Dresser and hanging rack available for your clothes.  Iron and ironing board are also provided.Desk with office supplies, tourist information, and books about what to do while in Philly provided!
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Great room! Easy access to downtown - walking distance to mass transit (34 trolley) and free street parking. Come and go as you please. Late arrivals & last minute bookings ok. A/C unit in the room. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance! Shared bathroom. Just message us if you need to arrive earlier than 6 pm - self -checkin is an option and we are flexible!

The space

Enjoy this comfortable room in our West Philly home. Easy to get to on mass transit - walking distance to both the 34 trolley (3 minutes) or El/Blue line (12 minutes).

Our neighborhood has lots of great qualities - we are walking distance to a local food co-op, Farmers Market, playgrounds/parks, and many community/arts spaces (Rotunda, A-Space, Calvary, Studio 34 ), several nice cafes including several with vegan options, and great reasonably-priced and delicious restaurants (including Ethiopian, Vietnamese, Laotian/Thai, Middle Eastern/Halal, Indian, and American). We can suggest local events to check out during your visit! We have materials for you with information about our neighborhood restaurants, shops, and community spaces. Our neighborhood is an easy 15-20 minute trolley ride from downtown.

We have two very friendly cats who would be happy to snuggle with you, if you let them.

The room has two windows, a queen sized bed, a desk with books and office supplies, and a dresser for your clothes. A/C in summer, heat and space heater in winter. Guest room is stocked with several books about visiting Philadelphia. The room has a tv only with international satellite (Sorry, but the English options on that tv are pretty limited. Mostly Arabic tv stations.). We have wifi internet access. **Shared bathroom.**

Plenty of free street parking.

We especially welcome international travelers - Aziz speaks English, Arabic, French, limited Spanish and limited Italian.

Babies/small children are welcome to stay in room with parent(s) if you want to share the bed. (We have a sweet toddler, and she will share her toys!)

No smoking in our home, but we have a front porch you can smoke/hang out on. Enjoy the very authentic Philly experience of hanging out on a row house porch!

Guest access

Free wi-fi, dresser for your clothes and place to hang items that need to be hung up. Towels, shampoo and soap also available!

Interaction with guests

We will generally be around/present during a guest's stay, and of course want to greet you and make sure you have everything you need. We are happy to help with restaurant/sight-seeing suggestions, but otherwise we will let you go about your business.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 6PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $6
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: $54 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 6PM

We are happy to share the fridge and microwave, but you are expected to do your own dishes. No drugs, drinking, or guns in our home. If you've been drinking, please retire to your room rather than hanging out in the common space. Our cats are indoor cats, but they will try to escape the house when you open the front door. If they get out, don't panic - they will stay in the front yard until we can get them back into the house.

We are open to your feedback and will happily respond to any questions you may have. Thank you!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

172 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Chen User Profile
May 2017
Aziz is very helpful! When we failed to open the door at midnight, Aziz woke up and help us out! And his daughter is lovely. The whole family is very nice.

Nephtalia User Profile
April 2017
Very nice people

Ryan User Profile
April 2017
Aziz is a very nice host. Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to interact much but we had everything that we needed and the place was exactly as described.

Tiffany User Profile
March 2017
Very nice family daughter was so sweet she showed us to our room. They have two cute cats. I highly recommend them very great people and if your new to Philly they have so much information available there. You definitely won't be disappointed.

Jasmine User Profile
March 2017
Aziz was a great host. We had a late check-in and he was very accommodating. Clean and comfortable room, overall great value.

Vivian User Profile
March 2017
The room is exactly like the pic, the bed is so comfy that I don't even want to get up and end up checking out at 12. The internet speed is fast. The neighborhood is fine, not like a very safe place but it's safe. Two cats are very friendly and cute. Aziz is super nice, and also their daughter is sweet and lovely. It is a place for people who want to stay quiet and has regular schedule. Because I was so worried about waking them up at night since I slept pretty late. Highly recommended.

Sarah User Profile
March 2017
Aziz and his family were great hosts. They communicated very well about their plans so that we could coordinate check in. They had towels, shampoo, water, wi-fi code and information about the neighborhood. They have an adorable daughter and two cute cats (I'm slightly allergic so we didn't let them in the room too much.) The neighborhood is only a five minute drive to lots of restaurants and 15-minute drive to Central City. We felt very comfortable there.

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States · Joined in March 2013
Aziz User Profile

I am a stay-at-home dad with my darling baby girl, Basma. Her name means "Smile" and she lives up to the name. I am an immigrant from Morocco, and I speak Arabic, Moroccan (Darija), French and English fluently. I speak/understand a little Spanish and Italian. I've lived in Philadelphia for 15 years and can advise you on area attractions and restaurants (including vegan options). I enjoy soccer, and have coached on the local youth soccer league. My wife, Melanie, is an activist and is connected to the local social justice community. She worked at a local homelessness non-profit before she started at her current position at the Philadelphia School District.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.