meals area and family roomFamily room where guests can relax and watch TV - hosts have own lounge room for TV watching
Elegant Double B&B priv.bath Wi Fi

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
297 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A lovely air cond. room with ample storage. Another room to relax in and watch tv. I am Dutch by birth so know how to make you feel at home. There is also an outside garden for you to relax in or have a BBQ. Wi fi is free and super reliable.Relax

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room


Weekly Discount: 15%
Cancellation: Moderate


The space

Welcome to my website!
You will feel right at home straight away and after a long day come "home" to our lovely Edwardian Period home. It offers a lovely bedroom with double bed, own separate bathroom - separate bath and shower, separate toilet, linen, towels. dressing gowns and doona included and with free access to use of the rest of the house and garden including the gas mains connected BBQ. Off street parking available. Happy to do your washing if required.

Help yourself Breakfast provided free of charge - cereal, porridge, toast, tea, coffee, orange juice and eggs are available but as I am at work you cook the latter yourselves.Other meals by negotiation with hostess. Also provide the morning paper for those who like to read the paper at breakfast. The whole idea is for you to make yourself at home and be comfortable.

Free Wi Fi and Printing and use of a lap top computer if you don't have one. Also use of a tripod stand for any avid photographers and provision of beach towels in summer. Warm coats and umbrellas can be provided in winter. And there is a piano for anyone who fancies "tickling the ivories".

We sometimes mind dogs after losing our own so must like dogs. The dog is either outside or in the back family room. Dog/s not allowed up the front of the house where the bedrooms are located.

Located 12kms from city centre with only a 6 minute walk to train station for 20 minute ride to city Flinders Street or Southern Cross stations) (Zone 1 fare which is the cheapest) 2 min train ride to Caulfield Station for Monash University or Caulfield Racecourse for Annual Spring Racing Carnival or 15 minutes to Richmond station for the Melbourne Cricket Ground for cricket, Australian Open Tennis Championships and football matches and grand finals. Or change at Richmond to take train to Belgrave for Puffing Billy tour and the Great Dandenong Ranges. Buses right outside our door take you to Chadstone the shopping capital of Australia and the largest in the southern hemisphere and Southland Shopping Centre Mall in the other direction. Bus from Carnegie takes you straight to St. Kilda another tourist highlight.

Only a 10 minute drive to Brighton Beach - Walking distance to numerous local shops, cafes and parks. Also Chadstone is only a 15 minute walk away. Smoking outside is o.k.

The room is in our house, acquainted with lots of international guests from our extended overseas family. We are easy-going, don't mind sharing our space and are happy to teach our guests things about Australia if they are interested.

Koornang Road Carnegie, shops and restaurants representing just about any country in the world is 10 minutes walk away and also provides shopping for Korean, Asian, Baltic/Russian, Indian groceries. The Dutch Club is also in that area.

All utilities included except for international phone calls or mobile calls from our landline

IMPORANT NOTE: As you can see from my website I have an "Instant Book" feature and sometimes prospective guests spend time in discussion with me and lose the booking because someone has jumped in and used the Instant Book Feature. I always keep my calendar up to date so if you want it - book it!

Guest access

Guests have access to their own private bedroom and bathroom and toilet (no locks on either but not necessary as they are exclusively yours and no one else ever goes in there), kitchen facilities and meal table, a little fridge for your own use, garden and bbq outside, television in the family room as host has their own television lounge room. Use of computer printer if needed. Host will do your washing for you to hang out and bring in. Hair dryer for your own personal use.

Interaction with guests

We interact with our guests as little or as much as they like. I am always present when our guests are here

The neighborhood

6 minutes walk to the station. 10 minutes walk to Koornang Road shops and just about every country is represented in the array of restaurants that can be found there. 20 minutes walk to Chadstone the biggest shopping centre in the southern hemisphere. Or the bus stops right outside our door to take guests there.

Getting around

Yes, 6 minutes walk to station, bus outside door, 10 minutes walk to tram. If guests have cars they can park them off site. From the airport they take the Sky bus to Southern Cross Station and from there the train to Murrumbeena station - either the Cranbourne or Pakenham lines. Driving takes about 40 minutes.

Other things to note

Important to treat this place as a home away from home - relax and enjoy everthing it has to offer

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

Smoking is permitted outside only
Please remove shoes before entering house
Respect for antique furniture.
An acceptable noise level is appreciated when coming home late.
If you get up late breakfast is still available
I will happily do your laundry if I am doing a load of washing but your assistance in hanging it on the line and taking it down would be a help if i am busy.
Help yourself to tea, coffee, etc. anytime. No eating in the bedroom please in the interests of all guests who use our room so I can provide everyone with a clean environment.
If you shop for food there is a small bar fridge available for your use in the family room

Safety features
Safety card
Smoke detector
First aid kit

1 night minimum stay

117 Reviews

Check In

This host has 35 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Melbourne, Australia · Joined in August 2010
Marlous User ProfileMarlous is a superhost.

Hello, My name is Marlous. My daughter, Yalenka, and I are keen to meet fellow travelers and learn about different cultures. I am a teacher, at a Vocational College and my daughter is a Primary School Teacher.
Originally from Holland, I am well traveled and know Melbourne like the back of my hand. I will be happy to help you with directions, advice on the best things to see and do during your stay.
We have a gorgeous large room on offer, with a double bed. Suitable ONLY for a single person or couple.

A private bathroom shower/bath/toilet is provided as well as a "help yourself" breakfast included in the cost of your stay.
We look forward to meeting you.
We have an elderly golden retriever and occasionally mind other dogs so you do need to be a dog lover. However, the dogs are only allowed in the back part of the house which keeps them out of bedrooms and the house clean.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Explore other options in and around Murrumbeena

More places to stay in Murrumbeena:
You won’t be charged yet