Your Handy Spot

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Bunda Street, Canberra, ACT 2601, Australia
Martin J

Beautiful apartment on 14th floor of new building with views over Glebe Park, Mt Ainslie and War Memorial You get room and your own bathroom. I will throw in breakfast cereals and toast! Right in the centre of Canberra City .Handy!

Your host, Martin J
0 Reviews
Response rate: 80%
Response time: within an hour

Beautiful apartment on 14th floor of new building with views over Glebe Park, Mt Ainslie and War Memorial You get room and your own bathroom. I will throw in breakfast cereals and toast! Right in the centre of Canberra City .Handy!

The Space

Mt Ainslie view room in the heart of Canberra-two minutes walk to shops, Restaurants, cafes and bars a stones throw. Minutes to offices. A short bike, bus or cab ride to Parliament.
You get to relax or work in a stunning apartment.
Stay with me and I will throw in breakfast goodies!
The queen size room is clean and comfortable with en suite and walk in robe and amazing view.

Guest Access

Queen bed and en suite. Full kitchen and laundry available . On site gym. Central heating and airconditioning,
Breakfast available (toast, yoghurt, cereals)

Interaction with Guests

If I am in town I can leave you alone or be your Canberra guide. If I am away, then the entire place is yours!

The Neighborhood

The funky bars and restaurants are a stones throw from both lake and Civic area of Canberra.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $581 /week
Monthly Price: $2324 /month
Cancellation: Strict
  • Martin's place is in a great location, just two blocks from the beach which is a really safe, flat beach and was perfect for my toddler. The layout of the house worked well for our guests - some grandparents and kids, so the separate spaced meant that no one was disturbed during afternoon naps! Beds were comfy. The separate bungalow proved a great getaway for my parents. My key suggestion would be to provide some better utensils/cooktop ware for the kitchen to make it better equipped.

    January 2014
  • We had a great time staying here over a sunny weekend in September, with 2 small children under 3 it was helpful to be within 10min walk to rosebud beach which is shallow so great for small kids to play and swim. Martin was easy to deal with and very flexible on checking in and check out times which helped with young ones napping. Clean house, loved the big spa bath, books and toys for the children and great big enclosed garden. Ducted heating was great too on the cold nights.

    September 2013
  • Great home and very peaceful get away for the weekend!

    September 2013
  • A few of my girlfriends went up for a girls night over the long weekend. The house was clean, bright & well stocked. The bungalow at the back was perfect for one of us who's a student & needed a bit of study time. The beach is a very short walk from the house - it's not a bustling beach but it's great for getting a tan, reading & walking.

    The only downfall was the lack of wifi & TV that was promised in the ad and that I specifically requested. The host contacted me only a couple of hours before we got there to inform us of the lack of internet & TV so our student friend had to go without her course notes :(. After offering a partial refund, the host didn't make any further contact when we accepted... Quite disappointing.

    Aside from this blip, the house itself is quite nice.

    March 2012
    Martin J
    Response from Martin J:

    I was very sorry that due to technical difficulties with our exchange we lost the Internet. We had indeed promised the net but our net provider was not able to fix the problem in time for the weekend..

    We have now switched net providers and not had a problem since. I have also changed TVs and aerial connection. In addition, I enlisted two friends of mine who live up the road, one of whom is very technical to be on the spot to fix problems if I am not around.

    As a gesture of goodwill on this occasion, and because we had promised the Internet, I refunded part of the rental cost. I want people to have a good stay. I do advise that equipment is out of our control but I felt under these circumstances determined to make good. Neha advised me that she got the refund and said: The girls & I appreciated it :) Thanks for lending us your lovely home for the weekend. We had fun, relaxation.

    March 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 4 times
Melbourne university
Professional hard working friendly man
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings