Posh downstairs suite with private bath and private entrance Living room
Costa RicaSan JoseSan Rafael de Escazu
Posh affordable suite w private entrance in Escazú

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
30 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Ground Level Suite: Comfortable queen bed, private bathroom with shower, private entrance, big flat screen HDTV with tons of English-language channels, 10mbps wifi, and work desk. Linens and towels are provided. Shared areas of the house include a spacious kitchen, fireplace, living room, garden, etc.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $26
Security Deposit: $103
Weekly Discount: 33%
Cancellation: Strict


The space

Welcome to Tiger's Den. I hope you'll enjoy your stay with me in San Rafael de Escazú. My name is Jilla, but almost everyone calls me Tiger. My house is conveniently located in a nice neighborhood situated across from Paco Plaza. We are in a secure gated community with a guard at the entrance at all times.

I moved to Escazú because I really liked the proximity to quality dentists, medical care, San Jose, the theaters, movies, fantastic dining, farmers markets and so much more.

A lot of our guests enjoy walking to the many dentist's offices, shopping areas, and restaurants nearby. The house is a five minute walk to a great gym and about a 15 minute walk to a great pool. We're about 20 minutes from the center of San Jose, 25 minutes from the main SJ airport (Juan Santamaría International Airport), and 20 minutes from the Tobías Bolaños International Airport airport in Pavas. We're less than a mile from CIMA and Multiplaza.
There are four bedrooms in the house that I rent out: two posh suites with private baths, and two comfortable rooms that share a spacious bathroom. Provided with the cost of your bedroom are towels and linens, a shower with hot water, flat panel HDTV and cable with all the English-language channels available, plus high speed (10mbps!) wireless internet. There is no need for air conditioning in any of the rooms because the breeze sweeps through the house. Each room has a ceiling fan if you get too warm, but most days they aren't even needed.

I enjoy sharing my space with people who are easy-going, neat, healthy, or at least interested in getting healthy, non-tobacco smokers. This is a gay, vegetarian and animal friendly establishment. You don't have to be gay or vegetarian but I do hope you like animals. I have two big cats and two small dogs. If you have allergies, or don't really thrill to the idea of animals in your space, just keep your doors closed and the animals won't enter your room. If you want animals to play with, mine are very friendly.

Guest access

You will have access to the whole house (excluding my apartment and art studio) including the kitchen, living room with fireplace, dining room, an outdoor BBQ area and garden, that includes a 5th full bathroom and washer and dryer, a refrigerator and running water and seating for several people.

I have a big yard with a patio, tropical plants surrounding a BBQ area. The garden offers the perfect environment to read, eat, or simply relax or meditate.

There's a dining room and a large eat in kitchen with all American-style appliances including a dishwasher.

Interaction with guests

I interact with guests on an intermittent level. I'm in the house a lot, but also have an art studio so I'm in there for a big part of the day. I will cook meals at a cost of $10.00/per person, but usually require 24 hours notice. I'm friendly, but also busy.

The neighborhood

My neighborhood has grown before my eyes. What used to be fields of grass have recently given way to some great restaurants, shopping areas, and organic markets springing up all around me. We're very close to CIMA hospital, Paco Plaza, Multiplaza, two movie theaters, and dental clinics. There are mountains around us, volcanos just a short drive away and the Pacific Ocean is only an hour and a half away from the house, perfect for day excursions. To cross the country to get to Limon or Puerto Viejo are more of an overnight trip. If you walk outside the park right by my house it's still not unusual to find cows and horses in this area. I love all the great diversity to be found in the restaurants here. A French and a German bakery. Small cozy french crepery, wood burning oven pizzerias, Bistros with Italian food and great Indian food. Amazing sushi (And I spent 20 years in Japan, so I know sushi) and almost anything you can imagine.

Getting around

Yes, there is convenient public transportation! The bus stops practically in front of the entrance to this small gated community. It will take you almost anywhere for .60 to .80 cents. There are also numerous places to visit within walking distance and taxis are abundant.

Other things to note

There are great hiking trails up in to the mountains behind the house and a park across the street. There are over 50 restaurants ranging from McDonalds to one of the finest Italian restaurants in Central America. There is a huge shopping plaza, and my favorite, a great park with a river and tall bamboo less than 3 minutes away from my front door.

House Rules
No smoking
Check-in is after 12PM (noon)

I don't allow tobacco smoking on the premises. Please respect my home and my belongings. I would appreciate it if you ate and drank only what you brought into the house yourselves.

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

3 nights minimum stay

6 Reviews

Check In

This host has 41 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Escazu, Costa Rica · Joined in March 2011
Jilla Aka Tiger User ProfileJilla Aka Tiger is a superhost.

I was a home health care nurse for PWA's (people with AIDS) in the 90’s and can offer health care if you're recovering from any kind of dental work, plastic surgery, etc. I'm a retired personal trainer with 25 years experience and I was also a licensed massage therapist. I consider myself a happy and upbeat person.

I love to exercise and walk. I cook healthy food. My house is a great place to come if you're on a diet, or just enjoy healthy eating. I'm very laid back and love to have my breakfast outside, snooze in the hammock, or just hang out in the garden. I also do ceramic sculpture, and pottery, and enjoy making jewelry with polymer clays and resins. I like movies and love to read autobiographies, biographies, novels, and study books including Spanish, Travel, History and Spirituality. I love to travel and meet new people. I also love to cook and can prepare many various types of dishes. I particularly like curries. I enjoy having new people in my home and many of my guests have become dear friends who come back whenever they can. Sometimes I can be kind of private and just need alone time. It depends on what's going on and how many people are in the house at once.

I have always been drawn to travel and adventure. I've lived in many places including New York, Puerto Rico, Alaska, Japan and San Francisco before settling here in Costa Rica. I'm also a big animal lover and enjoy walking my dog in the mountains that surround my home. I like trips to the beach and swimming, yoga and a healthy diet. I'm mostly a pescatarian, but that doesn't mean you have to be. I'm glad to prepare meals of all types with 24 hour notice and a charge of $10 a meal per person.

Please tell me a bit about yourself and why you're coming to CR.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet