Quiet Garden Cottage, Close to City

Bed & Breakfast - Entire home/apt · Hilton Street, Clifton Hill, VIC 3068, Australia

The Space

Ideally located close to funky Fitzroy and surrounded by verdant gardens, this small, semi-self-contained cottage offers you a warm, peaceful hideaway. Come and go as you please through your own private entrance. Free wireless broadband and a green, leafy outlook make it perfect for either work or holiday accommodation.

This wood and brick cottage stands separately to the main house. It has one cosy bedroom, with a double bed, a chest of drawers and a small sideboard. There's a bar fridge, kettle, toaster, tea pot and coffee press, plus glasses, cups, breakfast plates and cutlery. The compact cottage also has a surprisingly spacious bathroom, with a shower, wash basin and toilet. With its polished wooden floorboards and large windows, the cottage has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere.

The cottage is semi-self-contained: that is, it has its own bathroom, plus everything you need to make your own breakfast, even though it's not a complete kitchen. You'll find juice, yoghurt, butter, jam and milk in the fridge, and I provide fruit, home-made muesli, tea and coffee, plus bread and - the secret to a true Breakfast of Champions - Vegemite.

The cottage door has its own lock. There's a path that runs beside the house, leading to a garden door that can also be locked securely. Guests are free to come and go independently.

I live and work in the front house. The kitchen in the front house is not shared, unless by prior arrangement. The laundry facilities (a front-loader washing machine and an efficient heat-pump dryer) are available if needed.

Wi-fi internet access at ASDL2+ speed is available: I'm happy to provide you with my password.

Being self-employed and working at home, I'm in the front house a lot during the day. I'm certainly very happy to answer any questions and help my guests in any way I can. I also understand the value of privacy and independence: I want my guests to have the same level of quiet enjoyment of this lovely part of Melbourne that I do.

Clifton Hill is tucked into a quiet corner between leafy parks, in the inner north of Melbourne. It's close to all the action - the bars, clubs, restaurants and pubs that this part of Melbourne is famous for - but separate enough to ensure a peaceful night's sleep. Nearby, Smith Street, Brunswick Street, Queen's Parade and High Street offer an unsurpassed array of dining options, all within a 15 minute walk or a comfortable tram ride.

Clifton Hill is one of the most well-serviced suburbs in terms of public transport. The train station (800m or a 10-minute walk) is on two busy train lines. The number 86 tram (350m or a 5-minute walk) is regular and reliable. Buses offer cross-town connections.

This is an old part of town, and our street in particular is quite narrow. Parking is not always easy. However, a parking space is never more than a few minute's walk away.

Thanks to our location close to the Eastern Freeway, getting to the eastern suburbs is extremely fast. The news Eastlink Freeway means that the Mornington Peninsula is less than one hour away.

From the airport, it's a 35 minute drive along the Tullamarine Freeway, then along Brunswick Road and through North Fitzroy. A taxi ride should cost around $50 in one of Melbourne's famously terrible taxis. Alternatively, the clean and reliable SkyBus takes you from the airport to Southern Cross train station, where you can take either the South Morang or Hurstbridge line to Clifton Hill station. From there, it's a 10-minute walk through Darling Gardens and past the Clifton Hill primary school to the cottage.

The whippets, Rabbit and Sunday, are brother and sister. They're around four years old. Like most whippets, they are immensely lazy, mostly very quiet and beautifully gentle. They are curious about visitors, but certainly don't impose themselves. Nonetheless, if you dislike dogs, this is not the right place for you.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $32 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $612 /week
Cleaning Fee: $18
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I stayed in the garden cottage in Clifton Hill for 2 nights in April. The position is perfect, walk to tram to get to city or Brunswick street and parking was no problem. The cottage itself is clean and comfortable and Rachel provided supplies for breakfast including homemade muesli. If you like to have your own bathroom and be self contained, the cottage will be perfect for you.

    April 2014
  • A cute little cottage

    April 2014
  • Wow, what a lovely place. A perfect little cottage with everything you could need including a delicious breakfast. Rachel was really helpful and her dogs were lovely! Thank you.

    March 2014
  • The place is exactly as described. Rachel is very accommodating, and provides some very aesthetic touches to make up for the slightly tight accommodation. The cottage is clean and bright.
    The only qualification is that it is not quite as convenient to public transport if you don't know Melbourne, however, Rachel does provide very clear instructions.

    March 2014
  • Everything about Rachel's cottage was beautiful! The location of Cliffton Hill and her place in particular was so close to transport and also within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go - Fitzroy, Carlton... The Cottage itself is perfect - beautifully presented, cosy, amazing bed, organic (!) breakfast things, super clean and everything we wanted for our stay. Rachel is lovely and friendly and yet left us to our privacy. It was perfect.

    March 2014
  • The cottage is just perfect, small but with everything you need - even plunger coffee and generous breakfast supplies. We didn't get to meet Rachel and the whippets, sadly, as they were away, but she made sure we were well looked after and communication was excellent. It's a good location too - quiet but close to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

    March 2014
  • I stayed at Rachel's wonderful cottage for 4 days and was charmed by the oldy worldy homes around and small avenues. Rachel was very welcoming and the cottage was clean, fresh and the allotted breakfast organic and well thought out. As I am a person who uses ABC TV as a way to relax I did find it a bit difficult as the ABC stations did not come through clearly. I just twigged things a bit and watched other stations during my stay. I loved meeting Rabbit and Sunday the two whippets. I will be back if Rachel will have me.

    March 2014
  • This cottage was perfect, it was in a great location, close to trams and not much of a walk to Fitzroy or Collingwood. The room is comfortable, clean and private. Rachel was great, very responsive and accommodating to requests. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks again!

    March 2014
  • Rachel's little cottage was a great place to stay while in Melbourne. We loved the location and found it really easy to get around from there. We had great communication with Rachel before our trip and she met us on arrival. We enjoyed our short chat and her recommendations on a few things. Thanks very much for the breakfast treats as well, Rachel. We'd definitely come back and stay here again.

    February 2014
  • I stayed in the lovely little garden cottage for just under a week as I arrived in Melbourne. It was absolutely perfect. The location is awesome, taking a single tram line into the centre of town. You can walk into Bronswick area or just up the road where there are loads of fab places to eat and drink- and a great coffee shop up the road which did the most amazing breakfasts (and has free wifi).

    The room itself is ideal for 1-2 people, en-suite, kitchen facilities (kettle, fridge) and Rachel also included breakfast/healthy snacks, tea, coffee fruit etc. Rachel is a great host and really approachable and I got to pick Rachel brain about the project I was working on, politics, social change and places to go in the area.

    The garden is so pretty, and I sat out and drank my morning tea and watched the birds every morning. In the evening, I sat outside and did my bit of possum spotting!

    I can't recommend this place enough. Rachel is a brilliant host, and a very interesting person- and I look forward to staying in contact with her and hosting her in London!

    February 2014
Per Month
From
$87
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 280 times
Languages
Deutsch, English
School
University of Melbourne, University of Queensland
Work
Copywriter, Editor, Translator (German to English)
About
I'm respectful, easy-going and curious about the world around me. Aged 45 and self-employed as an editor, copywriter and translator for German companies, I now live in Melbourne, Australia, after living in Hamburg, Germany for 14 years. I love cooking and good food. I also love my two whippets, Rabbit and Sunday. They spend 10% of their day in high-speed adventures in the park, and the other 90% sleeping, daydreaming or stretching luxuriantly. Excellent role models. As a guest, I aim always to be polite, quiet and independent. As a host, I am reliable, helpful and friendly. Politically, I'm more left-wing than Chairman Mao, more atheist than Stalin and greener than Kermit the Frog - at least, I aspire to be. I'm also fundamentally feminist and very glad to be a lesbian. I'm cigarette and alcohol free, but I've got enough other vices to make up for that - carnivorousness high among them. I look forward to sharing the Airbnb experience with guests and hosts.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings