Frequently Asked Questions

Learn more about the 2021 Airbnb Host Awards

What are the Airbnb Host Awards?

The inaugural Airbnb Host Awards program aims to celebrate the best Hosts, be they Homes Hosts or Experiences Hosts, in Australia and New Zealand. Our Hosts are what make Airbnb so special and are the ones working to make our guests happy every day of the year.

How were the winners selected? / What is the eligibility criteria?

The finalists and winners of the Airbnb Host Awards in Australia and New Zealand were based on booking data from Airbnb from 1 July, 2020 to 30 June, 2021. All active Hosts and listings with a review rating greater than 4.8 stars (on 1 July 2021, as these are subject to change) and at least 10 bookings from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021, were considered.

Guest reviews, including both star ratings and written reviews, were taken into account. The specific eligibility criteria and judging evaluation varied by category. An independent and external judging panel reviewed the finalists in each category to select the National winners.

What are the different award categories?

Host of the Year: Hosts who provide consistently outstanding experience and hospitality to their guests.

Best Unique Stay: Hosts who provide a unique stay for their guests through a distinct home.

Best Regional Stay: Hosts who provide an authentic country experience in regional and rural locations.

Best Designed Stay: Hosts who showcase highly considered design throughout their homes.

Most Magical Experience: Experience Hosts who are passionate and consistently provide a unique, one-of-a-kind memorable activity for their guests (note: in real life Experiences only, excludes Online Experiences).

Community Contribution: Hosts who have gone above and beyond for their local community.

How could I be considered in future years?

Work on building 5 star reviews, increase your calendar availability, and consistently provide a great experience to your Guests.

What do the Award winners win? All National winners will be able to display an award certificate on their listing that will let future potential guests know they are an especially exceptional Host. They will also receive an additional gift and a commemorative trophy.

Who are the judges?

Steve Cordony (Australia): Australia’s leading Interior Design personality and influencer, who seamlessly matches his undisputed style and flair with an entrepreneurial spirit which lends to his standout projects, including Rosedale Farm and event Australia-wide.

Merrydith Callegari (Australia and New Zealand): One of Australia’s most engaged Hosts, Merrydith started hosting in 2016 and has been a Host Club leader for four years. In 2020, Merrydith was appointed to Airbnb’s esteemed global Host Advisory Board.

Shelley Ferguson (New Zealand): One of New Zealand’s best known interior experts and a host on The Block NZ. She has 20 years experience in the industry and has styled and edited a slew of top Kiwi interiors publications including Fashion Quarterly, Simply You Living and Your Home and Garden.

Is this a global awards program? Currently this program is specific to Australia and New Zealand. We hope to explore growing this program in more markets globally in future years.