Stay near Angel - Zone 1/2 tube

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Essex Rd, London, England N1, United Kingdom
Kat

Our one-bedroom is the size of most London 2 beds (650 sq ft) and it has everything but us when we go on holiday - so please take our places and pay less than our rent. It's close to transport, safe, clean, quiet and in walking distance of Zone 1.

Your host, Kat
10 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

Our one-bedroom is the size of most London 2 beds (650 sq ft) and it has everything but us when we go on holiday - so please take our places and pay less than our rent. It's close to transport, safe, clean, quiet and in walking distance of Zone 1.

The Space

Come stay at our favourite place in the world - our flat in London! It's taken us a while to find (email hidden) to live and we think you'll love it, too! And, we charge you much less than we pay in rent and bills. WHAT a bargain! We charge 30% less than the Airbnb recommended rate for our flat.

This listing is for the ENTIRE flat and all of our stuff is there, so this is reflected in the price. And makes us a bit more choosy with who we accept - so please be verified before contacting us.

The neighborhood...

Located in a fantastic location within minutes of Upper Street, Highbury & Islington and all amenities of Essex Road and Angel. Great pubs, cafes, shopping - really the best of London and one of the best neighborhoods with some of the best speakeasies, bars, club, cinemas, shopping - you name it.

Angel is a neighborhood that just keeps getting better and now you can find some of the best restaurants in London, such as Ottolenghi and great theatres such as Sadler's Weld and Almedia. There's really something for everyone with the N1 centre close by.

And the flat...

Firstly, it's a private building and very secure in a fashionable building called City View Apartments.

The flat is on the first floor (which is second floor to North Americans!) up one flight of stairs from the entrance. Sadly, there is no lift/elevator, but it is a wide staircase with a bannister. We've always been able to get our suitcases up the stairs without a problem.

It has one bedroom with a real queen size/ double bed.

There is a spare room where we can put one or two air mattresses. We even had 5 college grads stay in there once!

The living room even has a small Juliette balcony for you to get some air and check out the happenings of Essex Road (or your British Romeo?). There are two small couches, which can fit extra bodies or help you relax after a long day of sightseeing. The dining table is in the living room as well. One of the couches folds out. There is a huge plasma telly with freeview (about 20 channels) that we got just to watch the Olympics!

There's one bathroom with a sink, shower and bath and a full service kitchen - dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer!

We even leave you some crumpets or treats for breakfast - along with ice cubes (v. hard to find in Europe!).

The kitchen has a washing machine for your clothes we'll leave you washing powder and then you air dry your things on drying racks - the European way!

My fave part however to come home to is the private Garden/Patio out the back if it is summer- we think you'll enjoy it, too. There's a dining area with a gazebo over it for privacy, plus some lounge chairs in the off-chance that it is sunny! Otherwise, we make a pot of tea and curl up on the couch.

We also leave plenty of free things for you to use such as:

a UK cell phone
Oyster Cards for the Subway or Bus
Maps
Guide books
Free city cycle passes
...and more!

Transport Links:

Zone 1
Angel Tube (Northern Line): approx 15 minutes walk or 3 mins bus from across the street
Zone 2
Highbury & Islington - (Victoria Line) approx 10 minutes
Cannonbury (Overground) - approx 10 mins walk
Essex Road Station (trainline): 2 mins walk (only M-F).
Great buses for daytime and 24 hour routes from across the street: (phone number hidden), N38, N73, & 341

Our place is unique because we've been hosts for a long time and that's usual on Airbnb. Also, it is our home, so we treat it well and it is fully equipped. You'll probably be attracted to the very reasonable price, which we think is fair because it is our home and not a rental apartment as such. You'll have to look at photos of us and our books, etc. But you will not find a more cozy and centrally located place in London for the price.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Extra people: $16 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 5 nights
Security Deposit: $200
Cleaning Fee: $45
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The reservation was canceled 31 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    March 2014
  • Kat"s flat was totally comfortable and satisfying. We had a very good time there. The good access to Centrla London enabled us to enjoy our shopping and sightseeing. I strongly reccomend this flat for a cozy stay in London. Thank you very much, Kat!

    December 2013
  • Everything was as advertised. Kat was very good about offering help and proactively reaching out to ensure our stay was going well. I would stay again. Smooth stay.

    September 2012
  • Kat was very helpful - We liked the apartment. Right on the 38 bus line so getting anywhere was easy. Great bakery about a block to the west for breakfast!

    September 2012
  • House well maintained and clean.
    People friendly and welcoming.

    thanks

    August 2012
  • Lovely house, clean and fully equipped, great location. Ideal to enjoy London.

    September 2011
  • Kat (email hidden) and we had a very positive experience staying in this apartment.The apartment was nicely furnished and felt like home. A market, bakery, and bus stops were just around the corner. The neighborhood was quiet and close to the central of London.Highly recommended!

    September 2011
  • First time in London and Kat made our stay fall in love with it. The Flat is incredibly cozy, comfortable and easy to find. We had no problem accessing it from the airport and going to all the major London attractions. Kat (& Fred) even tho they weren't physically present were always easy to contact. EXTREMELY helpful with directions and so kind as to leave us maps, books, oyster card, towels, breakfast foods and so much more. The neighborhood is safe and full of kind people. Lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Very clean home, great view of the streets for people watching. We would definitely recommend anyone who is visiting London for the first time to book with them. Great first experience with Airbnb.

    Thank you Kat! ^_^ oh and after we left she was kind enough to invite us back before heading home. We couldn't have asked for more!

    August 2011
  • Kat and Frederik were absolutely FANTASTIC hosts for me and three of my girlfriends for the start of our post-graduate trip throughout Europe. Firstly, they were extremely helpful: they left us guidebooks and maps for the London area, an international mobile that you could top up with pay-as-you-go minutes as well as some snacks to munch on. After giving us a quick walk through of the flat, Frederik was even so kind as to leave Post It notes explaining how to run the dishwasher and washer in case we forgot. They were extremely accommodating and friendly, giving us tips on places to go and chatting with us when we were able to meet up in person. Kat even went so far as to help us arrange a car service to Heathrow on the day of our departure! We couldn't have asked for better hosts or accommodations that were close to tons of pubs, restaurants and very easily accessible via both tube and bus. I would highly recommend Kat and Frederik's flat to anyone looking to have an enjoyable time in London.

    June 2011
  • We found Kat's apartment after our original reservation was cancelled (email hidden). As you can expect, a last minute reservation is filled with stress - and Kat's prompt responses to my queries put me at ease.

    Though she was going to be away, she arranged for keys to be picked up across the street from the apartment, and arranged for a second set to be delivered to us at Paddington station, if schedules intersected. They did!

    The apartment was easy to reach - Paddington (which serves Heathrow and National Rail) to Kings Cross on tube and then bus 73 or 476 within a block of the apartment. Buses serve this neighborhood extensively and we used our Oyster Card to the fullest! Additional buses from the same stop serve virtually all tourist parts of the city and we used them comfortably more than the tube. The building is locked at the front door for an additional layer of security.

    The apartment is comfortable and normally setup for two adults but Kat had converted her dining room to a small 2nd bedroom with two very comfortable airbeds for our kids. Though that made the overall space tight, it was okay as we didn't spend much time in the apartment other than breakfast, snacks and sleep. The family room and kitchen served our purposes - from making tea/breakfast in the morning to snacks. The washer/dryer, fridge, stove, microwave etc. were all available for our use. We were left with sufficient supply of dishwashing and clothes washing detergents.

    The neighborhood seemed secure and clean. The strip of shops across the street has a small convenience store for basic grocery and supply, two fruit vendors, several restaurants up the street, etc. make the place an easy stay. Tesco and H&M are up the street on the bus stops as well. A small breakfast cafe across the street from the apartment serves up basic but good and fairly priced English fare.

    All in all, a positive stay in London, away from the maddening tourist crowds.

    June 2011
Per Month
From
$118
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 64 times
Languages
Français, Norsk
School
Northeastern University
Work
Tech company / former lawyer
About
We're a 30 something couple who have two fabulous 1-bedroom apartments apartments in two of the best cities on Earth- London, England and Portland, Maine, USA. I (Kat) am originally from Portland, Maine and my husband is from Norway. We met in London and work here. We rent out our London flat when we go away to the US and visa versa. We have a team of friends available and a handyman in case of any problems and we're always at the end of the line, of course! We're not professional airbnb people and do it to only cover costs; we embody the spirit of the site and stay in Airbnbs as well when we travel and love the community aspect. We've been on the site and hosting since February 2010 - check out our reviews to read about us from those who have stayed!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
6 weeks ago
Similar Listings