How do I cancel my reservation as a guest?
To cancel your reservation, go to Your Trips > Alter or Cancel. By canceling the reservation in your account, please note that you are initiating the cancellation and will be noted as the party responsible for the cancellation.
Cancellation is effective immediately. Therefore, you must be prepared to exit the listing upon submitting your official cancellation. If your reservation is currently under review by Airbnb Support, please consult with them before submitting your official cancellation.
You should also know that we’ve created a way for you and your host to alter a reservation, which might allow you to avoid the cancellation altogether. We strongly encourage you message your host on the site to discuss your options before canceling a reservation.
Once you cancel, the reservation should have changed to “Canceled” in your Airbnb account. If it has not, then the reservation has not been officially canceled in our system; it is still considered active and you won't receive a refund.
Any refunds due will be automatically credited to you after the official cancellation, and any additional refunds are at the discretion of your host. We will uphold the listing’s cancellation policy and service fees are non-refundable, unless your cancellation qualifies as an extenuating circumstance. Learn more about how to get a refund.
If you're looking to cancel your reservation because you think your listing is misrepresented, please read details about the steps you'll need to take if something isn’t right when you check in.
FAQ didn't answer your question?
Join a Group and get help from fellow hosts in your neighborhood and around the world.Browse Groups »