017
Michelle was very informative on ways to get the most of our time in Cork. Provided breakfast and coffee every morning. Lovely host.
Michelle User Profile
Response from Michelle:
Thank you for the kind comments Emily. Don't forget to sort out your (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN), it makes communication much better when travelling ...
July 2017

This host has 64 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Cork, IrelandJoined in March 2013
Michelle User Profile

Joe and Michelle are well travelled - we love everything about food, though we try to combat the calories by walking and swimming.
He works part-time in Dublin and has another house in County Galway.
She is involved with community, environmental and art projects.

In recent years we have enjoyed visits to the Loire Valley, Liguria and Catalonia. Last year we airbnb'd in Croatia and had a great time - despite the weather! Then we spent a few days in Madrid and also had a great time - because of the weather! This year we will do a house swap on the West coast of Spain.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings