The BedroomYour Host: in front of house. Only 300 metres from Hyde Park
Paddington/Hyde Park/Lancaster Gate
Paddington/Hyde Park/Lancaster Gate


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Self contained lodgings on the first floor (2nd USA) of this house: double bedroom, cupboards/shelves, en-suite shower/toilet, open plan sitting room/kitchen.Next to Hyde Park, Kensington Park, Lancaster Gate; near to Paddington Station/Heathrow Airport Express and Oxford Street/Marble Arch and Notting Hill/Portobello Road. Secluded, quaint mews street in centre of London. Great transportation links.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $40
Weekly Discount: 15%

Description

The space

Welcome Dear Guest

A double bedroom, with en-suite shower room/sink/toilet, open plan sitting room and kitchen on the first floor. Perfectly located for central London; 3 storey home in a quiet and quaint, traditional cobbled street (Mews) next to Hyde Park. Quick and easy access to the bustling West End in one direction and Notting Hill in the other, yet next to the relaxing open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. Regents Park is also close by and Buckingham Palace and Camden Market are just a few tube stops away.

*Please note:
*Only bookings showing a photo of the guest will be accepted.
*The price does vary according to season.
*Don't try to walk to the house with large wheelie bags. The cobble stones make it difficult. Better to take a taxi. Small wheelie bags are OK.
*First floor/story in the UK is the equivalent of second floor in the USA.
*There is no lift
* Due to a back injury I am unable to help you carry heavy bags up the stairs

Property Description

Recently re-built house in a charming cobbled street, that is lined with olive trees, shrubs, flowers and benches. At the far end of the mews there are the last working horse stables in central London.

Minimum stay 3 nights but 2 nights is possible by agreement.

The apartment is situated on the first floor (2nd floor USA terminology) with:

-En-suite shower room, sink, toilet
-Double bedroom
-Fresh bed linen, towels etc every check in
-Shampoo, conditioner, soap
-Fitted cupboards, shelves, storage
-TV/HiFi
-Dishwasher
-Microwave
-Use of washing machine & tumble dryer
-Free WiFi
-Hair dryer
-Central heating
-Rice cooker
-Your own keys

No official breakfast but help yourself to: tea, coffee, cereals, toast, jams, yoghurts, fruits, fruit juice etc.

No smoking in the house but there is a bench/table under the olive tree in front of the house which you are most welcome to use for drinking and smoking.

Location:
-300 metres walk to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens
-300 metres walk to bicycle hire location
-300 metres walk to Lancaster Gate tube/metro station (Central Line: runs East-West across London)
-300 metres to bus stop
-5 min walk to Paddington Station (Heathrow Airport Express Train to/from airport, 20 min); 5 metro lines, open-top London bus tours
-5 min by metro/bus/taxi to Marble Arch, Oxford Street, Park Lane, Bayswater, Kensington, Notting Hill (Portobello Road)
10 minutes by metro to Soho, Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square.
15 minutes by metro to Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, Westminster, Camden Market
10 minutes walk to Little Venice

-Plenty of coffee shops, restaurants and English pubs within 3 min walk. See my Guidebook. The Bathurst Deli, 200 metres, probably has the best croissant, pain-au-chocolate, and baguettes in London and is open from 7.00 am to 11.00 pm.

Luggage can be dropped off before check in and after check out, by arrangement.

Guest access

You share a common entrance to the house with me (I live on the ground/lower ground floors) but your lodging is on the first floor and is separate and private. This is in keeping with the original concept of AirBnB where guests live in someones' house/property.

Interaction with guests

I always try to be at the property in person to welcome you on arrival. After that it is up to you.
I am always happy to assist with knowledge of where to go and what to do in London

The neighborhood

Please refer to my Guidebook

Getting around

Public Transportation as described above.

Other things to note

Large wheelie bags are difficult to pull down the cobbled street. I seriously suggest coming by taxi when you first arrive. And don't forget, there is one flight of stairs to carry the luggage up. There is a washing machine and dryer for your use on the ground floor. You can either use them yourself or I am more than happy to do your washing for you: all part of the service


House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 12AM (midnight)

Relaxed. No smoking in the house but there is a bench/table under the olive tree, in front of the house, that you are welcome to use for smoking. Also good location for a bottle of chilled wine in the hot summer months.
Minimum 3 nights stay
Would greatly appreciate being informed as to your estimated time of arrival when making an enquiry/reservation.
Not obligatory but would appreciate shoes being removed inside hallway.
Baggage can be left after check out time (11.00 am) if your flight/train is not until later in the day.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

172 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Graham User Profile
April 2017
We have stayed with Robert before and found him a wonderful host Once again the location was terrific and enjoyed our stay immensely

Stephanie User Profile
April 2017
Another lovely stay at Robert's place. I would happily stay here every time I was in London if I could get in! So cosy with so many extra touches - breakfast in the fridge, hair dryer in the cupboard. It really does feel like being at home. Thanks again Robert

Laura User Profile
April 2017
2 blocks from Paddington Station and 2 blocks from the lovely Hyde Park. This little hamlet tucked in the Mews is friendly, fun and welcoming.

Paul User Profile
March 2017
All went better than expected

Beatrix User Profile
March 2017
Me and my friend had a lovely time at Robert's home. He was always very helpful and prompt by replying to any of my questions. The location was super. Very easy access to anywhere in central London. Both tube and buses are very handy and close by even if carrying suitcases. We felt safe in the area which has a unique atmosphere. The house is quite and warm. Very well equipped and Robert offer his guests a wide range of breakfast/coffee and tea options. I have to say this was the best Airbnb experience I had so far and will definitely return.

Catherine User Profile
March 2017
Robert's place is just wonderful - located in a scenic and central part of London. The flat is lovely and has everything you need to feel at home after long days of sight-seeing or exploring. He made us feel right at home with maps and good suggestions for the neighborhood, as well as providing delicious things for breakfast and snacks. I couldn't have been happier and look forward to a return visit!

Paul User Profile
March 2017
Everything was perfect.

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews

London, United Kingdom · Joined in May 2013
Robert User ProfileRobert is a superhost.

Educated in England but born in Kenya and lived in India, Bangladesh, Dubai, Qatar, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Singapore, USA and France. I have lived in London for the past 13 years. So I do know what it is to be a traveller and how a friendly face with local knowledge can be an added bonus to your trip.

I run my own little company from a home office on the ground floor of the house and thoroughly enjoy the area and all that it has to offer. The street must be one of the most friendly streets in London with neighbours sitting outside in the summer, drinking wine, BBQs etc

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.