This is a view of the kitchen to the left and comfy chairs to the right.View from kitchen

Entire home/apt

2 Guests


1 Bed

Entire home/apt

2 Guests


1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: Studio
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Discount: 29%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more


The space

Garden studio apartment which is open plan. Located in upper Glenwood within walking distance to shops, art gallery, restaurants and parks. Close to the University and King Edward VIII training hospitals for foreign medical students. Ideal for visiting researchers. Self catering, fully furnished space with a washing machine. Lock up garage included.

Guest access

Guests have access to a shared garden.
Guests drive into a garage which is opened with a remote and then there is a security gate and a flight of stairs down into the back garden where the entrance to the cottage is. (The only view is that of the garden).
There are also lines on which to hang washing.
There is Wi Fi and wired internet access.

Interaction with guests

Whatever guests are comfortable with. Usually interactions consist of greetings and brief friendly conversation. As hosts living in the main house, we are available for questions and assistance in person and by phone when we are not home.

The neighborhood

Glenwood is a vibrant neighbourhood with coffee shops and a bakery worth visiting. The art gallery is adjacent to the huge park which has recently been refurbished with jogging/cycling/skateboarding tracks and an outdoor gym. The park is well used by many people, including myself and my family.

Getting around

Public transport could always be better. And that is applicable to the whole of South Africa.

Other things to note

In the garden we have pets, including two dogs, one cat and two hens.

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

No smoking indoors. Our pets (mentioned above) are not allowed in the cottage.



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

7 nights minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

20 Reviews

Check In
Sharma User Profile
May 2017
great stay gina and her husband are super nice an friendly people and always there to help u out or give u an advice would love to come again!!!

Michaela User Profile
April 2017
We had a comfortable week's stay at Gina's cottage. It is well equipped with all the litte extras such as plastic ware for picnicking, plugs and adaptors, candles etc. The ceiling fans do wonders for a good night's sleep. The cottage is well situated, quiet, yet close enough to some shops, with easy access to main routes. Gina, our friendly host, was also very helpful with tips and information we requested. Having Wifi was great.

Neelufar User Profile
November 2016
A beautiful cottage in Gina and Paul's wonderful garden. My month in Glenwood was made so much better because of these host's hospitality. Glenwood is a pleasant, quiet, residential area surrounded by cafes within walking distance and a nice park to go for walks/runs in. The cottage has everything anyone could want out of their stay (kitchen, wifi, a desk should you need to work, a great bathroom, and peace & quiet). Gina and Paul are so friendly and were always so helpful, whether it was fixing the shower door I ended up breaking or offering rides to the grocery store. Would recommend staying here to anyone!

Johann User Profile
October 2016
Really nice cottage and great reception. Gina and her husband were most welcoming and the cottage is spacious with lots of natural light. Although my stay was cut short due to health reasons I would happily have stayed for the duration of my booking.

Mark User Profile
July 2016
We have a new home in Durban! The cottage was wonderful, comfortable, private but with the owners easily available when necessary. The neighbourhood is very charming, with conveniences nearby. Gina and Paul were fabulous hosts. And their dogs Scamper and Leya were the highlight of our stay. We're already planning to return!

Leon User Profile
June 2016
This is the second year that we stayed at Gina's and that is a compliment in itself. As before the accommodation was clean and ready for our arrival after a long road trip to Durban. The flat with desk and Wifi is perfect for our office away from the office and Gina and her Husband was super helpful with assistance and going out of their way to make our stay in Durban special in going beyond what would be expected. Gina and her husband is why we enjoy AirB&B. It feels like visiting with friends. I have a saying in business that the biggest compliment is repeat business and we will be looking forward to our third visit next year.

Sue User Profile
April 2016
Very welcoming and very friendly.

KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa · Joined in July 2013
Gina User Profile
Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours