Baranda y escaleraEscalera de subida desde la cocina

Entire home/apt

4 Guests

2 Bedrooms

2 Beds

Entire home/apt

4 Guests

2 Bedrooms

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: $5 / night after 2 guests
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more


The space

CASA DE LA TREPADA is an ideally located, comfortable cottage - fully equipped in the middle of the surrounding rainforest - just 300 meters far away from the wonderful beaches of Punta Uva and the Caribe Sur.

La Casa de la Trepada is a great vacation getaway for couples, families and groups of friends. It’s a rustic, two bedroom, two bathrooms, two storey house, fully equipped kitchen, ceiling fans, telephone, possibility of internet and a wonderful beranda...

The cottage is situated 200 feet above beach level, enjoying refreshing breezes, and the gentle sound of the ocean. Innovatively and designed by the owners, the cottage is light and airy, featuring many architectural details and warmly decorated with Spanish tile tecnic called TRENCADIS. You will enjoy beautiful sunsets sitting in the beranda, which is an ideal place to take a rest, write a book or do just nothing.

Seven kilometers away is the nightlife of the buzzy little town of Puerto Viejo and 5 kilometers down at the end of the road, the colorful beach village of Manzanillo.

Two minutes walk down the hill from our front gate and you are surrounded by virgin rainforest. The beaches are a 3-4 minute walk downhill - or drive and park right next to the water at one of several spots where the sea is safe for swimming and snorkeling in the reefs just offshore. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and parrots are all regular visitors, and you will wake up each morning to the sounds of rainforest wildlife in all its glory!

More photos via link below!

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

-Rubbish, please do not forget it in the bin at home, daily to the public rubish container, it is down the hill to the right, on the main road at the left side, it looks like a animal cage and also has a little door. This is the only way that animals dont eat and spread the rubish all around there.
To keep the rubish away from home avoid insects to came/visit to the house.
-WIFI has not code, it name is dLink, ask the keeper about that because the modem should be changed these days and it is probably has a new name
-please do not leave doors and windows open when you are not there
-bike for rent down the hill, ask by Luci,k if you rent by her, you can leave/park them down the hill, which is very usefull. I suppose you move by car with the children.
-lights during the night are an incredible attractive for insects, so please just use them if you need them and never leave them swicht on when you leave in the night.
-do not use the towels for the beach. Just ask the keeper for some special beach ones.
- do not leave the veranda and the openair sitting room pillow lying on the bank or sofa during the night or rains. Just put it inside the house. This way you will find it dry at the next day
-wash your foot in the shower out side before you walk into the house
-do not lay down on the sofa or mattress with wet clothes.
-take care of the cprtains down stairs and tie them back when winds or rains and during the night

Please just take care of the house as it were yours!!!



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

3 nights minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

62 Reviews

Check In
Jeanne User Profile
March 2017
To live in such a wonderful house in the jungle, surrounded by wild life (toucans, monkeys, frogs, butterflies,..) is an incredible experience! And to have someone to look after the house, after our needs close by, makes this experience unforgettable! The bedrooms are amazing, big and with their own bathroom (and hot water). The balconies with hammocks are so peaceful that it's difficult to go down, like a sloth, it takes you a good reason to change of position... but the garden outside is so beautiful and full of discoveries, that you'll have to leave the hammock and go explore! And if you go down the hill, guided by the turquoise blue color you can see from the house.... you'll find la perla del caribe, a beautiful beach with waves, a little river, sloths, and shade to rest from your "trip": Punta uva! The most difficult is to leave this place, but even for this, Ariadna, the housekeeper will be there for you and will guide you to book your shuttle to the airport (Pleasure ride is a great option by the way to be at the airport at 10:30am). Pura vida and keep this place secret, we want to come back soon!

Laurie User Profile
March 2017
Casa de La Trepada located in Punta Uva was everything we were looking for in a Caribbean coast experience. The jungle immediately around us included howler monkeys (your 6 a.m. wake up call), an agouti, many birds, several sightings of the morpho butterfly and the house gecko that kept us company in the evenings. The caretaker, Ariadna, was very friendly, helpful and available for anything we needed. The surrounding areas of Cocles, Manzanillo and Cahuita were visually stunning and there was no shortage of easy viewing of animal life. We experienced three different sloths in the four days we were in the area, as well as several monkey sightings without hardly trying at all. Puerto Viejo was great for more touristy activities; surfing, shopping and delicious dining but not a place you want to be out during the late evenings. There is some concern for personal safety. We would definitely stay at Casa de La Trepada again but likely avoid Puerto Viejo and stick to all the wonderful other surrounding areas. Thank you to Do, the owner, for being so thoroughly helpful with all the information she provided to us previous to our arrival. Our satisfaction was clearly very important to her. We will stay much longer the next time around.

Brooke User Profile
March 2017
We usually can't wait to ditch our accommodations and head out for adventures, but we didn't want to leave this place! The attention to detail is impressive, from the beautiful handles on every window to the hammocks waiting on the deck to the basket with maps and field guides. We fell asleep in a comfortable bed to the sound of rainfall and a symphony of birds, then woke to the awe-inspiring sound of howler monkeys. We also saw many agouti running around the property. The road up to the property is steep and a bit rocky, but we managed fine in our rented Toyota. The beach, as promised, is straight across the road. And a short drive (or a bike ride) in either direction takes you to awesome beach towns with great restaurants and bars, plus trail heads into the rainforest. We saw lots of monkeys, iguanas, toucans, a raccoon, a vine snake, lizards, so many birds... It's an awesome home in an amazing location! Highly recommended in you want something unique and private but still close to the sites.

Ariela User Profile
February 2017
Casa Trepada is a beautiful base for exploring the Caribbean coast. The house was clean and very comfortable, with a view of the jungle (and a sliver of ocean). The keeper was helpful and helped us get excellent red snapper to cook our final night. We saw toucans and agoutis from the yard and heard birdsong and howler monkeys. We spent a lot of time on the upstairs terrace. I hope we will be back one day--the beaches are glorious.

Larry User Profile
February 2017
We really enjoyed staying at Mario and Do's unique and beautiful home! Having an on-site care taker was a real bonus. We felt safe and well taken care of. All our questions were answered and recommendations were given. The kitchen was well equipped and bottled water was provided. You will have to help conserve water during dryer periods, but that was fine with us. The location worked well for us since we ended up hanging out at nearby beaches where there we no crowds and at Manzanillo which has a charm all its own, and no crowds. A variety of restaurants are available nearby. WiFi worked great. Having separate bathrooms for the two upstairs bedrooms was an added bonus. We loved hanging out on the second floor porch in the evenings. To help you locate the road to the home, look for the sign for Pita Bonita restaurant on your right and then the sign for "Lucy Tour." Immediately turn right up the hill. The Casa de la Trepada sign at the junction is hard to see and read. Just up the hill, you can't miss the turquoise blue gate and sign on the left. We loved our stay and think you will too!

Paulina User Profile
February 2017
Me and my three friends have stayed here for 5 nights 1st week of February 2017. The house is exactly as pictured and described, even better once you're taking it easy in one of the hammocks. The place was clean and comfortable and fully equipped, we cooked many meals during our stay. One of the best swimming and chilling beaches, Punta Uva, is located less than 10 minutes walking down hill from the house. We did not have a car, but got along just fine walking, biking or using the public bus to get into town when we needed. The house keeper, Ariadna, was incredibly sweet and great to have around in case we needed anything. She even did our laundry, called taxis for us and was overall very helpful and there to answer any questions we had. This place was one of the highlights on my two week trip, I don't see how anyone could be unhappy staying here! You are located in the jungle that is alive with wildlife, wake up to the incredible sounds of birds and monkeys. Even the rainy days were so relaxing, taking it easy on the veranda. I can't wait to go back! Highly recommend this house.

Roxana User Profile
January 2017
Quite literally the absolute worst week of the 4 weeks booked last April at this location of our life! The new groundskeeper and host never met and the host hasn't visited her property in OVER a year! Cockroaches everywhere to which the groundskeeper said she forgot to spray again. A dying rat found in the kitchen because the groundskeeper put rat poison ALL OVER and failed to even tell us and responded she thought the rats would be over by now. How can one cook and be in a rat poison environment?? Beyond atrocious. We had to move the rat outside ourselves and it was left there until the next morning when I reminded the groundskeeper about it! Greasy and dirty everywhere, NO cleaning products even provided we had to buy it all. Power always goes out and nothing provided by host we had to buy our own candles and she complained we left wax?? Provided nothing for it and groundskeeper states power very often goes out! Our friends stayed a street over and always had power we had to cook with them most nights. Empty gas tank forcing us to buy food in town. Groundskeeper had a friend move in with her which blocked us access to the gate where we parked and was rude to us. We felt like unwelcomed guests in a dirty non maintained property. All kitchen utensils are old and rusted! Washing machine was broken with no date of fixing it. Roof leaked in one room and got worst after a storm where we thought we were going to die as a tree fell and cracked the roof and broke the side. All pictures provided to Airbnb and host as customer service helped us leave, we never feared for our safety as much in our life. This place may have gotten a lot of positive reviews which is why we chose and booked it so far ahead but the host stopped maintaining her property and appointed a new groundskeeper that she never met in person. Host agreed that we can leave and was super understanding as I texted her pictures and called her frantic then became hostile and tried to blame us with fake pictures of her own broken glasses and broken mosquito nets when she has failed to visit her property in over a year as she told me on the ohone and see the absolute terrible state it is in. Very greedy and money grabbing when she knew we had to book another place quickly and leave such an unsafe, unliveable situation. Beware - it decayed into a state that desperately needs repair and maintenance!! No one would put someone in a kitchen smeared in rat poison. A complete nightmare that thankfully I extensively documented as things got worst and worst.
Mario&Do User Profile
Response from Mario&Do:
It took me nearly a week to answer you. I was not sure what I should answer you or if I should answer you. At the end I decided to answer you just because of my potencial future guests should know my part and mind about your review too and then better decide about me and my place. This is the reason because I answer you if not I do really prefer to forget you for ever. You try to discredit me, my place and my keeper with all these lies. One thing is clear, all the very good reviews since longer that six years speak by them self. You do not know anything about me and my private live and have used the little information you have about me to damage my image. My husband was three months ago at the property and we go every single year together or alone. We knew the old keeper and her girlfriend continues what they been doing together when he suddenly must go back to Spain. I would not like to write a list contradicting yourself. This is too simple and easy. But to be complety honest I still do not know why you exagerate the things till you lied. It was not necesasry. You got your reimburse and that is all. I do hope you have found the peace and safe you say you could not have at our place and do not forget you get what you give. If some one would like to know more about this just please contact me and I will kindly explain how things have been going on with Roxanna.
January 2017

This host has 17 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Valencia, Spain · Joined in April 2011
Mario&Do User Profile

Hola, somos Do y Mario, vivimos en Valencia, España y estamos encantados de tenerte alojado en nuestras casitas. Las hemos diseñado nosotros e incluso ayudado a construirlas pero sobre todo hemos sido muy felices en ellas. Esperamos que vosotros tambien lo seáis.
Relajaos y a disfrutar, todo lo que os rodeará es belleza.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours